Minty Mushroom Bulgur Tabbouleh Served In Romaine Lettuce Cups

in #food7 years ago

Bulgur-lettuce-cups.jpg

Bulgur, also called cracked wheat, is a lesser-known type of whole wheat durum grain. Compared to food made with refined carbs, bulgur is low in fat and a much better source of essential vitamins, minerals (manganese, magnesium, and iron, ), antioxidants, and other beneficial phytonutrients. Furthermore, it’s a good source of plant-based protein and it provides 25 percent of your daily needs of fiber in 1 cup.

Bulgur is a staple in Indian, Turkish, and Middle Eastern cuisines and most well-known in the West as the main ingredient used in tabbouleh.

Have you tried it yet? If not here's a simple recipe to try it out!

Ingredients (serves 2)

1/2 cup uncooked bulgur
4 oz mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup red onion, chopped
1/4 cup fresh chopped mint leaves, or more to taste
1/4 cup spring onions, chopped
1 head romaine lettuce
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar or to taste
Salt and black pepper to taste
2 tbsp chopped/sliced unsalted almonds

Bulgur-lettuce-cups3.jpg

Instructions

  1. Cook bulgur according to the instruction on the package. This will take about 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat cooking oil on medium heat. Add onion and cook 3 minutes, stirring. Add mushrooms and cook 5 minutes more. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Add apple cider vinegar and remove from heat, scraping up browned bits.
  4. Toss with cooked bulgur, mint, spring onion Taste and adjust seasoning.
  5. Spoon into lettuce cups. Top with chopped almonds and serve.

Bulgur-lettuce-cups2.jpg

Enjoy!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

All these posts of yours inspire me to make a vegan entry for the SCC! I think I have some ideas!

Hehe looking forward to the entry ;)

That looks absolutely delicious. Now I'm hungry again.

Hehe.. then eat! Thanks for your comment @bluehorseshoe

Are u kidding me! Just checking d ingredients...Bulgar, mushroom, red onions, almonds,mint leave , lettuse, apple cider vinegar etc...a look at individual nutritional benefits will show this is a super healthy food...for all ages and I trust the taste will be yummiscious...ummmhh! Thumbs up ma'am...upvoted and glad to be following such a wonderful cook...

It sure was yum! Thank you so much for your kind words @kenhudoy! You are too kind!

welcome maam @amy-goodrich
i sent my first intro post today along with a funny joke...do look into it for me...also follow me for more good contents...your comment and upvotes will be appreciated...tks once more

Omg this looks so yummy!!!!! 😍

Definitely delicious as good as the person

That's so sweet of you to say! Thanks @ijoel!

I have never even heard of this, but it looks really yummy!

Thank you @uglysweater! If you are not gluten intolerant is is definitely a great grain to try! So much cheaper than the popular quinoa too :)

Yes, why is quinoa so expensive?! Lol.

Because they made it a trendy food I guess hehe! I once heard that they can't keep up with the production. I love it though! Had a salad with toasted quinoa earlier.

That sounds yum!

That looks great!

Thanks @lucy-and-dan and welcome to steemit!

thank you for your welcome!

You always make my morning feels good with these deliciously looking dish. How much more if I will be able to taste it. :)

Thank you so much, my friend! I hope I can cook something for you in the near future! Our door is always open ;)

Yeah right. Who knows I will be given a chance to visit your place. At least I can have chance to do so. Hoping for that day. Where you from by the way?

I'm from Belgium, but living in Cambodia for the past 2.5 years! The Philippines are close and on my to-visit list! I heard it is amazing for scuba diving! I'll def let you now if we make it there!

gave you an upvote.. what a great recipe .. I love tabouli .. this I don't think I have tried.... nice post

That is such a good meal that you have there! And it's great for summer. Mint makes so many things better and bulgur makes great salads. That would be good in a lettuce- or collard-leaf wrap!

I sure does! I love mint! I'm having a glass of homemade iced mint tea right now hehe

I better go do the same! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52