Addressing Some Bullshit I am Seeing on Steemit.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #flags7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday one of our loyal Steemians @JaimeWilliam was flagged for the some of the most bizarre reasons I have ever seen. Watching the way people are operating on Steemit is the equivalent of a pack of Bullies roaming around on the Steemit platform. So now you can't use the Polish tag for a post that is 100% about the Polish language? Are you kidding me? See the post here Learn Polish for free with Beata Aleksiejuk - Interview - My guest

2017-11-21 10_17_43-Learn Polish for free with Beata Aleksiejuk - Interview - My guest — Steemit.png

Then an embeddable Youtube video can't be used without permission! Once again, are you kidding me. This is social media. So you are saying I can't post someone else video on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Medium, Steemit, Google Plus or any other network without asking permission?

I have seen the same crap happen in the Spanish community as well. A few people are letting their group power wreck the community for other users. Guess what kids? I used the Polish tag in this post! Unlike @JaimeWilliam I don't back down from intimidation.

polish-content-steemit-flag.png

Sort:  

So I guess there is no place for non-English communities on this platform since everybody can use "community tag" and spam it the way they want? How we - Polish people - can use Steem with Polish content?

And the thing with YouTube movie... I guess you upvote every copied text from around the internet on Steemit? It's out there in the open - so you can simply copy, paste and earn on it. Do you even care about original authors?

And BTW: this post is not with Polish content so you are simply a tag spammer.

And the post is also not #spanish.

He doesn't care about language communities and he doesn't understand the need for that. Maybe Steem is only for people speaking English?

One solution could be a change in Tagging ( polish to Poland ), then the article would be about "Poland" which also can lead to misunderstandings . :/

But in this particuIar case I have to say that I dont like articles with links ; videos,etc from other people even if they try to help them out..(then there could be a option build on steem that all payouts automatically goes to the "promoted Person" otherwise it seems weird that the Person who post a link get (more) paid than the actual owner and creator of the "real content"

@lukmarcus - I have posted in the Polish section without using Polish language before and got a warning. I think this would be the best thing to do in future, rather than react with instant flag. For repeat offenders, no problem - flag away!

I appreciate your point about wanting a place for exclusively Polish language, and even though Polish is not my native tongue (and a bloody difficult language!), when I post about Poland using Polish tag, I make an effort to translate my words.

A (pedantic) suggestion to avoid this in the future: you could always transition the tag to Polski, as foreigners are unlikely to use this, and it would avoid any ambiguity as it is in factreal Polish ;P I know this is what happened with the tag Deutsch - any non-German language posts are politely requested to use the tag Germany instead.

Pozdrawiam!

But I always take the flag off when user remove #polish tag! That's the only way people would listen. And as I said in another comment:

If you had English posts about Poland why did you post it under #polish and not #poland?

What tag should be used by Russian, Korean or Chinese?

We seem to be talking across two reply threads, which is a bit confusing, but I like chaos, so im gonna run with it!

When I made the mistake of tagging Polish and not writing in Polish, you just gave a warning with explanation of the policy, and that was fine. I think flagging for the first offence is an over-reaction and a bit unwelcoming & unnecessary, especially as most users on here are keen not to upset and people and will play by the rules.

When you click flag icon you can see such pop up.

So 2nd point Fraud or Plagiarism - in some way OP will earn on posting not his work.
4th point Intentional miss-categorized content. Polish is reserved for written in polish language content simple as that. He was unflaged after he changed tags. If you dont know what is under particular tag check it(Before OP can make requests, must fulfill his duties) .
I dont know if i can explain it more easily.

Wrong, the post was about the Polish language. Tags don't belong to anybody. If you are new to blogging I would understand this but seriously is I tag Polish in my article and it is written in English as long as there is something about the Polish language in the article it is perfect. This is from Wordpress the premiere blogging platform https://en.support.wordpress.com/posts/categories-vs-tags/

I'd rather say that a type of content on a specific tag is some kind of social contract that provides social order. If people start using tags as they wish without even wondering what type of content should be there, we will have a really big mess - so tags would become useless.

Exactly, a well-maintained tag like #polish add's value to this tag.

You are wrong. There are no categories on Steemit and no language community portals. Tags are the only option to keep languages together.

@hilarski

Please make yourself familliar with following article:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@schattenjaeger/if-you-accept-the-upvotes-you-really-need-to-accept-the-downvotes

Dovn and upvoting is true aspect of freedom of the word here.

You can be upvoted and downvoted by fellow Steemers as they please and you should be prepared for that if you decide to use Steemit.

Lastly , it's not like @lukmarcus deleted @JaimeWilliam's content.

Adn if you disargee with @lukmarcus, you can always help your friend by upvoting his post, no problem there.

I really fail to see what all the fuss is about.

Hey Randy, you were one of the people i wanted to say hi along with Ana but you were always surrounded by a lot of people the few times a saw you! I wish we could have spoken over at Lisbon!

Hey i read the post and agree with the use of language tags you expose here. On the other side, would you care to explain the wreck of the spanish community you are speaking about?

Voting own comment for visibility as there is a lot of comments here.

More than once their have been flags used in the Spanish community inappropriately. Since my wife is one of the big users of that tag she gets to see it first hand.

The tags do not have an owner, and the use of language is not only for the natives. My job outside of steemit is to spread, interview people who educate. In this particular case the tag "polish" is to learn that language and spread a culture.
Naturally my job is to contact the person who gives me the facilities and answers the interview.

For one person I do not stop admiring the Polish culture. I will continue spreading the talent of young people in steemit and in my magazine. My work is original.

Thanks to steemit the personal brands (branding) of other people can be known and spread.

Thank you @hilarski for defending the freedom of expression and be attentive to those who believe they own the labels for money and form their groups to harm or level up effortlessly. I know there are many people who have been mistreated and this is just one example of these abuses.

Seems like this situation is gonna be the trending topic on the days to come! Just Sick!

Yeah, try posting anything positive about BitConnect, and the bullies will be on you in seconds.

I learned to avoid the human and bot bullies alike here on Steemit, by just simply avoiding certain tags.

I know it's not what you guys want hear, but it has worked for me so far.

This is not a fair, free society and free languages!!! @hilarski

at least the flagger has only 3k steempower... not really significant tbh

A flag is a flag and it never feels good no matter the size.

And tag spamming is tag spamming. Like your post here.

Seriously? This place is starting to worry me @hilarski... how can you have a serious "social content" site of you have people going around practicing "flag terrorism" on others. The entire point of social media (or so I thought... or maybe I just negatively hallucinated almost 20 years of using it!?!?) is the hope that someone will pick up your content, spread it around and help it go viral. Now we have to worry about the tag/flag police? Thanks for letting your voice be heard on this....

You are Absolutely right at these points! I agree
You called it social media platform, That's why people were/are sharing their short contents like jokes/photos etc normally as they share on other social medias. And here comes another group of people flagging every such posts stating shitty reasons like less content/no text/high rewards etc. If those were really the cases then they should have called it a content sharing platform/blogging platform, set some rules about content length,type,quality etc and run that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49