Pie with black currants and meringues. Original recipe and photos by @Anna-Mi

in #food6 years ago

Greetings to all Steemians!


IMG_7915.JPG


Today I will tell you about the amazing delicious and unusual black currant pie. Its main feature is that the top layer is made of merengue. This is an amazing combination of sour and sweet flavor tones, delicate dough and a nice texture of the meringue. This cake will decorate your day and give you real pleasure.


IMG_7998.JPG


It's raining all day. Therefore, a pleasant surprise for tea drinking in the form of an unusual pie turned out to be an excellent remedy against sadness. Meringue pie looks very appetizing. And my kids said it's the most delicious berry pie they've ever eaten!
So I recommend you try to cook it. In fact, the preparation of this cake is simple and does not take much time.


IMG_7912.JPG


When I was a little girl, I loved meringue! My mom used to make this mixture of egg whites for the Easter holiday. This white glaze is usually watered Easter cake in my country. And I always got a small part of the extra meringue left over after decorating the cake. Or I had to lick the spoon with which it was cast, if the whole mixture has been spent! This moment was so long awaited for me. Most likely it was for me the most important ritual of Easter preparations. Ha ha! Now I'm grown up, and I can afford to eat as much meringue as I want. A definite plus of adult life.


IMG_7980.JPG


The composition of my meringue pie is quite simple. This is a shortbread dough, berries and a layer of meringue. In fact, this cake is prepared very quickly, despite the fact that the result looks as if you spent a lot of time and effort to prepare. In General, all of his cooking takes about 1 hour.


IMG_7921.JPG


Ingredients for the dough:

  • flour 200 grams
  • sugar 70 grams
  • egg 1
  • butter 100 g
  • baking powder a pinch
  • vanilla 1 tablespoon

Ingredients for the filling:

  • berries of black currant 300 g
  • corn or potato starch 1 tablespoon

Ingredients for meringue:

  • 3 egg whites
  • lemon juice 50 ml
  • sugar 150 gr

IMG_7974.JPG


Preparation:

1.Make an elastic dough by mixing all the ingredients.
2. Add flour until the dough stops sticking to your hands.
3. The ready dough put in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes.
4. Place the dough into the baking mold. Send in a hot oven for 15 minutes.


IMG_7930.JPG


During this time, we need to prepare merengue. In Russia, this delicious egg mixture for some reason called a very funny name - "Gogol-Mogol". I don't know where this name comes from. But it sounds pretty funny.

Preparation of the meringue:

1. take 3 egg whites, beat with a mixer until of peaks.
2. Pour a little lemon juice.
3. Continue to whisk, adding the sugar. The mixture should be homogeneous and have an opaque white color.


IMG_7937.JPG


Remove from the oven, the base of our pie. Put the berries mixed with starch on top. Fill the top with a smooth layer of egg mixture. Place in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Meringue should be a light brown shade.


IMG_7947.JPG


Delicious and flavorful cake is ready! Enjoy your meal. This unusual cake will surprise your guests. It looks excellent and has a pleasant taste and smell. For the filling you can use any berries that you like. I chose a black currant because it's very rich in vitamin C. now the weather is changeable, and it's easy to get a cold. Vitamin C will help my family strengthen their immune system.


IMG_7919.JPG


The black currant has been in my freezer since summer. On my site there are several bushes of black and red currants. And in my mom's garden, there's a rare sort of white currant. I want to plant one of those, too. White currant has a sweeter taste than other varieties. And it's great for making sweet dumplings. I will definitely tell you about this dish another time.


IMG_7937.JPG


I hope you try to cook a pie in my recipe and will be satisfied with its taste. There is nothing nicer in the house than the aroma of hot berry pie! It so warms heart and disposes to pleasant conversation, smiles or reading of the kind book. Home comfort is one of the most expensive treasures of the world. And in our hands to make our homes full of comfort and joy. Collect your big little happiness every day! Give joy and love to your loved ones. See you soon! (Now I'm gonna go get another piece of merengue pie. Haha!) @Anna-mi


IMG_7968.JPG



IMG_7941.JPG



Thanks for the read, votes and comments. Your activity always pleases me. For photos I used the camera Canon 650 D lens 18/55 mm. I experimented with the exposure today, wanting to get the dimming effect on the photo. In my opinion, these photos most emphasize the texture and features of my cake.


IMG_7923.JPG



Sort:  

Мммм, черничка! Я очень люблю чернику! Жаль, что в морозилке ее осталось совсем немного. Прошлое лето выдалось холодным и черники было мало, к сожалению. Зато мы собрали очень много брусники и клюквы! Но я возьму на заметку этот рецепт. Летом обязательно сделаю такой пирог из свежей черники. Фотографии изумительные!

Этот с черной смородиной. Но я думаю, что любые ягоды подойдут. В нем главная прелесть - это верхний слой из меренги. Спасибо за приятный комментарий!

Ой, вот это я ошиблась! :))) Черная смородина тоже вкусно, но я почему-то перестала ее любить...

Oh man I just want to taste it! You do a great job photographing your delicious creations ♥ Thanks so much for sharing this with us 🌸

Thank you for visiting and your wonderful comment.

the cakes were very tasty,
Thank you very much for sharing this with us,

Thank you!

U welcome

this looks absolutely delicious....makes my mouth water. I'll just have to enjoy the photos since I can't eat so many of the ingredients! if I come to your house, I'll have a piece though :-))

Thanks. It's so nice.

It looks so yummy @anna-mi.
Can I have some please?.

Thank you!

Heeyyy !!
my dear friend . this is my favorite recipe. how wonderful it looks. They have astonishing colors like fairy masks!
a great shot. food shots and recipes.
I liked your profile and work very much!
congratulations

Thank you very much, dear lady! Your positive review gave me a smile. It is very pleasant to see such kind words and to know that you like my work.

Looks awesome. I like the combination with meringue. This is always great.
You are part of my post "Food By Red Fish". Check it out!

So great. Thank you very much, I am very happy about this.

You are welcome.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 22 SBD worth and should receive 66 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank You! I hope that will happen one day.

Your photos are positively STUNNING. Wow. And, the pie certainly looks delicious as well.

You've been featuring in this week's curation: Ladies of Steemit, Volume 8 | Women in the Kitchen. Keep up the great work! 💓

Wow! Thanks. It is a great honor for me. Thank you very much for your attention.

'Goggle moggle' 😅 great step by step instructions ! Looks delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30