You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Boraginaceae

in #flower8 years ago

We would like to add your post to the @gardening-trail curating team for upvoting, but we need to confirm that you have permission to use the copyrighted image, of the seeds, that you have in this post. Images that are public domain can be used without attribution. If the image is being used under a Creative Commons license, please follow its specific requirements. Images that are copyrighted, like the one used in your post, need permission from the creator holding the copyright.

You can read our full guidelines here. Thank you.

Sort:  

@haphazard- hstead I don't get you because if you click the blued Boraginaceae seeds that's its source. I think I may just author my post the way I want to besides I already mentioned that it's not mine if you just read this

Aside from the seeds of the Phacelias, I took the rest of these pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition and have only shared them in Steemit.

I'm not a plagiarist and I would never take credit for something I didn't do myself and no worries if the gardening trail doesn't upvote it just because I formatted it differently. Cheetah would have come after me you know - nothing escapes that cat. I understand you're just doing your job but I also suggest to double check if sources have been really cited or not. Thanks

@haphazard-hstead I can't edit the longer reply so I wrote it here
click on the blued "seeds" above the picture of the seeds and you'll find its source. This is the 2nd time you've come to me on this and last time I have also explained it.
I always cite sources when something I posted isn't mine but I think it's up to me how to do it. Most of the blued words in my posts are sources, not all of them but most of them. I always back up my posts with sources even though they are actually all just out of my head and own experiences because it's better to have a back up source than not.

Here is the issue. I went to the source. But the source is copyrighted. That means there is not a license for anyone to use it, unless they have permission. So you would have to provide that permission in your post. If the source was to a public domain image, there is no problem. If the source has a Creative Commons license, then how the image is used, and how the source is cited, depends on the specific license. Some Creative Commons licenses require Attribution -- so you have to list the photographer and provide a link to the license. Other Creative Commons licenses are Share-Alike, so you have to put a license on your work that allows others to use your work with the same license. Other Creative Commons licenses limit the use to Non-commercial uses, meaning you could not get earnings from the post. So my issue is not the link to the source - but the source you linked to prohibited you from using the image without permission. I don't mean to be difficult about it, but for the curation, that is what we struggle with. The best sources for images that are not your own are (1) public domain, (2) Creative Commons images where you follow their citation requirements and use limitations.

@haphazard-hstead you could also just tell me to replace the picture or remove it. Its also possible that I just chose that because it's a clear picture.

To end this, I just edited this post and removed the picture. My original transcript didn't have it but since I posted a pic of the seed of the forget me nots I've decided to post a pic of the seeds of the phacelia as well - I cited sources so I thought that's enough. About whether I should ask permission or not - that I wasn't aware of cause I just chose that pic since it was clear, I could also just choose whatever shit pics of the seed right? Except for I didn't want to. Anyway, to end this I just removed it and edited my post but thank you.

@englishtchrivy - So many other people here on Steemit are using other images in violation of copyright or licenses. My purpose in curating for the @gardening-trail is to build community around gardening topics -- not to nag people or be a copyright lawyer. I will not bother you about any use of images, or how you source your images again, for sure! Seeing people misuse images is a stressful part of curating for SteemTrail, but ensuring that only original images, public domain images, or appropriately licensed images are used is not worth losing friendships or increasing stress for others. I will reduce my stress level, too, by letting anyone use any images, in any way, from here on out. Steem on!

@haphazard-hstead I appreciate you and your curating. If your intent is for the good of the community why stop?

My only suggestion is just give the people a benefit of the doubt - it's possible they didn't know something or see something that you do. When you came to me yesterday, I thought it was just cause I formatted my sources differently. I totally didn't get your point at all.

On your 2nd reply you said many things I didn't understand much - it didn't help me. I just got more confused so I went back to the source and check maybe I violated something , thinking maybe you saw something different from what I saw. However, I just saw the same thing I saw when I clicked on the page of that picture. There's no restriction on using that pic - that's what I saw but I thought - like a double tipped board marker - one with a head of black and red on the other maybe I'm just seeing red and you're seeing black. I don't like arguing so I just removed that - it's just a picture anyway. What's the point? Maybe you're just trying to save my ass right?

However, I suggest that you just tell the author you are curating what you saw and suggest what to do - we don't know it all you know - and I am not an exception. Just keep it simple - everything here is written so don't take it personally.

Since you sounded like you were in a "rebuttal" mood on your 2nd reply yesterday and I wasn't sure I could calm myself - I just went to one of your colleague in the chat to ask what on earth did I do wrong and how to fix it - I got a good advice and I used it on my next post. Don't worry - it's just the net, we don't see each other's expression nor see exactly how we feel - so let's not take it personally. Perhaps, next time, just go straight to the point. Had you just told me - please replace or remove this picture because - of the reasons you enumerated - that would have been easier to understand - and a lot easier to do. Just KISS it.

EDIT:

So many other people here on Steemit are using other images in violation of copyright or licenses.

go after them, including me - if you see I also did - no one's an exception but perhaps like cheetah - give people the benefit of the doubt - specially newbies, when I was new here I don't know many things am already here for quite some time and I still don't know many things. However, you should know where I stand when it comes to plagiarism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45