@allaboutpastries: Death by Chocolate...a Star of the Chocolate Cake World ...Well I Think So! Plus More of the Great Posts You might have Missed.

in #food7 years ago

 

This intriguing recipe for my wonderful chocolate cake is made using a completely different process to normal.  It works every time and you get a lovely light and moist chocolate cake which has good keeping qualities.  If you keep it in a tin it will stay moist for a week - it won't last that long though.  

The layers and covering are chocolate ganache so it is just like eating the fillings from a box of chocolates, really delicious.  The hint of lemon though, helps 'cut through' the richness of this cake.  So, without further ado, lets get on with making.......

Death by Chocolate

Ingredients Required:

For the cake:

1 tablespoon of lemon juice (about 1/2 small lemon)

250 ml (1 cup/8fl ozs) milk

250g (2 cups/9 ozs) plain (all purpose) flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

60g (1/2 cup/2 1/4 ozs) cocoa powder (Not drinking chocolate, it must be the unsweetened pure cocoa powder)

125g (1/2 cup + 2 tblspns/4 ozs) butter (Softened in microwave for few seconds so when finger pushed in it indents easily - not runny though)!

250g (1 1/4 cups/8 3/4 ozs) white sugar

3 eggs

Pre-heated oven temperature: 190C (375F/Gas mark 5)

For the chocolate ganache:

250g (1 1/2 cups + 1 tblsp/8 3/4 ozs) chocolate

1/2 tsp salt

50g (1/4 cup/ 1 3/4 ozs) white sugar 

300 mls  (1 1/4 cups/ 10 fl ozs) double (heavy) cream

25g (1/8 cup/1 ozs) butter

Source

Method:

Chocolate Ganache:

(This needs to set in the fridge so you might as well make it first and allow it to set while the cake is made, or even overnight)

  1. Heat the butter and cream together until hot, but not boiling.  (This can easily be done in a plastic bowl in the microwave)
  2. Add the chopped up chocolate and stir until the chocolate is melted.  (Blitz in the microwave for a few second if the chocolate has not fully melted.  It depends on how big you left the pieces of chocolate).
  3. When cool, put in the fridge to set and until required.
  4. Whisk the mixture when nearly set to get a lovely whipped topping

Cake Method:

  1. Put the lemon juice into the milk. (It will split the milk, do not worry it is meant to).
  2. Add half of the sugar to this milk and stir to dissolve. (Just a gentle stir while you are doing the rest of the steps.  It does not have to be fully dissolved)
  3. Sieve together the flour, cocoa powder, and baking soda. (Not baking powder, it must be baking (bicarbonate of) Soda)!
  4. Cream the butter with the second half of the sugar.
  5. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. (Make sure you beat very well between each egg addition)
  6. Add the flour mixture to the creamed butter mixture in 1/4's.  At the same time add the milk mixture also in quarters.
  7. Divide this mixture  equally between two 8 inch (20 cm) cake pans; the mixture will be quite soft.  (I butter each cake pan quite well, then sprinkle sugar around the buttered edges of the pans.  This gives a lovely crunch to the edge of the cakes, and also makes it easy to remove them when cooked.  I also always put a disc of greaseproof paper into the bottom of each cake pan as it makes it very easy to remove the cakes when baked, only the sides to release)!
  8. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes (approx.) at 190C (375F/Gas mark 5).  (You might need to put a sheet of baking parchment on top of the cakes towards the end of baking, to ensure the cakes are fully set in the centre) 
  9. Remove from the tins when baked and stand on a cooling wire until completely cold. (Don't forget to remove the greaseproof paper circles)!

Source

To complete the cakes:

  1. Do not attempt to cover the cakes with the ganache until they are completely cold or your ganache will melt!
  2. Split each cake in two horizontally and place the first 1/4 onto your serving plate.  (I always put the tops down first and use the bases as the top layer.  ie. top=bottom/top=bottom.  That way any dome is hidden by the filling).
  3. Whisk the chocolate ganache until it is light and fluffy.   (It will not be as light as double (heavy) cream)
  4. Divide your mixture into one half, for the top and sides; and the other half portion into three, for the inner layers.
  5. Spread over your cakes, building layers as you go.  Finish the top off with simple wavy lines as I have done on mine.

This really is a lovely cake.  You will be amazed how light the sponge cake is.  Anyone who is lucky to get a slice will be really impressed with you.

Source

I hope you have enjoyed my introduction to a truly novel cake making method!

Interesting Posts:

Click on the blue highlighted text and you will be taken straight to the post.

@sofiane brings us an interesting cake recipe made with zucchini.  I have made cakes before using vegetables. ie. carrots and beetroot, but never courgettes!  It will be interesting to see how it turns out, (courgettes holding a lot of water).

@rauzah has fried some egg plant slices (aubergine), in an interesting coating...they sound delicious.

@food-creator has brought a super 'cheese pie' to the table!  A really interesting technique which really does look yummy. This is a recipe unlike any cheese pie I have ever eaten.  I will definitely be making these.

and finally tonight....something a little different...

