๐Ÿš 20-MIN VEGAN DINNER | FRIED CAULIFLOWER RICE ๐Ÿš

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

cauliflower-rice-3.jpg

Greetings fellow steempunks. How are you all today? We are getting pretty excited over here. Today is packing day of the equipment of the bakery we bought so everything is ready to move on the 1st or 2nd.

Since we are so busy lately fast, quick, healthy recipes are the way to go. Though I miss spending time in the kitchen, making these fast, yet healthy meals prevents us to opt for takeaway food.

Earlier this week I posted my quick and easy fried quinoa rice and yesterday I made some fried rice with cauliflower. As said before in Asia fried rice (or noodles) is a go-to dish to clear out the fridge or have a quick, cheap lunch or dinner.

Unfortunately, we are not the biggest rice eaters, not even brown rice. We prefer the taste of other grains (or pseudo-grains) such as quinoa, amaranth, farro, or buckwheatโ€ฆ.

Though all these grains make perfect fried rice substitute, allow me to introduce you to another healthy kitchen hack to put a quick an easy meal on the table. Iโ€™m sure youโ€™re gonna like this cauliflower rice as much as we do.

Cauliflower fried rice is a low-carb and low-calorie meal the whole family will love. Definitely an easy-to-make weeknight favorite at our home.

FRIED CAULIFLOWER RICE ๐Ÿš


cauliflower-rice-2.jpg

INGREDIENTS (SERVES 2)


1 cup green peas
1 cup carrot, finely chopped
1 cup red cabbage, chopped
1-2 cup spinach, shredded
1/2 small to medium head cauliflower (1 head = 4-5 cups mixed into grains)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger
1/2 cup onion, chopped
2 teaspoons soy sauce/Tamari
1/2 lime, juice only
1/4 cup spring onion, chopped
1/4 cup unsalted peanuts, toasted
Sea salt and black pepper to taste
1 teaspoon turmeric powder

FYI: these where my ingredients feel free to use any other veggie you like or have left in the fridge. Yummy with pineapple too ;)

DIRECTIONS


  1. Pulse cauliflower in a small blender until pieces are the size of a rice grain.
  2. Heat coconut oil (or other cooking oil. I like the added flavor of the coconut oil and it's super healthy too) over high heat in a wok. Saute onion for 1 min. Add ginger and garlic and cook until onions are soft. Stir constantly.
  3. Add red cabbage, peas, and carrots. Stir-fry for 5 minutes on high heat or until carrots are soft, stirring constantly. Add more coconut oil if needed.
  4. Add soy sauce or tamari, spinach, lime juice and cauliflower rice and stir-fry for another 2-3 minutes on high heat.
  5. Season with turmeric powder, salt, and pepper to taste
  6. Serve with toasted peanuts and spring onions.

cauliflower-rice-1.jpg

Bon Appรฉtit!!!


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ† FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW ๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ†

GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | EGG FRUIT & RED BEET MORNING LOVE แƒฆ แƒฆ แƒฆ
30-MIN VEGAN DINNER | FRIED QUINOA WITH FRESH PINEAPPLE
GREEN SMOOTHIE OF THE DAY | PINK SOURSOP MORNING DRAGON TO FUEL UP


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

Sort: ย 

Cauliflower is becoming my favorite vegetable. It's so versatile and it's easy to turn into a quick meal. I like all the different colors and textures in your fried "rice."

Thanks @loveself. I am with you on the cauliflower. Such a versatile veggie indeed! Have you ever tried cauliflower pizza crust? So yum too!

I have, my first try was a disaster and the second time was a success. What do you use to bind your cauliflower pizza crust for a vegan version?

Hehe... happened to me too ;) Usually, I use a chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds + 3 tbsp water makes 1 egg).

Brilliant! Thank you for the tip.

Oh that sounds MARVELOUS! I would definitely make this!

Thanks. Enjoy this yummy and healthy treat ;)

Looove it! It's like a cauliflower paella :)

Haha... true. But even better. Never been a fan of paella for some reason!

I love fried rice so this is a must try for me and using coconut oil sounds delightful. Thank you!

Coconut oil is our go-to oil. Such a great product. Have a beautiful weekend!

I need to get used to using coconut oil vs Olive. I have it in the cubbard. Maybe I need to sit it near the range :) Got my red cabbage last night for your recipe. Thanks again!

Oh now this sounds right up my alley! I like the no rice option! I have a large head of cauliflower in my fridge now! Will do for dinner! I bet you guys are getting really excited. So next week is move in! Congrats Amy!

Thanks. Enjoy the cauliflower rice. I am sure you'll love it! Have a lovely weekend!

Yum, love this recipe looking forward to trying it out, cauliflower has to be one my favourite veggies. Thanks for sharing

My pleasure. I hope you like it as much as we do! Have a happy and healthy week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43