introduceyourself - Sam Fitness

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

"Don't Compare yourself to others, compare yourself to who you were yesterday"

Hi. I'm SamFitness, a 20 year old student. I'm a big believer in leading a healthy life. I have been following a strict workout routine and diet for just over 1 year now. Currently I feel I've learned enough to start sharing my fitness, strength, and fat loss knowledge with a wider community, as I feel my experience and dedication can help benefit many others starting (or already on) their fitness journey. But more on this later, first, lets wind the clock back 1 year.

It was January 29th 2017 and I'd just arrived in Heathrow Airport, deboarding a flight back from Los Angeles. I'd been to the USA with 2 friends for a fortnight. We'd consumed almost entirely McDonalds, Cola, Alcohol, and Cigarettes while we were out there. I'd just spent 2 weeks doing exactly what I wanted to do, eating and drinking exactly what I wanted, and how did I feel? Awful. Never before in my life had I felt so empty and unfulfilled. I like to think of this as my introspective realization that my life was in a state of chaos. Something had to change and change quickly.

At this point, I was 17 Stone (at 6'2) at about 25% body fat. I never felt "fat" and was never too self conscious, I'd happily be topless among strangers and did not feel guilty for over eating. But I knew I had to lose weight, I'd been putting it off for around 4 years (since I was 14) and this was finally my time. My diet was the first thing that changed.
Using a simple calorie counting technique where I rounded to the nearest 100cal, kept calories at 2300-ish and by slightly limiting my daily carbohydrate intake, I lost 2 stone in 2 months. This weight loss then plateaued, and I knew why. There are 2 parts to weight control, diet, and exercise. I'd been going to the gym, 2 or 3 days a week for the last few years, but my routine was non existent. I focused instead on what I liked doing (Bench Pressing, Curling). This too, now had to change.

Me in the USA :
IMG_20170131_161839.jpg

Day one of a new diet :
Snapchat-1836391385.jpg

After browsing the web and deciding results were needed quickly, regardless of how hard I'd be pushing myself, I decided to go to the gym every day. My routine looked like this : "Biceps/Back, Legs, Chest/Triceps, Shoulders, Biceps/Back, Cardio, Chest/Triceps". This was a 7 day routine that I followed for just over 3 months. Alot changed.
My strength increased a lot, all my personal records were being beaten each month and progress continued to advance. One thing that I didn't expect though, was that I would look smaller in the arms and chest. Despite gaining strength, I looked smaller. This was just part of the leaning out process, so if this happens to you, do not worry. When your arms look smaller, they may have more muscle than ever before, yet also less fat. Leaner arms are a positive, just not when you initially notice the change. Anyway this is how I looked after 6 months of dieting and 2-3 months of following a 7 day gym routine :

Screenshot_20180422-003012_Gallery.jpg

And here's one of me clothed, arms looking noticeably smaller than previously :
Screenshot_20180422-002756_Gallery.jpg

Now if you're similar to me you'll notice on my beach picture it doesn't look like I've lost a lot of weight since day 1. Unfortunately this is a product of the lighting and the angle, as when this photo was taken I weighed 14 stone 10 lbs. I was not happy with how I looked in this picture but it is the only I have of myself topless in these few months.

The next few months were slow. I changed my gym routine to 6 days a week, dropping the cardio, as I'd started cycling to and from work every day. My diet changed too, I found in order to maintain a steady weight loss of between 1-2 lbs per week, I had to continually eat less and less. It got to the point where I ate 1800-2000 calories a day, which for me was misery, as I was ALWAYS hungry. I maintained this diet and routine until late summer 2017, where things started to change again. This time, my metabolism was actually picking up (for the first time in 8 months).
Due to the muscle mass I'd been gaining at the gym, my resting calorie expenditure rose from around 2600 cal to close to 2900. This allowed me to consume more calories, as I was only aiming for 1-2 lbs of weight loss per week. The calories I then added to my diet were all in the form of quality, lean proteins, such as grilled salmon and chicken.
This new high protein diet allowed me to build muscle very quickly, all while cutting. My strength was increasing, my fitness was increasing, yet my weight continued to slowly and surely fall away. The meals I ate all through summer had consisted of : Dry Toast with Scrambled Egg (2) for breakfast, Then either a chicken sandwich or burger for lunch (I worked in a pub so ate pub sandwiches with no fries) and finally either grilled chicken or salmon on a salad for dinner. The rest of my calories I made up through snacking on fruit, nuts, crisps, and the 2 protein shakes I had each day.
From early May I'd also been on metabolic boosting tablets, but I'm not sure how effective these were as my metabolism changed 3 months after I started using these (and I no longer use them).

Heres how I looked at the end of summer :
Screenshot_20180422-005924_Gallery.jpg

And Another :
Screenshot_20180422-010001_Gallery.jpg

In these photos I weigh about 14 stone 6 lbs and 14 stone 3 lbs respectively.

In September 2017, I started University. For most people this is a fitness death sentence (65% first year students gain anywhere between 4 and 8 lbs in their first year), but I was resolute that my long journey would not be hampered by university. The campus gym is a 10 second walk from my accommodation's front door, making working out more convenient than ever. I'd also started going to the gym with a friend, meaning we kept one another motivated to work out, often early in the morning, while the rest of our flat slept in from the previous night's hangover.

The new control over my diet also proved helpful. While at home I had to try persuade my parents to buy the food I needed each week, here, at university, what I ate was entirely within my control. This lead to me developing a simple diet blueprint that I follow to this day : egg based breakfast (now 4 eggs), high protein, but small lunch (A chicken sandwich) and a larger high protein dinner based on chicken, beef, or salmon. This is supplemented with snacks and 2 daily protein shakes (one after the gym and one before bed). This meal planning has made shopping efficient and cheaper, made cooking easy, and has made the biggest difference in my physique since I started this journey over a year ago.

Here are a few photos of me taken extremely recently :

IMG_20180418_231630_998.jpg

here's my steemit profile picture :

20180421_212639.jpg

and finally a recreation of the day one picture :

Snapchat-869425715.jpg

As you can see I have changed my physique considerably in just over 1 year by following a sustainable diet, focusing on a strong gym plan, and keeping my original mantra in mind : "Don't Compare yourself to others, compare yourself to who you were yesterday".

If you are just getting started, know that this journey is much easier if you take each day as it comes. Don't compare yourself to an ideal that seems too far down the road to achieve, instead focus on sticking to your day to day goals, and before you know it, you will have surpassed your original idea of success.

I will be going into more detail on diet plans, workout routines (hypertrophy vs strength training), supplement issues, goal setting techniques, and my personal experience on changing your body in Videos and Blogs to come.

Remember, It's never too late to start this journey, so why not follow me, I will do all I can to help make this journey as fun and enriching as possible.

You too could change your body as much as you like, it is possible!

change.jpg

Thanks for reading,

SamFitness

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @samfitness! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello samfitness! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Nice content. Lot of hard work.


Welcome to Steemit @samfitness!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hey @samfitness. I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!!

Congratulations @samfitness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @samfitness, you have made a very impressive intro blog, I just put your post link in my blog, if you like it then please upvote and follow me, otherwise please comment in that post, then i will remove your link.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-8-1524437371-3635213

Congratulations @samfitness! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62