WHY BREAKFAST ISN'T THE MOST IMPORTANT MEAL OF THE DAY + GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY (POMEGRANATE GREEN GODDESS SMOOTHIE)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

pomegranate-smoothie-1.jpg

Morning on my side of the world and you know what that means..... GREEN SMOOTHIE TIME! Green smoothies and I was love at first sip. Though I still love to eat whole fruits too, in the morning I am not the biggest fan of eating, but a green smoothie always goes down well to energize my body right from the start.

Are you a breakfast person or are you a skipper just like I was before I discovered green morning drinks?

Though most people tend to believe breakfast is the most important meal f the day - it isn't! Every meal is important! Everything we put in our mouth will either help you to create and repair cells and tissue, provide energy, or nourish your body from the inside out.

healthy-breakfast-choices.jpg

Why Breakfast Isn't The Most Important Meal Of The Day


During my Holistic Nutrition and Health Coach course at The European Academy For Natural Health Care (EANG) and my pharmacy and biology studies at the University of Ghent, I have been told a numerous of times breakfast is the most important meal if you want to lose weight or live a healthy life. Skipping breakfast is a big no-no.

Almost every nutritionist has been thought that if you eat breakfast you’ll be more energetic, more productive, and leaner. Have you ever wondered or doubted this statement? I didn't until recently. Have we all been fooled for years?

A high-quality scientific paper published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition shines a new light on this topic.

Many years ago researchers found a correlation between breakfast-skippers and body weight/health. Unfortunately, the link was weak and not causal. Nonetheless, the results of this study led to the widely accepted belief that skipping breakfast makes you fat and unhealthy. This general belief even got enshrined in the U.S. Dietary Guidelines in 2010.

So with that being recorded, we’ve never given this topic more thought. To be honest, as a biologist and nutritionist I have never questioned this general belief either. So I forced myself into breakfast and green morning drinks.

Interestingly, not giving certain generals beliefs a second thought is what makes us all human, right? Researchers aren’t immune to bias either.

Have we all been tricked into believing breakfast is the most important meal and have we – unintentionally – misinterpreted results and the work of others. YES

Importance-of-breakfast-bg.jpg

SHOULD WE SKIP BREAKFAST FOR A HEALTHIER LIFE?


NOOOOOOO!!!!! After many years of guiding people on their journey to live a healthier life and lose or maintain weight, I have seen some amazing results when people start to add a healthy breakfast to their daily routine. Hence why I never questioned this general believe.

Just because the results we see on a daily basis are based on observation doesn’t mean they should be brushed away as meaningless.

When we look at some of the research done in this field, numerous papers are linking people who eat a healthy breakfast to a reduced appetite, lower body weight, improved brain activity, increased energy levels, and lower blood sugar levels.

But to be honest, that is what every healthy meal is associated with. Whether it is breakfast, lunch, dinner or a healthy snack.

Even though breakfast eaters tend to be fitter and healthier, other factors (which have nothing to do with eating breakfast or not) might be at play here.

When we look at the lifestyle of both breakfast enthusiasts and skippers, the overall conclusion is that people who eat breakfast tend to eat a healthier diet with more fiber, vitamins, and minerals, and they often live an active lifestyle and exercise too.

In contrary, breakfast- skippers often smoke, drink more alcohol, and exercise less. So it seems we were too quick in our assumptions and other lifestyle factors are also playing a vital role in our weight, health, and happiness.

Take home message: breakfast is as important as lunch, dinner, and snacks


Again, breakfast eaters seem to score better in terms of overall health and weight, but it is not the most important meal of the day.

Every piece of food we put in our mouths will either help us to provide health or cause disease. Meaning every meal is as important and breakfast isn’t that special after all.

So our focus should be more on eating an overall healthy, well-balanced, clean diet combined with regular exercise. Whether you skip breakfast or not.

As you know I am not a skipper... Over the years I got addicted to my green morning drinks!!!!

GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY - POMEGRANATE GREEN GODDESS SMOOTHIE


pomegranate-smoothie-3.jpg

INGREDIENTS


  • 2-3 cups spinach fresh
  • 1-1.5 cup water
  • 1-1.5 cup pomegranate seeds
  • 2 oranges, peeled and seeds removed
  • 2 bananas, frozen to add extra creaminess and chill the smoothie
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds

DIRECTIONS


  1. Blend spinach and water until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw everything in at once.
  2. Optional: I topped mine with extra pomegranate arils to add some crunch.

pomegranate-smoothie-2.jpg


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

COMFORT FOOD | VEGAN SHEPHERD'S PIE WITH GREEN BEAN MASH
SWEET TREAT | CRUNCHY CHICKPEA FLOUR CHOCOLATE ALMOND COOKIES (GF-FREE, VEGAN)
SAVORY VEGAN BREAKFAST | ROASTED BELL PEPPER ON HOMEMADE RYE TOAST

GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | MANGO KALE MORNING BOOSTER
HAPPY B-DAY RAW VEGAN CHOCOLATE CARAMEL TART ღ ღ ღ
POWER BREAKFAST | MANGO PASSION FRUIT CHIA PUDDING WITH HOMEMADE COCONUT YOGURT


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

I start every day with a greenish smoothie. I say greenish because it’s never quite as green as the ones I see pictured. I run 5 miles a day and used to do that having had nothing for breakfast. I don’t know why it took me so many years to drink a smoothie before my workouts but now I could never go back. Green smoothies are the best!

I hear. For us they were love at first sip too. Happy blending!

Avocados are my favorite in there :)

Avocados are o good and in season here now! Thanks for stopping by!

Very detailed and explicit. Thanks very much for the Information

My pleasure. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read.

You are welcome

I do love my breakfast, but totally agree that each bite you put in your body is important! Each meal is an opportunity to fuel your body with wholesome things to build it up. :)

I could not agree more. Personally I could not skip breakfast entirely. My bloodsugar would not be that happy. I usually have a banana, a kiwi and a few walnuts or a smoothie with banana, avocado, cacao, spices and lemon. Works wonders for me and keeps me going.

Same here. I need my morning smoothie to get me going! Have a lovely day and thanks for passing by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49