๐Ÿ“ Everybody is Doing It - Overnight Oats ๐Ÿ“

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago

IMG_3415.JPG

Have you noticed how everyone seems to be having overnight oats for breakfast these days? They are HUGE in the vegan/raw community, and I had to try it for myself.


It is so simple to prepare, and I think that the reason the dish is so popular is the convenience of the whole shebang. You just prep your ingredients the night before, let them soak in what ever liquid it that your prefer, and when you wake up, they are ready to eat!


INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 Tbls chia seeds
  • 2 cups almond milk (this is where you can have some fun, and substitute what ever you like - coconut milk, regular milk, champagne... just kidding on that one)
  • pinch of salt
  • whichever fruit you prefer, I used a handful of blueberries, and two sliced strawberries
  • a smattering of coconut flakes
  • a drizzle of almonds
  • tsp of vanilla essence
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp chopped dates

IMG_3411.JPG

METHOD

Mix all your dry ingredients in a seal-able container. I put some of my fruit (the blueberries) to soak overnight, but leave the strawberries til the morning. Then, pour in your almond milk, honey and vanilla essence

2.3.jpg

Leave to soak overnight. In the morning you can dress your dish with what ever you like. I used shaved coconut, more almonds and chopped strawberries. SOOO DERICIOUS!

SO!! Why eat Overnight Oats?

  • If soaked in a non-dairy liquid, they are easier for your tummy to digest than most other breakfasts. This is important as you are literally breaking the fast with your brekkie'. By soaking the oats over night, you are also breaking down all the starches, resulting in this east to digest meal.
  • It is probably the quickest, easiest healthiest breakfast out there. Chuck some oats and things in a jar and Sayลnara until tomorrow!
  • They are higher in resistant starch. This is important because they lower your blood sugar, keep you fuller for longer and can even reduce your appetite.

Most foods we eat feed only 10% of our cells, ferment-able fibers and resistant starches feed the other 90% - HOW COOL IS THAT!


Points of Caution

  • Portion sizing. Be careful with your portions, as oats are a carbohydrate. The recommended serving is 40 grams per serving
  • Keep your toppings healthy. I have seen all types of yummy looking toppings, including chocolate, peanut butter and granola.
  • Watch the sugar. Unsweetened almond milk can be a little bland for some, but try to only use maple syrup, agave or honey. AND A LITTLE at a time. I find a bit of fruit does the job quite nicely
  • Try to keep it dairy free. Regular milk and yoghurt add unnecessary extra fats, that are not always easy to digest

Let me know if have made Overnight Oats, what your results have been, and what your favourite combinations are. I am trying different recipes out every day, and loving it!

authored by yours truly, @princessmewmew

๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“

Proudly powered by ADSactly - click this image above to join our discord server - you are ADSactly

Adsactly Banner.jpg

Sort: ย 

I heard of people that would soak different grains overnight and eat them in the morning to lose weight. Not sure if that helped at all though haha.

Your passion for cooking is marvellous. I shall surely try it out

never noticed it, but good recipe and pics, my wife throws some chia in a lot of things... hemp seed too !

It's very healthy @clumsysilverdad, hide it in every meal! ๐Ÿ˜ป

I do this with a mix of oats and barley and use most of what you list in my concoctions.

I usually add turmeric and pepper to try to get those in my diet and have had luck with various seaweeds and (nearly) bad bananas. It's just amazing how your tastes change.

I was used to eating heated oatmeal so this was strange in the beginning. But now I tell myself "think pudding!" and that works just fine :)

Your version looks better than mine, but it always tastes good and gets me going for the day.

Ooh I made it with a bit of barley the other day and it was scrummy!! I must definitely try turmeric, I recently made a coconut milk and turmeric hot drink for bedtime (lol - what am I, two?!) and I was surprised at how amazing and tasty it was!

Thank you for your very genuine comment

Lots of love,
@princessmewmew

You're welcome! I think that's a great before bedtime drink. I'm a raw cacao girl myself and add turmeric and coconut milk there too. We can be young at heart :)

Hehe! I'm definitely a granny in a young woman's body! Will try the cacao soon!

Everyone does it because it is the fastest thing to have ready in the morning!

I make it too but just in summer. I love when it is so cold. In winter I still prefer traditional boiled porridge (warm and gooey :p ).
For the overnight one I always use oats, some extra oat fibers, flax seeds, nuts, sunflower and whatever other seeds I can find. In the morning I add yogurt and some fruits.
Yum yum :)

Ohhh, I love the warm version! But I am so into this gut friendly version that I can handle the cold brekkie.

Sunflower seeds sound divine too! I'm trying to stay dairy free so I'm staying away from yoghurt, but that does sound super tasty!

Thank you for your very thoughtful comment!

Much love,

@princessmewmew

I have ever tried this but have heard a lot are doing it, thanks for the recipe I may try it this weekend

Oh hey jay! Yes you must! It is so awesome! Xx

It sure sounds awesome :)

I'll use it in my life. To make life more delicious. :)

Gonna try it with my Scots Porridge Oats tonight, a good write, can't wait for my breakfast in the morning

Thank you @steveuk! Let me know how you go!

Hey ,
Thanks for sharing

Very nice and delicious recipe ....Sweets are always tasty....

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.07
ETH 3004.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26