STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #7 : Chicken Noodles Power - Original RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food-trail8 years ago

Hi Steemians! Here's my entry for the SteemitCulinaryChallenge. Theme : Battle of Noodles

As requested by @ace108 I made the noodles from scratch and since I do not have a pasta machine, I did as I could ;) It's a first for me..

I found a recipe for the noodles here Youtube - Nouilles Fr

You'll need for the noodles:

  • An egg
  • 300g Wheat flour
  • 12cl water


  • Mix the egg in the flour by hand and add the water gradually
  • Mix until it becomes smooth

  • Use a pastry roller to flatten

  • As finely as possible

  • I used a knife to cut the noodles

  • As you can see in the picture above I put them in a bowl. Don't do that! I have to do it again because the noodles have stuck together.
  • Use a plate or something to hang them separately..


  • Noddles are ok so prepare the chicken

I found a recipe on Marmiton a french website but I don't have all ingredients. I take the basics and adapt with what I have here ;)

You'll need:

  • Chicken
  • Onion - Parsley
  • Coriander - Red pepper
  • 5 Chinese spices - Ginger
  • Soya sauce
  • Olive oil
  • "Julienne" salad
  • Sugar


  • Chop the onion as finely as possible (I use a half)

  • Cut chicken pieces

  • Add onion and all spices + 2 tablespoons olive oil and 4 tablespoons of soya sauce
  • Mix, cover and wait 2 hours minimum

  • Afterwards I add a little red pepper and ginger

  • Cook the Julienne into hot water and then let cool

  • Do the same with the noodles cook them in hot water for 4 minutes max and let them cool

  • Cook the chicken in a pan with oil

  • When it's cooked add the julienne and the noodles

  • Don't stop turning with your spoon and "shake" your pan ;)
  • Just before removing from the heat add 4 tablespoons of soya sauce again and 2 teaspoons of sugar

  • Put in a plate

Enjoy!


It was a rather difficult recipe but it was worth it, the spices gave a taste of gingerbread. This is the first time I cook oriental but not the last.

If you like my post please, upvote and follow @pickoum

Sort:  

@pickoum what I admire the most is that you made your noodles from scratch and honestly said that this is your first time to ever give it a try.

Great walk through and I think - had you oiled the though a bit while making the strips - the noodles wouldn't have stick to each other.

Thank you for citing sources and I take my hat off you for being resourceful on finding out how to make noodles and actually making it. Good luck to you!

Thanks for this comment @englishtchrivy :)
No, I don't oiled (and I really don't think to do it) I just use flour because in the video the chef directly cuts / ejects the noodles into warm water with a special utensil. I don't have his dexterity.
I'm thinking about buying a little noodles machine to cut them easily and make my own pasta and noodles.
Merci. A bientôt

@pickoum, ah, that means you liked it
it can be addictive :)
try rice noodles, too and mein, soba, udon :)
anyway, good luck again

Merci beaucoup pour post @pickoum. Tre difficile, tis truly magnifique that you are able to post concerning this feat. :) Sounds interesting.

' Humml c'etait delicieux.' bleujay guesses @lajulius said...hmmm, sounds delicious....what do you think?

It is a pleasure to see you on Steemit. Greetings to you and @lajulius. A bientot.

Hi @Bleujay thanks for your reply my friend ;) @lajulius said : " hmmm It was delicious" or "yummmmmmy!" :))
I like to test new taste this is why I love culinarychallenge it give me a lot of ideas.
See you soon. A bientot. :)

Good to see an entry with noodle made from the raw and chicken is great for the protein. Looks so appetising.

Thank you @ace108 it was a hard work :p

you're welcome

@pickoum despite the fact that you taught the many of us to make noodles from scratch without oiling the dough this didn't get much but hey, Congrats, you won this week's challenge :)

I'd like to thanks all judges, sponsors and supports for the culinary challenge.
@ace108 thanks for your advices you know if I don't use more pepper it's just because my girlfriend don't like too much spices.
It's first time I cook asiatic dishes I'll try next time to cover 15 minutes with soya sauce as you said it's a good idea ;)
Thanks!!!

Hummmm c'était délicieux :*

j'ai pas su finir :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47