How I went from athlete to fat-ass and back, part 1

in #fitness4 years ago

It happens to a lot of people: There is a famous show called The Biggest Loser that frequently has people on the show that were Olympic athletes at one point and then could barely get out of a chair. I never let it get that far, but i did go from being around 170 lbs (77kg) to 235 lbs (106kg) and not in a "hey, look how buff I am type of way.

78322956_445517422828209_1669649372175925248_n.jpg
That's me on the right, around 165 lbs after a day of rock climbing, trekking, and swimming

I never said I was photogenic, but i was quite happy with how effortlessly I stayed trim. I know it says that I did a bunch of activities that day but this was not normal for me. While I was a serious athlete in high-school and college, i developed a bunch of habits that many college students acquire during their time there. I drank a lot and I started smoking. This did not meld too well with the 2-times-a-day soccer practice and almost certainly contributed very heavily to how i went from being a dominant high-school midfielder who would routinely score hat tricks, to a college player that barely ever got any play time.

77278270_441577526765541_1316150714489110528_n.jpg

After college I got a job like most people do, and I continued to drink beer on a regular basis. I had a monstrous metabolism because, i dunno, I just have great genes. I certainly never watched what I ate but because I was no longer going to soccer practice for 3 hours a day it was only a matter of time before my destructive lifestyle caught up with me.

By the time i was in my early 30's, I was still keeping the weight off despite the fact that I almost never exercised and I was constantly drinking beer. If i went a week without getting drunk at least twice, i must have been sick. I also ate almost exclusively fast food and started thinking that I must be some sort of super-human because I still wasn't gaining weight.

I moved to Phuket, in Thailand around the age of 27 and my job there was a semi-serious one but I still had plenty of time to get hammered almost every day because that is the way that the foreigners are there. It is a drinking scene and that's just the way it is. It appealed to me immensely and it was a big part of the reason why I decided to relocate there.

79385671_2423498341106201_3112621202376491008_n.jpg
I am quite certain that I had both a beer and a ciggie in this pic

This went on for many years and I wouldn't say that my body started to change in any sort of meaningful capacity until I hit my mid 30's.... even then it happened so gradually that it is actually because of Facebook of all things that I started to notice that I really do have a problem and was noticeably gaining (and had already gained) a LOT of weight.

I wasn't yet fat and therefore didn't do anything to change it. After all, i will still having fun, was still making money, and was still very popular on the dating scene. I saw no reason to change. Despite the evidence that was right in front of me because of FB's constant reminders of "here are your photos from XX years ago!" I was too thick-headed to do anything about it. However, as I will detail in the next edition, this would all come crashing down in just a few short years.

78755376_1481718445317999_1353854557343449088_n.jpg

I'm not really familiar with the protocol around here, but I am trying to keep each installment around 500 words or so. I only do this because I know that I wont read long articles either.... if someone would like to offer me any advice I would appreciate it

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Congratulations @normie.fitness! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88