Before And After Pics From My First 21 Days Of Exercise - Post Injury (Gulp...)

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

To keep me motivated and accountable for my goals, this is a preliminary set of before & after shots.

(Well, I hope it looks like an after shot after only 3 weeks.)

This spans 19 workouts in 21 days. No editing, and I'm not flexing besides generally tensing up.

I don't take any supplements whatsoever outside of a few protein bars. Nothing but natural resources and effort.

*I'd like to take this moment to address that I hate my bathroom tiles and lighting. Also, the thought of posting any form of selfie is semi-sacrilegious to my beliefs, but I needed to do this.

I've taken 2 days off in these 3 weeks. One by accident because I got stuck at a bar watching 2 NFL playoff games with my friends, and the other because my entire body said not a f'in chance because every muscle was burned out.


I'd like to point out that I'm recovering from a bad biceps tendon/shoulder tear since early Nov, where I didn't exercise since my SteemFest hotel room (minus appeasing my brother to tag along to his gym twice over Xmas to do physical therapy).

Regardless, per the pics, I hadn't been to my gym in 714 days prior to Jan 1.

My focus since the New Year has been on rehabbing my shoulder, which was popping and painful with almost every lateral or front raise movement for the first week at the gym. I can take pain, but it was pretty bad for Nov and Dec, a very annoying "stop moving immediately or else it's going to rip" pain.

Once it felt stable enough for exercise in Jan, the workouts have accelerated the pain reduction and healing. I thought it'd be a 6-month ordeal right up to my baseball season, so I'm relieved (knock on wood).

I've been eating very well and have barely cheated with unhealthy food. I'm eating a lot of protein and virtually no sugar except raw honey. I've never had coffee before, and haven't had soda or energy drinks in 5+ years, so this is my boost. I've mainly been eating chicken, eggs, tuna and vegetables. I also have a few protein bars when on the go. I'm slacking on the fruit. I only use olive oil, sea salt, and organic natural ketchup when I cook. Lastly, I drink water, almond/cashew/pea milk, coconut water and kombucha tea. Can't think of anything else except a few Guinnesses because I'm human.

At one point I was down about 4-5 pounds, but I may have put that back on. I'm usually in the 204-208 LB range. I don't care are long as I keep getting stronger, faster, and more agile. I still have 2-3 months before I can lift normally without worry, but I'm on the right track.

I've been doing lots of speed bag, box jumps, battle ropes, rope pull machine, and core/trunk work to get ready for my baseball season. I always have a power bat, so I want to increase my arm and foot speed to turn back the clock. I don't really do cardio, but will start rowing soon. I've also focused on shoulder-to-hip separation drills to look like the weird guy that cares too much about softball, but they don't know I'm a starting pitcher on my baseball team.


I think my best gains are in my arms (can't see), lats and core because I've had to go easy on the other upper body areas. Hopefully the next update will be more balanced. My endurance is rising and I'm also sleeping better.

Fun fact 1: I've only lifted in the morning twice in my life (maybe 3). I prefer the 6 PM - 11 PM slot.

Fun fact 2: every set I've done in these 3 weeks has been of either 11, 22, or 33 reps. If I do anything timed, it's for 1:11, 2:22 or 3:33. This has helped me immensely by setting and hitting a small consistent target, no matter the weight or activity. If I didn't do this, I'm 100% sure I'd have done a lot less work because I didn't have anything to strive for per exercise.


That's all for now. Nothing drastic or crazy, but it's only been 3 weeks and I can feel a huge difference.

I also wanted to throw this up to motivate me to work harder. I have no one to compete with but myself right now, so this post pisses me off to do more. I'll be doing my workout at home now before going outside to find free stuff to sell.

Oh, and here's a shout out to the #fitnesschallenge crew. @rmsbodybuilding, take it easy on me.

Anyone else on a fitness kick for the New Year?

See you in a few weeks.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

You are a LEGEND. Thank you very much.

Dude you're making some progress. I need to get my act together. I'm way overweight and should really get to around 200-210lbs but sit at about 280 right now. I should start a woodman fitness routine to finally achieve my viking warlord image goal.

Posted using Partiko Android

Trade me just half of your Viking Warlord beard and I'll take 15 of your pounds. That should get you well on your way and add 30 more feet to my home runs.

Thanks for the comment. I'm lucky with a good metabolism, but readily admit that this makes me lethargic about pushing myself hard without some type of challenge or competition involved.

Imagining a Viking with their battle axe, I often wish I could chop wood or sledge hammer a tire. That type of activity would be infinitely fun and perfect for baseball.

If it helps, every time you post or reply, try to do 10-20 reps of something. The first step is always the hardest because it implies a huge commitment after, but just think of it as 10-20 reps and a momentum builder.

Haha, hell yeah bro! It just takes commitment for the beard :) That sounds like a fun arrangement. I'll take you up on that, I'll get some push-ups and firewood chopping reps started. Also gotta cut out the flapjacks lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Right on, brother! Nice!

If you're up for it, give "Keto" in concert with daily intermittent fasting a go and you'll be amazed at the speed in which progress is made, and how incredibly awesome you'll feel. Ease into it slowly though... Get your body fat-adapted first before introducing any sort of fasting.

Looking forward to your next update, Matt!

I was able to cut beer and fruit, because of the high sugar. But I don't drink so it was easy:) good on you for trying!

I barely drink, but go appreciate 1-3 Guinesses here and there to relax and be social. It's a pretty decent beer with only 125 calories/9g carbs per serving, so not much guilt. I don't eat much fruit, which is good for less sugar, but I feel not so great for the lack of other nutrients/antioxidants. How do you handle supplement that in your diet. The most common I'll have are bananas and plantains.

Compared to 100 grams of orange which is 53 mg. All essential nutrients can be found in animal products.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Now that I'm exposed, I really have to bust my ass for the next one. Only one direction to move now!

I can surely see some visible differences in between the two pictures. The result is showing visibly

Thanks for your encouragement. It's a good starting point on the right track for now. I'm limited in what I can do as I heal, but eager to get more results.

It looks perfect for me, you don't need even to workout.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52