Gardening :)

in #food7 years ago

IMG_4389.JPG

Where my fellow gardeners at?!! I just love to get out in the dirt and harvest some veggies. No other vegetables will ever taste as good as ones you grew yourself. My favorite to grow are peppers. Not only are they super easy to grow, but they are so versatile. You can pretty much add them to any dish for an extra pop of wow :)

What are y'alls favorite veggies to grow?

IMG_4402.JPG

Have a great hump day

Xoxo
Amber

Sort:  

I love gardening too, good pictures!

Thank you!!! Have a good one :)

I grew up in a family of gardeners, but my husband and I only recently started gardening ourselves a few years ago. Nothing better than enjoying the fruits (and veggies) of your labor! ;) Peppers are also my favorite thing to grow. Our yard is rampant with squirrels and they always get to our tomatoes before we can! Beautiful veggies you have there!

Pesky squirrels!! It seems like peppers are the least likely to die on me. Sometimes I forget to water and I think that helps as they are so heat tolerant. Glad you've starting gardening! I think it's a fantastic thing to do as a couple. Nurturing something together can only be good in my opinion :)

Fellow Gardener here. Such an awesome feeling to grow your own veggies and cook with them. Really nice Haul. Are those Serrano Peppers? I bet everything tasted so good. Especially those Tomatoes and Broccoli.

They did taste good!! I forget the kind. Sometimes I just throw seeds at the dirt and get whatever I get. Veggie roulette ;)

I do that some times too lol. It is fun, waiting to see what you get.

Usually me, food and waiting don't get along but this is one exception ;)

We just started gardening this year, got a couple tomato plants and some herbs. Baby steps ha.

you'll get there! sounds like you have a great start :)

Fellow gardener / homesteader here! I just started though so I haven't discovered what I like growing most yet! Just planted some celery and an avocado however!

I love those two things!!! Let me know how the avacodo turns out. Some fresh guacamole sounds so perfect right now! Mmmmmm

Great post with beautiful photos :) I would love to grow my own veggies, but I have two problems:

  1. I am renting and have no garden
  2. I Can't garden, I used to help my gran but when I tried with my own plants, they just died even with all my TLC, as a kid I used to sing to my little palm tree my father gave me, no use..haha

Awww this is so sad lol. If you are willing to try again a small pepper plant would do great in a pot. Stick it on like a patio or balcony if you have one. I have killed my fair share of plants. I find peppers to be the easiest because if I forget to water for a while (which I do lol) then they don't die on me. And they taste delicious ;)

awesome I love eating home grown food. I live in the city so I can not garden. But I told my wife that we should have a small little cucumber and tomato garden right behind the garage. I don't think the land lord would see it there. LOL Looks like you know what your doing in the garden, them look sooo good.

Pots pots pots! The landlord can't take those away lol :) I know some tomatoes would go good (think cherry or maybe some small romas) not sure about cucumbers in pots as they are rather large plants. Perhaps those small English snacking ones? I love just going out and eating something. :)

yea that's a good idea maybe that's what we will do

Nice haul! Seeing those peppers reminded me of how my mom always grew them. They were SO spicy to me when I was about 6! I followed :)

Thanks! I liked your blog, it definitely had me laughing :) followed you as well. Have a great day, new friend

Hi there @amberquamme' I'm a fellow gardener! We are all slowly finding one another 😉

You said "No other vegetables will ever taste as good as ones you grew yourself"

I agree 100%! There is really something special about growing your own food and it always tastes better. We reap the rewards of our efforts and when we apply great effort, and Mother Nature cooperates, we reap great rewards.

I'm a tomato grower for market, but I love to grow peppers for our family and friends. We can talk tomatoes later cuz I've got A LOT of heirloom varieties growing now. But, peppers - I'm growing: Anaheim Chili, Purple Tiger, Cubanelle, Cayenne, California Wonder, Yellow Banana, Birds Eye, Emerald Green this year.

Don't mind if I follow along! Pleasure to meet fellow gardeners. Happy Harvest.
🙏🏼🌶🌶

Hello there!!! I see you are a fellow parent as well. Good for you to be showing our future generation about gardening and where our food comes from! that's awesome that you have some many varieties going!! What's your all time favorite paper variety? :)

It's all about passing on the knowledge and the work ethic that seems to be becoming more rare than ever. Everyone wants it all now and for nothing and it seems that we've forgotten what's brought us all this way; hard work, patience, persistence. I'm a stay at home father of two toddlers for nearly 4 years now. It is all about preparing them for the future because the future truly does depend on them.

Truthfully, I grow peppers because they are fun to grow; not sure I've got a favorite. I'm not much for super-hot (eating wise), but I still grow them..lol. I have 21+ varieties of Heirloom tomatoes, so you could say I'm more of a 'mater-man of sorts. Here's a full list below, so I do not throw a huge wall of text up: 😋
🍅Heirloom Tomatoes 🍅 - What We've Got Growin'

If I had to choose my all time favorite pepper variety to eat & grow - it might be Cubanelle - great sized pepper, sweet & mild flavor, no heat - just sweet. Easy to grow and they have awesome bright green color that ripens to red. It is also known as the "Italian frying pepper". Excellent heirloom variety.

What's your all-time-favorite pepper, @amberquamme?

I've never tried that kind of pepper!! I'll have the check it out :) my favorite pepper is the plain ol' boring banana pepper. I love them pickled on salads and pizza yummmmmmmmn
I'll check out you tomato list!! :) your kids are lucky you have such a conscious daddy like you. Rock on 👏👏👏

Aw, thank you @amberquamme! I do my best. I love growing banana peppers too. Do you ever let them turn orange before picking them? I usually pick them when they get a nice yellow color, but I heard the longer they go - the more heat they have. I'm letting one go now that's half orange, so find out out soon enough..lol It is amazing to see my little ones eating food that we grow ourselves. They won't know any different, which I think is awesome! Totally worth the stress of wrangling two toddlers around a ton of plants and flowers 😆

Happy Growin'!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36