FIX IT FRIDAY - Photo Games Week 4, Game 3 (WooHoo, I'm still a guest Photo Star!)

in #fixitfriday6 years ago

2 SBD Prize from each Photo Game Star’s post! - Fix It Friday - edit my photo!

Rules for today's Fix It Friday game below.

But first... You still have most of today to play "Where is it Wednesday"

For both games check out the #photogames feed or go straight to the Blogs of this week's Photo Stars: @derekkind, @caseygrimley, @jarvie, @snooway, @intrepidphotos, and @scottshots

_Q1A3408 copy.jpg
click to view large

Link to a RAW file
Link to Large JPG
(These links download the images from my website, the links will work for the next 72 hours.)

ABOUT THE PHOTO

This is Rainbow Bridge, also know as Old Hwy 40 Bridge. Donner Lake and Truckee, California are hiding under the inversion clouds. This is about 15 minutes from my house so I have many photos of this bridge, but this sunrise shot is one of my favorites. Photographed with a Canon 5Dsr, the RAW file is a 50.6 megapixel file, shot with an ISO of 50. There is a ton of detail that doesn't show up unless you work with the image, I would suggest using the RAW file if you can. Have fun! Looking forward to seeing what you do!

RULES & HOW TO PLAY

For Fix It Friday we would like you to share an EDIT of our picture

  1. Download the RAW file or the FULL SIZE JPG
  2. Edit the picture
  3. Post your version in the comments
  4. Remember that you’re appealing to the Photo Star who posted the photo
    THEN...
  5. Feel free to make your own blog post… but be sure to post the image in the comments as well.
    (We love giving you opportunities to create blog posts for your following)
  6. The “Photo Star” will select their favorite edit
    (They may choose even more than one to show off or award, it is up to them)
  7. Deadline is Sunday at 6PM EST / 11PM UTC
  8. Only one entry per person, per post
  9. @PhotoGames will do a results post
    (However the Photo Star will usually pick the winners in the comments of their post)

THE PRIZE = 2 SBD from each Photo Game Star’s post

TOTAL PRIZE POOL = 12SBD

PHOTO STARS THIS WEEK

@caseygrimley
@jarvie
@derekkind
@snooway
@intrepidphotos
@scottshots
Go to these profiles to find their posts and pictures for #FixItFriday


NEW TO THE PHOTOGAMES??

Introduction to The Photo Games Post.

Sort:  

Here is my take. I tried to do something about the blown out horizon, but that did not work out - so instead the highlights are a bit brighter to (hopefully) have a smoother transition

_Q1A3408.jpg

Still looks great, thank you!

I think you've framed this just right, so I didn't do any cropping. When I brighten the shadows and saw the snow, I tried to make it look as cold as possible.

_Q1A3408-Edit.jpg

Looks great and that does look cold. Thank you!

Reallt beautiful photo. Just a slight edit.

fix it 3.jpg

Thank you @snooway! Looks good!

That 16mm lens sure does bend the trees. I gave up on trying to straighten them.

scottshots.jpg

https://steemit.com/photogames/@smawkward/my-edits-for-photogames-fixitfriday-week-4

Haha yeah, it's a tough call sometimes. Composition vs straight verticals... But this crop and edit look great, thank you!

Dang, looking through these edits, it looks like you have a ton of great submissions! Here is mine. That sunset was amazing, and the bridge, and the fog down under the bridge area. Awesome shot!!

_Q1A3408-2.jpg

Dang is right. How am I supposed to choose! So many great edits. Nice work. And thank you!

My photostar submission.

I did provide my tips for each of the photostar pictures in a recent post if you all are interested in my take.

Thanks @jarvie! I'm really enjoying the fix it Friday game. It's so cool to see so many different takes on my shot, and the other shots too. But it's going to be hard to pick a winner...

I put myself in the scene and asked I've got my wide shot, what would I shoot next, and my answer was to shoot with my 70-200 (which I do quite often) and find a different scene. I noticed this was shot with the Canon 5DSR so I went crazy with the cropping and find this micro scene with the fog over the valley underneath the bridge. We'll pretend it's shot at around 70mm. ;)
scottshots-week4.jpg
click to view large

Again, tough call. The photo stars are obviously all great at editing images. But I like the creative crop and the colors of this one. Photo Star WINNER = @caseygrimely!!! Thank you Casey!

Smart Casey. I do like that crop. And I'm proud of my little 5Dsr that it can handle this tight of a crop and still look good. Thank you!

Thanks Scott!!

This is my edit for this shot. I created two different versions while editing, but at the end I decided to keep this one because the colours are colder and I think they fit better with the original image.

asgarth

Post with this shot and the edit for @jarvie is here

Yup, nailed it with the cold look. I'm now remembering how cold it was up there... Nice work, thank you for the edit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48