10 Hours of Hard Labor On My Birthday - Haven't had a 'Day job' Since 2009 (and I found some agates) - 100 Reps - Day 88 - 6/19/18

in #fitnesschallenge6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0319scaled.JPG

Day 88 completing the #fitnesschallenge by @steemmatt! It's been too long but I enjoyed my freedom! It was time to join the work force. This won't stop me from doing regular reps, but I think if you're doing hard labor, your reps are already done!

Just the other day I was offered a job and I had to take the offer because I know I need money and there's no way I'm cashing out any of my cryptocurrency. So I started this morning at 7:30am and boy did it kick my ass. I even got blisters on my big toe. This is what working hard feels like? I'd rather go back to blogging! It wasn't even a hard day. Everyone said this day wasn't normal and we usually work harder. It's a concrete service, but there was a delay at the job site so we did shop work. Unloading used work trucks and resorting them and prepared them for a new job as well as loaded a trailer with a bunch of wood and foam for a job they're doing. Very construction, very wow. I am not a construction guy at all, so this is very new to me. Having said that, I know I needed proper rest for my first day so I did just that! With this new job, it'll be much harder making posts but I think I can handle some fitness posts while I work out a new posting schedule!

  • Longest streak: 25 days
  • Last Streak: 13 days
  • Current Streak: 1 day
  • Skipped Days: 10

DSC_0318scaled.JPG

Didn't get many pictures today but this morning the clouds looked amazing!

The Challenge:

At least 100 honest reps of exercise every day. No excuses. No bullsh*t. Just actions, positivity, and results. Only post AFTER your reps are done. Always support each other. (Currently on Pause, find out why with a much needed decision to pause the challenge for a few days.

Find a challenge post here with the old rules and conditions so you can get warmed up and ready for participation for when the new guidelines are released.

In the mean time

I also want to tell you about the #50squatchallenge and the #50pushupchallenge by @notorious562! 50 easy squats and pushups every day! I'm doing 50 squats daily now so I've decided to participate in that as well. So this is also my completion of both!

My Daily Challenge Completed.

6-19-18fitnesschallenge.JPG

Today was not a normal rep day by any means, but with all the cranking lifting shoveling pushing walking squating I did, I lost count after 100 reps, so I just called it 100 reps because it's work. It wasn't easy work by any means and I am definitely feeling it. So after 10 hours of work I came home exhausted, a lot more exhausted than 50 pushups and airsquats will ever do but tomorrow I will try to do them. Even if this wouldn't qualify my completion, I know I had an intense workout today for someone who hasn't done any labor jobs in many, many years!

This is actually a pretty good job for a #rockhound and amateur photographer like myself because there's always rocks littering job sites so I looked and found a few! There's also tons of pictures to take! Unfortunately, I'm not going to carry my Nikon around my neck while doing heavy work, that would be very inefficient but I was able to snap a few pictures this morning (above). I found quite a few agates, a lava rock and what I believe to be a super dark smokey quartz. It's extremely shiny on two sides and is so thick that it won't glow much, but the edges that do glow look awesome! Some of them are a bit small, but when the sun shines down and the red glow of an agate smacks you in the face, you can't help but to squat and pick it up!

DSC_0339scaled.JPG

When I finished work it was 5 pm. Being as exhausted as I was, I went to bed as soon as I could which wasn't until around 9. By 1:30 AM my business line was ringing. "Great", I thought. This is what I signed up to though. Day job and run my business 8pm to 4am. My helper fell asleep so I had to use a taxi and I had two runs back to back so I made an additional $30. I was going to skip this entirely so long as the phone didn't ring but since I'm up, I may as well Steemit!

Hard Labor @ my new job! Squating, lifting, holding, cranking, unloading, loading!

  • 10 hours

Total rep count: 100

Yesterday's Reps

skip day
The Day Before - 100

Cumulative Tally

17,900 Reps

Meals

This morning I made myself two egg sandwiches before work. I knew I was going to need it! Thankfully I was able to hold off until lunch. I wasn't sure what was going to come of lunch. Around 11:30 I hear the boss on the phone "Stop and get 5 KFC Chicken Bowls"

Guess what I instantly started doing? I started counting heads! 1....2...3....4....sweeeeet. I am number 5. I think I'm number 5. I better be number 5! I was pretty happy that the boss paid for lunch. Is this every day? I really, really hope so. Free meals are awesome. So lunch was a tasty KFC Chicken bowl and a cookie. To be honest, it wasn't enough, but it was just enough so as to not give me a food coma. By 4 PM I was absolutely starving again and I wasn't done til 5. What a day! I felt weird snapping a picture of my food so I skipped it. Maybe I'll overcome that weirdness and let'em think what they want.

The wife knew I was tired and hungry so when I got home she fixes us up a breakfast dinner. A big Sausage, Egg & Cheese Burrito with a pancake. It felt good to lay down with a full stomach!

6-19-18din.JPG
6-19-18din2.JPG

Thanks for reading! Don't forget I'm doing a SteemMonsters giveaway!

My Motivation

Replacing my smoking habit with exercise! After going 18 full days without cigarettes I caved because of stress. Since it's still not quite been 24 hours since I've had a cigarette, I'm not going to say it's been a full day yet. Starting this job was a very difficult transition so it's been very stress inducing. I will try not to have any cigarettes today!

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg


Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes!
Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

Happy Birthday!
What a day you had. I think it would be very difficult to do labor if you haven't in a while and you are doing great. I'm sure having being doing the exercises you have really helped. Imagine if you had been a couch potato this whole time how hard it would be.
Nice rocks. Construction site has to have a ton what a distraction.
Glad your wife came through with a comfort and filling meal :)

If I had been a couch potato this whole time I would have been absolutely destroyed. I wouldn't be awake right now. I'm only a little sore not annihilated. I feel it more in my legs / joints though. Need potassium this morning with my breakfast. I'm basically still awake from my 1:30 am wake-up call so that means I'm up 5 hours before work so I'm in for another long day.

Rest well! You can do it! Thankfully it's just a temp job and the money will really relieve a lot of stress probably.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 34 SBD worth and should receive 157 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56