GROWING FLEMING FARM SUNFLOWERS

in #flowers6 years ago

First off, I planted these way late.


These are some photos of the sunflowers that we are growing from some seeds that @flemingfarm sent us last year. These sunflowers can get up to fourteen feet tall I've heard, but we planted ours late. While they may not be giants, they sure do look pretty and the hummingbirds seem to like them too.

Since the sun and lighting seemed appropriate, I did a quick photo shoot yesterday. Check them out and see what you think!

Thanks @flemingfarm!

@FLEMINGFARM SUNFLOWERS PHOTO SHOOT

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-fleming-farm-sunflowers

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Nice flowers anyway!....:)...

I love this flower very colourful, really grow well weldon papa

Nice photography. These are looks like very attractive. I love it.

sunflower is very beautiful, I like it @papa-pepper

American or Mongolian Giant Sunflowers. Very cool! I'm glad to see them growing well! Even though I started mine the same time as last year I am a bit shy of my 170" tallest. Right now my tallest are both at 140" which is about 11.5 ft. Funny thing is that the mess of jerusalem artichoke has some seriously tall stalks, one of which is 12.5 ft tall. Over a foot taller than my giant sunflowers. I think I will be entering it in the fair as a largest plant along with my sunflowers.

IMG_20180828_123614082.jpg

Good idea! Enter the sunchokes! And thanks for the seeds too. Did those elderberries every work out for you? I wasn't able to get the ones from you to root, but I hope I might be able to get some with roots from you one day.

My elderberries didn't make either. I do have one that is potted up that I will be sending to you. I'm going to wash the bulk of the soil off the roots but it is a nice little plant that has been in the pot for a few months now.

IMG_20180821_134722659.jpg

I'll get you a nice root cluster too then! Better luck next time (*for both of us).

Love sunflowers! Those are beautiful. And lovely shots with the sun streaming across them @papa-pepper. Wierd that yours are flowering. Here at the end of winter in South Africa ours started flowering last week

I love sunflowers, they're so bright and cheery. :D
God bless you and your fantastic family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Very nice, Papa. What all are you planning to use them for, just eating seeds, or do you have more in mind...?

For eating the seeds and animal food. Is there more?

Can the animals eat the whole thing, stalk and all? I'm just asking because I've never grown them, and wondered what the overall value of them is.

Most likely the goats or sheep would eat the whole thing, but I'll look into it before trying. We just like the look of them and the seeds so far, but always open to more possibilities.

They are very pretty!

They are beautiful. Great shots! So positive :)

Awesome Photos. My wife's favorite flowers are Sunflowers. Hopefully one day I can grow her some as nice as those!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74