Exotic fruits you need to taste! - Dragon Fruit #3

in #food7 years ago

I love exploring diffrent flavours so this is why food extremely important to me when I travel. There is no better way to explore a country and its culture than tasting local food and talking about it with locals! Fruits always have a special place in my heart, so here if my serie of posts about the fruits I've found interesting. Today: Dragon Fruit

It is quite common fruit, I bet most of you have seen it somewhere, but it still is exotic. It's easy to find in some polish supermarkets, so I guess in other parts of the world as well. First of all, this fruit is just beautifu! Especially after cutting in half. And it does look like a Dragon's egg to me indeed! When you try it, at first you feel a little disappointed, because looking at that fruit you expect an extraordinary taste. Dragon fruit does not have a strong flavour, it is juicy and a little sweet. No euphoria, just ok. Its big plus is a texture- it's easy to peel, does not leak after biting, does not smudge anything and has not much inedible parts. Its looks make it perfect for the desserts, smoothie bowls and fruit salads. Everything topped with dragon fruit looks just better. There is a white Dragon Fruit and a Red Dragon fruit. That red one has a little beetroot flavour, propably thanks to its high lycopene content. Lycopene is a particle that lowers the risk of prostate cancer and has other beneficial properties. Honestly, I eat Dragofruits in 90% for their looks. 😀 But I do eat them often when I travel!

If you fond that post interesting check out 2 provious:

https://steemit.com/food/@anna.urbanska/exotic-fruits-you-need-to-taste-mangosteen-1
https://steemit.com/food/@anna.urbanska/exotic-fruits-you-need-to-taste-langsat-2

Do you like Dragon Fruits? Let me know in the comments ! Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

Waoh... never seen nor heard of it before! What countries is it native to?

I've seen and tasted it in Suth-East Asia. It growes in Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Indonesia... I think the whole Asia, propably :)

I need to try this, looks interesting, I am wondering how it taste. I am not sure but I think it's on Cyprus too. (?)

Remember one time we ate a dragon fruit pudding in Asia. It was damn delicious! But totally agree with you about having higher expectations before trying it for the first time :)

Congratulations @anna.urbanska! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those are one of my favorite fruits. I could eat them non stop ;))) Great work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67