Ladies and Gentlemen, welcome to Steemit "FLAG show"!!

in #flagging7 years ago (edited)

flag war.jpg


This is war, my friends...

We may call it "flag war" or "downvote battle" but the results are the same.

I ever think that flag was an instrument used to hang users for misbehaviour or contrary to steemit etiquette like spam or plagiarism but now I find out that it could be used to express a negative opinion on content. I don't agree at all.

At this point whoever can mask an antipathy toward another user downvoting his content like expression of a negative opinion.

Where I come from, if you don't like something don't you do it.. when you don't like a book never read it..
Certainly you don't asking for my money back for the book, you'll try your best to write a bad review, that's your right.
I believe that the same principle could be used here in steemit community, without having the necessity to downvote a post to express a negative opinion on it. You have a negative opinion on a post? Write a bad comment, nothing else. I think it's a shame same as downvote.

We have to consider that to flag/downvote a post users lost some of his Voting Power, the same that they could use to upvote some good posts, with the characteristics of originality and quality.

positivo.jpg

POSITIVE USE OF SP instead of NEGATIVE USE OF IT


One thing really amazes me in all this situation: the battle sees as participants users with high SP.. they should be the first to protect STEEMIT community of these situations. .
And that's because they are those who have more to loose in this war..

In fact STEEM PRICE is closely linked to steemit community; this is what separates us from other cryptocurrency .. our bulwark, our innovation.. If our community become to suffer from this issues, there is no future for STEEM.

STEEM PRICE is falling down lately. We need initiatives like UTOPIAN-IO (thanks to @elear an all friends who work on it) or STEEMBAY ( @steembay ) that leading out STEEM from steemit community. If steem remains closed in our community the only link with the outside world it is only through other cryptos, which is not good.

I really don't want to be long-winded, therefore - and I will finish here my friends - i give you few things to think about. Comment with your view, thanks.


photo source 1, 2 , 3

gif-coda.gif

Sort:  

A downvote with a related comment pointing out that the original posting is considered spam and is unwelcome would be a good starting step. If that did not work, another S P A M! post with attention-getting graphics and a warning that "you gonna get a dreaded flag if you keep this up" would justify a flag on subsequent occurrences.

Thanks for your comment. Before flagging a comment, i take a look to spammer comment page to see if his comment is a "copy/pasta" then i downvote it. I've to refine something but my fight against spammers continue..

I've actually spent the last few hours commenting on this matter I've stated my principles several times. https://steemit.com/@vimukthi/comments
I'm going to take a break now. Feel free to comment on my comments. I will reply eventually.

I saw your comments reading the same post and I agree with your point of view on this.

I also had a very interesting discussion on this post few days before all this started unfolding:https://steemit.com/steemit/@skeptic/the-steemit-issues-arguments-from-the-other-side-part-1-censorship

It's a bit long and heated discussion. Maybe you can add few things to it. I was reminded of this because of a reply I got. I was told by a witness that many of these issues can be solved with SMT. But those are not really protocol level stuff. SMTs will still depend on steemit. But I think it'll be a good start.

It's a long reading, later today I'll look at it ;-)

POSITIVE USE OF SP instead of NEGATIVE USE OF IT... LoL , like you really mean it.

BE AWARE...
No SPAM!
banner.gifThis COMMENT has been DOWNVOTED by @miti for its content. I'm not a BOT and my aim is to clear posts by trolls and spammers. Want to support me? Upvote this comment, delegate SP to me or make a donation. I need more Steem Power to clean as many posts as possible. Thanks!

For more info contact me in steemit chat or CLICK HERE

How stupid are people :(

Yes.. I think it's most important to fight this kind of battle rather than to downvote a post to express a negative opinion on it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44