Easy Slow Cooker French Onion Soup [With Canning Instructions]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

caroline-attwood-243834.jpg

Part of my mission in life is to help people take back control of their lives. Without going into detail, at one point I found myself bankrupt, with severe health issues, working a soul-crushing job I hated for next to no pay. The medical institutions had failed me, my food was covered in pesticides and could barely even be called "food", and the American dream was just out of reach.

So I began a new journey - one of self-sufficiency, learning natural remedies to take back control from big pharma, growing my own organic food to take control back from big agro-, and (with Steem) making my own money outside of the big banking systems.

Part of my mission is finding delicious, nutritious, organic recipes that are EASY to make in the midst of our busy lives. And preserving that food, so the days when I find myself without lunch or a plan for dinner, I know I have a pantry full of healthy, organic food I've put up.

The last time I ate store-bought canned soup I instantly got a migraine and was laid up in bed the rest of the day! I'm not sure if it was MSG, or salt, or what...but what can be in soup that made my brain revolt?!

I love this recipe for French onion soup so much, I make a large batch every other month.

I've written another post on how to grow onions if you're interested in growing them yourself. If not, buying organic from a local farmer not only is a reliable source of great, organic veg but also puts money back into your local economy. Win-win!

This recipe is very unfussy. It takes a lot of time (in the slow cooker) but not a lot of ingredients.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 6 large onions peeled and cut into rings
  • 4-5 cups of beef or vegetable broth
  • 1/4-1/3 cup red wine or dry cooking sherry

Cooking Instructions

  1. Slice onions into large rings and place (with the oil) in a crockpot or large soup pot on the stove.
  2. If using the crockpot method, cook on low, stirring occasionally, until they turn a delicious brown. If using the pot method, simply simmer on low, stirring occasionally, until the onions begin to caramelize.
  3. Add the broth and red wine.
  4. Simmer for at least half an hour longer to let the flavors develop and intermix. You can simmer for even longer if you like - this is a very forgiving soup.

Canning Instructions

  1. Ladle soup into cleaned jars, leaving 1 inch of headspace.
  2. Process pints in a pressure cooker for 60 minutes
  3. Process quarts in a pressure cooker for 75 minutes.
Sort:  

Looks great! Thanks for posting instructions!

As we slowly work our way to food freedom I wonder how good our bodies are going to feel once we are completely rid of all the unnatural ingredients in processed foods. I used to drink diet coke all the time back in my teens and early twenties. I gave it up for over a decade and then tried having a sip a few years back and it gave me an instant headache. Our bodies are created to heal if we give it good stuff to start with. Thanks for sharing.

A few weeks ago I fell into a deep depression. So much so I made an apt with my GP to talk about anti-depressants. Then I read someone online talk about how horrible they made him feel. So instead, I made a daily checklist for myself to eat 5 servings of fruit or veg a day, plus 2L of water. By day three, I felt better than I had in YEARS. I was wearing my toddler out I had so much energy! I was flirting and laughing with my husband, and the stress with work and school just stopped bothering me. What we put into our bodies has so much more power over us than I think even science knows! I completely agree with you - our bodies can heal themselves, as long as we give them the right tools!

Thanks for this! French Onion Soup is a favorite around here, but somehow it had never occurred to me to can the finished soup-- duh! New project coming up for next onion season...

Bright Blessings!

Lol happy to help! I'm always looking for an opportunity to cut corners or make life easier for myself! Cooking huge batches of things and then saving them definitely helps! And I never have to stress about not having anything planned for dinner tonight.

Great tips! I've canned French Onion Soup for freezing; in fact, have one in the freezer left now. Do you can these in your regular pressure cooker, or do you have a pressure canner?

I can in my regular pressure cooker. Probably need to get a pressure canner soon, but it works for me!

I was curious about that. I'd like a pressure cooker/fryer for my kitchen, but wasn't sure if I'd need something different for canning, which is secondary to why I want it in the first place ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32