FOLK IT! Steemit Challenge Contest. REWARD POOL 350 Whaleshares

in #folkit7 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemanian!

I am announcing the FOLK IT! Contest and challenge you to sing a song from your folklore.

I am extremely interested in the different cultures and their roots. The songs which were passed from generation to generation have an atmosphere from the past, which I want to peek into.

Reward Pool

  • First Place - 200 WhaleShares
  • Second Place - 100 WhaleShares
  • Third Place - 50 WhaleShares

200 Whaleshares are sponsored by @akrid and I am very grateful for his contest support!
The other 150 Whaleshares are from me.

Conditions

  • Create a post with a video, singing a song from your folklore
  • Tag it with #folkit
  • Sing from the heart and soul!
  • Post it in the comment section of the current post
  • Provide a translation of the song lyrics
  • No limitations to the format of the song. You can do it solo, duet, with/without instrumental. Be creative!

The winners will be decided after 14 days by the number of upvotes in the comment section of the current post. Make sure to mention that in your video, so whoever whats to support you knows how to do it.

Translations


It is very important to follow the lyric translation condition; otherwise, the entry will not be considered as valid. By giving information on what the song is all about, you walk us into the world of your culture.

Here is the translation of the song I sang in the video:

Ranila moma

A girl went early for water, janam*
to a colorful tap.
To this colorful tap, janam
for clear, cold water.

A crazy (boy) went early after her, janam
to a colorful tap
here to catch, catch up with her, janam
there to, crazy, wait for her.
He did not catch, catch up with her, janam
nor did, crazy, wait for her there.

Mostly, he catched her, janam
on a colorful tap,
with another lover she stood, janam
sweet words she told him.
Sweet words she told him, janam
a flower from her head she gave him.

De gidi** girl beautiful, janam
beautiful and fake.
Why did you not tell me, janam
for me to love another lover?


*janam - used to address someone with an invitation or to express discontent
**de gidi - phrase used for praise and regret

Encouragement

Do not be shy to overcome any fear, get in front of your camera and do it! Show the world a piece of your culture in your unique way.

Check out the Encouragement post I created, if you need a little push.

I urge you to share this contest, even if you are not brave enough to participate, so more people can find out about it. Let us make the comment section below a colorful cultural exchange!

If this contest goes well, I promise to create more on the same subject but with different themes, like traditional costumes, meals, etc.

Just can not wait to dive into a world of folklore through my fellow steemanians!

Good luck to all the participants.


👣Follow 📢 Comment 💃 Resteem

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/folkit/@docmastery/folk-it
Hi! @gabchik, this is my entry for your contest Folk It!

hope you'll enjoy it!
Nem Dayao -

<3 I got the goosebumps while listening to it and reading the translation. Beautiful <3 Just what I expected. It is a good idea to direct your followers to the current post and ask them to upvote your comment here, as the winner is going to be decided by the number of upvotes here. Much love and thank you so much for this entry. You have a beautiful voice, so this #untalanted tag is useless :P Be more confident

Thank you for the wonderful comment. Updated my post and I wish everybody good luck.

Hello @gabchick , this is my submit :) ! Some Ecuadorian pasillo

the lyrics, translation and story are in my post :

https://steemit.com/folkit/@pechichemena/folk-it-steemit-challenge-contest-el-aguacate-cesar-guerrero-pasillo-ecuatoriano

I hope you like it ! thanks for setting this up ! very nice iniciative !

Cheers

Pechiche Mena

Bravoo!!! Love it, such gentle voice for such gentle song

Thank you very much @jungwatercolor , im glad you liked it , i hope you also participate :) .

Ohhhh, if I had heard this before I postet my entry I would not have dared to participate. You sing beautiful!!!! Love it.

thank you very much @neumannsalva ! the point of the contest is sharing our culture! thank you for your entry :) . How old is that german folk song? im curious :)

Yes, you are right, but a little skill is nice too :-D And I recently started to learn guitar, so I really like your contribution (My problem is I played very long violin, which I now can't do anymore to because of a car accident where I hurt my jaw. Means I have enough knowledge to exactly hear how bad I play guitar - ahhhhhhh :-D But I am so in love with the instrument, so please record more, because I followed you)
The actual song is not very old, but the content of the song reaches back into the late middle ages to a myth of an old bridge in Frankfurt. The pictorial and sculptural representation of the dance macabre in Germany seem to be very prominent from the 14th century onward. But the tune was composed by Felicitas Kuckuck around 1930 and it became a famous children’s song despite its content. Up to date it is often sung and played/danced in schools and nursery schools.

thank you very much for your kind words! I hope you can get back to your violin playing , i love that instrument , but i can't make ONE sound out of it .. I've tried , it's really difficult hahaha.

The song has a very interesting story , very ironic that it has such a ''deep'' content but it is played as a Children's Song. I love it

Cheers!

gracias mi hermano! abrazo!

Those are some lovely lyrics and a beautiful performance. Thank you for your entry. It wa a pleasure exploring Ecuador <3

thank you very much @gabchik , i'm glad you liked my little rendition of a ''classic'' of my country :)

I actually start to listen to it a couple of times now. Takes me to a better place :3

https://steemit.com/dtube/@fishyculture/xm69vaqd
The translation is probably well known, but as requested...
Silent night, holy night
All is calm, all is bright
Round yon virgin, mother and child
Holy infant so tender and mild
Sleep in heavenly peace
Sleep in heavenly peace.

:)

Awww. This is so cute! Thank you for your entry. It is truly charming. I see that you got more upvotes on your post rather than here, so maybe I will consider changing the conditions a bit so it can be more fair.

Thank you - I DID ask them to come over here but you those steemians - have a mind of their own ;)

See, as a well-trained German, I came here, haha!!! Love your post and your singing and the song!!!

LOL! Ah... we are what we are... Thank you!

You won third prize of 50 Whaleshares. Congrats! Please advice whether you have a bitshares account to get them transferred to or you prefer them being applied to one of your recenet posts.

Haha! Thank you! I do seem to have a bitshares account! fishy-culture is my name at open ledger. Is that all you need? I have some studying to do, never played with a whaleshare before! THANK YOU for hosting this, contests like this are making me learn more and more about steemit, and my fellow steemians!

Awesome!

I'm excited to see the entries :)

This sounds interesting. Ill be back to take a closer look.

Jb

Great! Thank you for the resteem! It is highly appreciated!

Here's my piece. It's shaky but I hope to provide a good laugh for everyone :D

Hey hey :) Your effort is highly appreciated. As far as I know this is the gypsy anthem


It was fun exploring the Yugoslavian version.
Хвала, брате <3

Strong performance from a sweet person...I really like your humor...thanks for that and I will follow your channel now.

Thank you for the kind words ^^

Ok, I know more will than skill, but I hope you all get an impression of this beautiful and sad german folk song "Es führt über den Main"

https://steemit.com/folkit/@neumannsalva/a-dance-macabre-es-fuehrt-ueber-den-main-folk-it
I hope I made everything ok to participate...? Thank you @gabchik for this beautiful idea.

how interesting! i can't wait to participate! <3 Thanks for the invite!

Can't wait to hear your entry :)

Resteemed and working on my courage (and performance) :-D

Thank you for the resteem :) I created a post for some encouragement. Check it out here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42