Fitness Challenge Update : Bugging Out

in #fitnesschallenge6 years ago (edited)

It is with a heavy heart that I am withdrawing from the Fitness Challenge organised by @phelimint. There is a bit of an intentional pun there even though I probably should not joke about it. I flagged Last Update that my resting heart rate was abnormally high and when I started getting weird chest pains over the last couple of weeks I thought I better get checked out.

heavyheart.jpg
Source

I have a family history of having heart problems and while in my youth I was a bit more carefree (and reckless) now that I’m middle aged I’ve decided I really want to stick around long enough to see my young family grow up. I also really want to see how this Crypto Revolution unfolds because it’s the most exciting thing I’ve seen in decades. Sometimes it just pays to play the long game and be sensible.

longgame.png
Source

When I saw my doctor to fill him in on my recent issues, I also told him that I’d been going to the gym and regularly pushing my heart rate up into the high 180s for over a year now. His response was a surprised and concerned “That is above the theoretical maximum for your age” and he promptly sent me off for some tests. So among other things I have had this Holter Monitor thing strapped to my body for over 24 hours with sticky tape and I haven’t been able to shower! Pewww!

pew.jpg
Source

I’d have taken some photos but I don’t want to gross people out with my unattractive body shape (yes, men can have body image issues too!) so I’ll just grab a generic photo to show you what this thing looks like without all the sticky tape. Without going into too much detail it also involved a bit of shaving to get the things attached so now that it’s removed I’ve got a few “Crop Circles” to grow out. Fun times!

holter.jpg
Source

Anyway, I haven’t got the results yet but I’m not too worried. It is probably a combination of too much caffeine, reflux and/or anxiety but I’ll hopefully find out later in the week. Then a couple of days later I am heading off on holidays for 10 days where my wife is pretty insistent that I take a break because I've been red-lining pretty hard since 2018 started. All up I think it’s pretty safe to say that I have ZERO chance of hitting my goals before March.

redline.PNG
Source

While it feels like a failure I know I can have another crack at getting fit when I get back but for now I’ll just have to turn cheerleader and clap for those who are still taking the challenge head on.

I wish you all the best with hitting your targets!

Go you good things!


TeamAust_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://yetanotherbitterinfertile.wordpress.com
http://www.keepcalmandposters.com
http://healthproper.com
https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org
http://www.crossfitviccity.com

Sort:  

Can't ever be to fit.

Dang man thanks for the personal read. How old are you if you don't mind me asking? Both my dad and grandpa have had heart surgeries in their 50s and 60s. I'm obsessed with working out and caffeine, but I feel this will only last in the short term :(

I'm 45 which is too young to be having heart problems in my opinion, but it can happen.

never give up and you will remain fit always

Bit a family history of having heart problems.

It's hard enough to try to get back into shape without potential health issues getting in the way. I'm in agreement with the other sentiments here. Better to know what's going on and therefore know what to expect/do, rather than not knowing and winding up worse for it.

The world of fitness will be around. Just make sure you're around for it.

Was that an order? It kind of sounded like an order.

And just for the record, does this mean the guy named buggedout has indeed buggedout?

Thanks. It does mean that I have lived up to my name in a kind of negative way. I'm treating it as just a small setback though.

I wish you all the best in this. Your positive attitude will go a long way toward healing/recovery/normalizing (or whatever it is you actually need to do). No need to think of it in any other terms than a small setback, right?

Thanks. I appreciate your well wishes :)

While it feels like a failure I know I can have another crack at getting fit when I get back

It's not totally a failure, during your resting you can try to eat healthy. also natural herbs like ginger, garlic, etc, can help blood flow. wish you well in your recovery.

Good point. Love a bit of garlic so now I have an excuse to dose up ;)

good luck to you men

Keep healthy man. Really it's not the exercise, it's what you eat. Just do moderate workout like a walk. A good 140 BPM average is good for half hour a day. 180BPM? U crazy...

I have always played sports and pushed my BPM up. Just thought it was normal and it's not like you can start bludging in the middle of a match just because you're gassed :)

Maybe I just have a fast ticker. Will find out soon.

That's true, well, hoping for the best. I just sub myself out, ahahaha.

It shouldn't feel like a failure! I think it's good that you're taking care of yourself - it's very important to be healthy and if you have to stop doing sports for it then that's your way to be healthy! Take care! :)

Yikes. That doesn't sound good. Glad you're ok at the moment though and enjoy your R&R.

I'm sure it is fine and my doctor is just being over-cautious. Still, it might give me a good excuse to kick my feet up on holidays ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51