Exotic Indian Dahl

in #food7 years ago

IMG_20170414_212155_067.jpg
Indian cuisine is one of my favourite. They have delicious and also vegetarian food full of spices.....just awesome :)
I decided try today Indian dahl what is, I think, mostly common food in India
It's also cheap and simple and the rule for simply recipes are QUALITY INGREDIENTS
Ingredients for this recipe you don't need to looking for at special Asian shop
Most of them or i can say all of them you can find in normal common supermarket

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Cups of red lentils
  • 2 Knobs of butter (unsalted)
  • 1 Onion
  • 2 Tsps of Turmeric
  • 2 Tsps of cumin seeds
  • 2 Cloves of garlic
  • 1 Fresh green chillies
  • 1 Tsps Garam Masala (special spice )
  • Bit of ginger
  • Handful of fresh coriander
  • 3 chopped tomatoes (you can use can tomatoes)
  • 1 cup of quinoa or rice
  • Pitta bread
  • METHOD:

    1. In a small frying pan, dry-fry the cumin seeds and toast couple minutes. Remove from the pan and set to one side

    2. In a second pot melt the butter (Indians use a ghee - kind of butter you can buy in a special Asian shop)
      gently fry the chopped garlic, onion, chillies and the ginger and chopped tomatoes

    3. Mix it with cumin seeds and add garam masala

    4. Add lentils and cover it with enough cold water. Bring to the boil and reduce to a simmer until the lentils are completely softened

    5. After 20 minutes give the lentils a good stir - should have consistency of porridge

    6. In the end add fresh coriander and take from the heat and we are done

    7. I serve mine with quinoa - you can use rice (but I am allergic to rice - i know weird :) ) and 2 pitta breads
      IMG_20170414_212155_067.jpg

    ENJOY!

    If you wanna more recipes like this let me know in the comment also check my other recipes

    https://steemit.com/food/@adrianasteems/amazing-vegan-nachos
    https://steemit.com/food/@adrianasteems/tasty-stuffed-sweet-potatoes
    https://steemit.com/food/@adrianasteems/delicious-zucchini-pasta

    Sort:  

    Dal is like our staple food. We have it every day (at least I do 😁).
    Great source of protein as well.
    If you are fond of Indian food, I think @nidhisrecipes can help.
    Do check her blog and website.
    Cheer! 🍻

    Thanks I'll do;)

    That food looks amazing! Send some to me! @adrianasteems

    Hah if i can I'll do ;) try to cook it :)

    I'd like to curl up with recipe after a long day. Feel like bringing some over?

    LOL... it would get very cold :(

    Hah i have the same feelings when i see nice picture of food :D

    Man I could go for some good Indian food just about now. I just recently learned how to make the red onion chutney, sooooo good!!!

    Sounds nice how do you make it?

    This is what I've used most recently and I personally think it's awesome.

    1 diced large onion
    3 or 4 tablespoons of ketchup
    1 tablespoon of tomato puree
    2 teaspoon of red chili powder
    2 teaspoons of cumin seed powder
    a pinch of salt
    2 teaspoons of Hokan Chili oil
    1/2 cup of water

    You just mix everything together and grab some poppadoms and chow down!

    Thank you I'll try

    mmm wonderfull! :)

    It looks delicious !!! I also love indian recipes :)

    Love your healthy plant-based food recipes! And this Indiana Dahl looks amazing :) My grandparents were Indian so I have a huge soft spot for Indian cuisine. I've followed you and look forward to more of your healthy plant-based food posts :)

    Nice post, i followed your account, please follow me at @mrrandy

    hey, @adrianasteems! Love your cooking!!

    It would be great to see you at our steemit meet up on 16th September in Birmingham!

    If you can make it, there will be a free steemit t-shirt for you, live music from @branhmusic and 150 pounds behind the bar,

    Please see link for more details! https://steemit.com/meet-up/@starkerz/promo-uk-steemit-meet-up-everyone-welcome-from-far-and-wide-come-see-the-steemit-laser

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.20
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.029
    BTC 66217.53
    ETH 3316.11
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.70