SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | RED DRAGON FRUIT SMOOTHIE - THE NEXT BIG HEALTH CRAZE

in #food5 years ago

DSCF4517-1.jpg

According to some, dragonfruit or pitaya is going to be the next big food health and beauty thing. Though I love its looks and texture, dragon fruit, yes even the pink ones, have a rather bland taste compared to many other tropical favorites of mine like soursop, pineapple, and mango.

The whole pitaya craze started with Anthony William, aka the Medical Medium, who became quite a thing in the food health world for launching the celery juice trend that the wellness world has gone crazy for in the past few years.

According to William's Facebook page, the dragon fruit, specifically red pitaya (or red dragon fruit) can "rejuvenate the liver" and rejuvenate cells.

Though I think most leafy greens and fresh produce will help you with that, I must admit, red dragon fruit looks so beautiful and gives your smoothie that beautiful fuschia hue. And for that, I am in on the new trend food.

Plus, it is super cheap over here. They go around $0.75-$1 a kilo here. In Belgium, I remember seeing them for sale at about 3 euro for one. Crazy right. Though pitaya has many benefits for your health, if they are not native to your region and super expensive I am sure you can find other yummy fruits that will offer the same benefits to your health and skin.

That being said, let's start blending!

pitaya.jpg

RED DRAGON FRUIT SMOOTHIE


INGREDIENTS (SERVES 2FOR BREAKFAST)


1 pink or purple dragon fruit
1/2 soursop
1/2 big avocado
2 cups bok choy
1/2 cup plain unsweetened coconut yogurt
2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
water

DIRECTIONS

  1. Blend bok choy and water until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can blend everything at once. Top with superfoods if you like.

DSCF4511-1.jpg

HAPPY BLENDING;


signature-new.png

FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE GREEN SMOOTHIE EBOOK HERE!


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600 AND HUAWEI Y9


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

SUPERFOOD BANANA SUSHI WITH HOMEMADE PEANUT BUTTER AND BELGIAN CHOCOLATE

PIZZA NIGHT | VEGAN PIZZA WITH CHICKPEA & TURMERIC CRUST AND CASHEW CHEESE

SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | RED BERRY PROBIOTIC MORNING LASSIE

DRINKS | HOMEMADE ICED TEA

ROASTED CHICKPEA ARUGULA SALAD WITH PEANUT BUTTER DRESSING

SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | BANANA CINNAMON ALMOND MILK MORNING DRINK


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort:  

Looks great! I’ve recently discovered a newfound love for dragonfruit.... although the market I go to tends to have the Yellow ones!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yellow ones? Never seen those. Here with have white and pink ones. Take care.

Here’s a photo of the one I had last week.
It has a yellow skin with a white flesh.
Very delicious!

FF510021-5D0F-4FCC-BEFC-D80F4C69D08A.jpeg

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow beautiful. Never seen them like this. Here skin is always pink with either pink or white flesh. Thanks for sharing this beautiful fruit with me ;)

Yum! Yeah, they tend to be pretty expensive here since they aren't native. Every now and then I'll splurge and get one though. Celery, however, is available all year round, haha.

Wish I could send you some. Or a piece of the cacti. They are quite easy to grow.

I wish you could send me some, too. ;) It's been a while since I've had any. There's not a whole lot of fruit in season at this point in the year, so I find I'm starting to dream about berry season now. I have one last bag of frozen strawberries that I horded from picking last year to try to hold us over until April. I think if we're lucky that's when they'll start popping up for the season again!

Ohh berries. Miss them so much. Think I might keep berries in mind this time when we pick a new location and adventure. Not sure where life will take us, but if we come to your side of the world I'll take some of the cacti with me ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51