Pushing yourself to the limit!

in #fitness7 years ago

Hey hay hey!

What's up Steemians?
It's my first bench workout in the third block and I made good on my comment about doing more intense conditioning on bench day.
Also, I did a shoulder roaster for a warm up so let's get right into it.

Warm up!

image

Trying to do this without stopping is sure to light up those delts, give this one a shot.

Working sets.

image

Since my bench numbers are fairly low, 95% is only 10 pounds below my current PR. I decided I'd better ask my wife to come spot me because I don't need to get stuck under 230lbs before work lol.
It moved sooooo slow, I'm honestly amazed I even locked it out. I got stuck just below lock out and for a split second I thought I lost it lol. Obviously I can't look like a scrub in front of my wife though, so I dug deep and got past that point and locked out.
Clearly in a powerlifting competition, this rep would be 🔴🔴🔴.
Luckily, I'm not a competitive lifter LOL.

Accessory.

image

I went back to banded bench for accessory. As you can see it says max reps, so I just go til failure, or as close to it as I'm comfortable going without a spotter.

I threw the heavy set into the video so you can see my band set up. When I eventually upgrade racks I should have band pegs so I won't have to put the band under the actual bench.

Conditioning.

image

Ok, so here's the conditioning. I'm actually kind of surprised it took 8 minutes. On paper it seemed like a good 6 minute circuit but hey it is what it is.

Count them reps!

image

CALL TO ACTION.
As usual I'm gonna suggest you join us here if you're interested in fitness, or are looking for some motivation to get started. We have a great little community going so far, everyone is extremely supportive and will make you feel right at home, and offer darn good advice if you're a beginner.

Tomorrow is squats so come back and see just how heavy I have to go in this block 😨 haha.

Ok guys, have a great day!

Sort:  

My God... light music, a dog under your arm, and a crying baby?! How on earth can you focus for bench presses of all things?

Haha! You just learn to block things out when you're a parent.

Great workout !
Decided to do some conditioning after my workouts in the future. So keep on posting and I will never run out of workout ideas :D

Haha glad to hear that man, I'll keep the workouts coming!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67