I Got My Kids to Eat Eggplant and They Liked It - Roasted Eggplant Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

At the vegetable market last week, a man was there selling eggplant for $.50 a pound. A pretty good deal if you ask me and you can figure out how to cook it! So I bought a few of the lovely dark purple veggies and headed home with no specific plan in mind other than to get my kids to eat them.

IMG_0564.JPG

I did a little research and decided that roasted eggplant sounded tasty, and surely the kids would eat it. They're pretty good about eating whatever we give them. I want my kids to be a little less picky than I was growing up. You see, I hated canned peas, but my mom loved them. We had a handful of other veggies with dinner - canned green beans, mashed potatoes, carrots, salad...not much else.

IMG_0561.JPG

To start off, I simply diced the eggplant. I cut 1/2 inch or so rings and then cut each one into smaller 1/2 inch cubes. I tossed it with a little bit of oil, some garlic granules, salt and pepper and placed it on the silicone mat on my cookie sheet. I then stuck it in the toaster oven at 400 F until it was cooked - which was about 30 minutes. Eggplant is like a sponge so it will soak up as much oil as you give it, so don't feel like you have to keep going until it looks oily. Just a few tablespoons spread on the cookie sheet (without a silicone mat) should be enough to keep it from sticking.

IMG_0562.JPG

Served nice and hot, this is a pretty tasty vegetable. The people at the market were all commenting on how tasty these particular eggplants were and I'm pretty sure they were right. It's flavorful and cooks up nicely. Of course, when I gave it to the kids, some of them didn't think it looked very good, but all of them ate the eggplant just fine! I am happy to have another vegetable that we can add to our meals. Just don't give us any onions...that's one that we say no to! Ha!

IMG_0571.JPG

After our meal, my mom texted me and said they were heading to get some Tex-Mex. I told her that sounded good and told her what we had eaten which included eggplant. She said, "Ew, gross. I wouldn't eat that." I told her that the kids did and they liked it. She was shocked and said she had never had eggplant before. Yep, it was definitely not one of the veggies I had growing up at dinner, but, like I said, we want our kids to be able to eat a healthy variety. And this eggplant was tasty!!

Have you ever had eggplant?

1panama ben fb.jpg

SMbannersmall.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I love eating eggplant. Here I share a simple recipe with you.

  1. slice the eggplant into rings ,the same as you did
  2. now add1 full lemons juice to the eggplant and allow to marinate for 10 minutes
  3. after 10 minutes ( letting it marinate in lemon is important for this recipe) add
    1tsp garlic paste
    1 tsp chili paste
    1 tsp crushed cumin seeds
    1 tsp crushed coriander seeds
    salt to taste

You many bake until cooked.
try it

Thanks for the great recipe! That does sound tasty. We will have to try it. My kids tonight asked how many more times this week we'll have eggplant. So far it's 4-5 days in a row. ;) Only 2 more eggplant left to eat before I get more at market on Friday. ;) Ha

I chuckled at your having no other goal at first other than getting your kids to eat it! Wish mine weren't so picky! I've made lasagna with eggplant sliced thinly lengthwise and substituted for the pasta (so, eggplant noodles) a couple times, and then the Husband said he liked lasagna with pasta better. So much for that!

So you didn't have to salt it and let all the excess water drip out before roasting it? Maybe you're getting a different variety there. The ones I bought were so juicy that I'm pretty sure they'd have just gotten soggy if I tried roasting them.

Eggplant is amazing.. i prefer to roast ad you dont use up as much oil.. my hubby hates it !

Good and cheap. Make an eggplant parmesan over a pasta or and alfredo pasta with grilled eggplant with parmesan cheese over the top. Great meaty veggie.

That sounds really yummy. I've had some people say they would recommend eggplant parm. I need to look up how to do it.

We have tried it a few ways, but not found one we like yet. Will have do try this!

@corrielaine

It's tasty! Hopefully you guys will like it. My kids asked how many more times we're going to have it this week. I think this is 4 nights in a row... ;)

I love eggplant but somehow I have a problem with cooking it. When someone else makes it, it is delicious, but when I make it, it is terrible lol. I am glad your kids like it too.

I don't want it to be slimy. This made it have a pretty good flavor and not a weird texture. :)

I love eggplant. Fried. As long as they aren't mushy.

I am not sure I have ever tried it fried. Maybe. I used to make eggplant fries but just coat them in bread crumbs and panko and then broil it in the oven. I need to try that again. I remember liking them!

I love eggplant. I can't say I have cooked it in a variety of styles but I can say I have eaten it in a variety of styles (I really need to be more disciplined cooking).
Here we can get it deep fried, in red and green curries, fried with onion, garlic and spices, stuffed with fish paste for soups...

It's cute your Mom has never tried eggplant...and it's great you kids are not fussed ....

I'm happy that they have eaten it, but we usually get them to eat whatever we fix. We don't do anything too wild though. ;)

Lol your mom.

Eggplant is delicious.

She isn't too terribly adventurous. ;)

I didn't like eggplant much before but I have been cooking it this since and I enjoy it. I make it the very pakistani way which is to fry it and then add it to a cooked mixture of onions, tomatoes, garlic, ginger and a few spices. It tastes delicious. I haven't given it to my son yet. Will try it out. Tomato is one veggie we can't have at all. We are fine if it is added to a dish cooked but we can't eat it raw.

I don't like raw tomatoes either, but I don't mind them cooked or as sauce. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66