@dswigle has put together a really neat activity.  Every Friday post your market images.  I completely forgot what day it was, thinking it was Thursday.  Then when I saw these posts I realised I had missed my town market day.  I was really 'miffed' with myself.  Great contest though, I will be taking part next week!

Please take part in my Community Project. Place a link to your post in the comments box below if you would like your recipe to be included.  

In the meantime keep 'Posting' interesting content, as all I want to do is:

and:

as well as:

As often as I can!

   







Sort:  

wow..so many little tweaks that are different from my own chocolate cake recipe..I'll try this one some day! It sounds very very tempting and too lovely for me to pass up!!

Btw, great tips on the sugar to help the cake come out easier and on the lemon to cut through the richness (always use lemon for this reason in soups, etc, but never thought about applying that concept to a cake!!!)

Lemon is important in this cake as it is part of the raising agent. However, it does have a dual purpose in that it balances sugar and richness. Do try this cake, even just the cake not the covering. You will be amazed how light and moist and chocolatey it is. Thank you for your response, much appreciated. X

By golly! You just intensified my craving!!! Light, moist, and chocolatey OOOOOOOo My husband loves chocolate cake too..I WILL try this one soon :))

You really must. You will never go back to making chocolate cake any other way. If you don't like the hint of lemon substitute a weak tasting, ordinary vinegar instead. It just requires the acid element to work. Thank you for your interest. X

I see..I've used vinegar in a choc cake recipe before :) But I always have lemons on hand and want to try the recipe with lemon this time, so won't need the substitute :) Thanks anyway dear! :))

No problem. I prefer lemon juice because it does cut through the richness of the cake. Those friends of mine who have eaten it always comment so. Try it and see, you will be impressed. I love passing on knowledge gained through experience. That way it is never lost. Change a recipe by at least 40 % and that recipe becomes yours. Bear that in mind for your future blogging! Great to interact with you. I follow your posts with great interest. :)X

Thanks for that rule of thumb :) Good to keep in mind, for the future :) Have a happy Monday! <3

Same to you my dear. Oh a further update to my prior 'rant'....I did cook lunch for my little corn man, and made my own pasta, and sauce, and garlic'd some bread.....so not just working on my post! Thought about it between closing that and opening this. dah! X

Thats a very detailed one @allaboutpastries!
Upvoted

Thank you. Yes I am a stickler for details. Helps others learn the techniques and pitfalls. X

looks delicious :)

Thank you. Looks complicated but it isn't really and tastes good too. X

You have some very well written atricles I must say. You have a unique writing style and it caters to a wide variety of types, which is perfect if you're trying to get you're awesome skills out there :)

Well, I am quite flabbergasted! Impressive comment on my writing skills. Thank you so much. I just want to pass on my knowledge learned over many years, and not see it all go to waste. Was writing a series of books but am in to Steemit now. Love this platform and can dabble how I choose. Thank you. Hope you aren't taking the Micky? :)X

Sorry, just seen the post below! Not used to someone being so positive about my work. :)X

That's awesome. When you try hard and put effort into things, greater things happen :D
Haha and no, not meeee, I'm not that pronounced lol!!
Cheers :D

Thanks fore that I love this platform and the interaction it allows. I will join minnowsupport when my passwords get updated. :)X

Yes do it!! Ill wait to see you on the discord chat. Its worth the download and for the banter :)
Ps I just watched What the Health last night... Thoughts on that documentary?

Hi diggerdugg. Missed our chats! Just thought I would let you know about my latest science based post which I thought would be a flop. Seems there are people out there who will read a post for its content too. https://steemit.com/food/@allaboutpastries/allaboutpastries-the-dreaded-science-i-know-you-shouldn-t-bore-people-who-you-want-to-read-and-upvote-your-posts-this-is
Putting link here, cheeky I know, but no one else will read it as this post too long ago to make any difference. I just wanted your opinion on it as I want to make this a series of educational posts.
I do intend to join your minnow support project but I am desperately trying to keep writing posts, while boxing up my possessions and doing work on the house I have bought here in Spain. Have to move in the next couple of months. Once moved I will join your initiative. Hope you are successful with your posts. I sometimes get disheartened by the lack of response to several hours work....don't you? Regards. :)X

Will do. and yes I want to join Discord, same issue for the moment with passwords! Sorry I don't have a TV in Spain, well I do, several of them. However, until I move into the house I have managed to buy very cheaply, not worth connecting up in this rented place. Will look out for it though on the internet. Does it take you ages to post? I have spent 4 hours working on my latest post. What with resizing images, etc. There must be a quicker way but I haven't found it yet. Oh yes, there is a quicker way.....one image and a sentence. Do you recommend it? LOL. :)X

haha yes and dont worry you are not alone. Unless you can program or code like a mofo, it will take you hours. The one I did, one of my drone adventures, number 2 i think, took me literally 2 days. I wanted to make sure it was perfect.
I find I start a couple posts and just work on all of them in time and then just post them as i finish them. lol I think well get better over time thought :D

I don't think so...started my Ciabatta one at 9.30 pm and posted 15 mns ago - 1.30 am. Am I nuts? :)X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05