Viable Vegan Voyage, Spring break!! Woooot!

in #fitness7 years ago

A big part of my Viable Vegan Voyage is getting to my fittest ever by the age of 40!

Click here for source

I love to work out, I live to smash a weights session in my home gym. I love the feeling of leaving everything behind, when it is either focus on the lift in front of you or have your head crushed my the weight in play. The freedom from my thoughts is invigorating. The endorphin rush from an intense weights session is addictive SRC I love the feeling of strength in my body. While I was letting my body "go to the dogs" prior to my Viable vegan voyage beginning (a little bit too long in reality) I remember feeling weak and lethargic, not strong in myself. This was more than just a physical feeling, it was an emotional and mental feeling too. When I work out I get this immense surge of power through my body that can last for days.

Click here for source

Thats not me btw!

So why take a break?

Its all about recovery stupid. Well you are not stupid but you get my drift. When we are working our 3 times a week with heavy weights sessions we never properly recover. We need to give our muscle time to repair as close as possible to completely. Sure we can chow down on as much protein as possible but that is only part of the equation. Our bodies during almost every action breakdown muscle, that is the circle. We break down muscle strands during movement/ exercise and our bodies build them back up making them stronger than previous. For me taking a week off every 8 - 10 weeks gives me an edge as opposed to just heavy lifting every week of the year. Yes, i feel like crap during this week, I am tired and all I want to do is jump into the gym and do some big compound exercises like squats or dead lifts. But I must resist if I want to break through my plateaus. Just before I took my break I attained a personal best on bench and I was totally pumped! When I go back I will have lost this PB but I will quickly catch back up to is and pass through this weight. That is the benefit of my spring break!

Click here for source

Thats not me either!

Man I feel huge!

Not working our for the week leaves me feeling sluggish and like I am carrying round a literal spare tyre. I try to reduce my calorific intake on my week off and to be honest I find that it is hard to eat at all sometimes. I am rearing to go and get back into my sessions. This is another benefit of taking a week off too. My desire and will to jump back into it grows with every day. I would love if I had fully recouped from my knee injury but I still have pains and I just cant risk causing damage to the area. I am really hoping that this will not be my down fall for my voyage. I am also really looking forward to the deep sleep that I experience on my workout days. You could literally pick me up and move me to another room when I sleep on these days and I wouldn't even notice! LOL

Stay strong folks, till the next time, eat clean, lift heavy and smile!

This is the third in my Viable Vegan Voyage series. If you like you can catch up on the others below.

Part one.

Part two.

All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. Sourced images are clickable to show their source. My own images are typically taken with my HTC ONE.


LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Sort:  

Your right the difference in sleep after working out is huge especially if stressed about life.

I would be one of those people who mull over situations a million times, often I would lie in bed and go through different scenarios of things that have happened weeks or even months ago. But on nights that I have a big workout, there is no chance that I'll be awake!

Thanks for stopping by man. 😉

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

I can't believe your addiction to sport! That's a cool think in a way, your body just pushes you to work out, the same way it pushes you to eat. But this feeling fat and sluggish on rest weeks. Can it be purely psychological?

ps - are you on vegan bodybuilders sites? ;)

Its a weird one for me, I dont know if other people get it like I do but when I am not working out I totally feel like crap I feel rundown and like all I want to do is sleep. Maybe it is psychological, I cant say for sure but I dont think so, I manifest physical attributes too.

Oh no, I am not on any bodybuilding sites at all, I am nowhere near that level yet, in fact, I got a body composition scales yesterday and I did my measurements this morning. To say I am not happy is an understatement! But I have a base line now to work against. I will put the figures up in a post at some stage, but I want to get a 5 day read so I can get an average.

respect for your persistence!
what do you think might be a reason you're not happy with your results if you work out consistently?

Oh no I am happy, visually my body has changed a lot, Clothes the were somewhat loose on me are now tight (in all the right ways) I was just a bit shocked with my %'s as I haven't taken a measurement like that in over 4 years.

I like to know the figures so I know that I am working in the right direction.

Oh so true about the deep sleep! Same for me! On the days that I train, I am so DEAD, I fall asleep instantly when I pout my head on my pillow, and nothing will wake me up until 8 hours later. I love that feeling =) . Love that goal of getting being your fittest self by 40...I have the same goal

its totally true, I am just back to the gym this morning, feeling 100% on a new schedule now too. I will be working harder than before. More gym time, more food, better sleep. I am going to do everything in my power to achieve my goal.

Thanks a mill @evecab. 😉

My husband says that in his 40s he’s in the best shape of his life. He says his body is the strongest, his mind is the sharpest but it’s his bones that don’t work as he thinks they should. One of those go to sleep feeling great and wake up with a thrown out neck type things. Haha. You got this @moonunit 👍

Oh no, Thankfully I dont have that going on too! LOl, If I dont work out though this is the type of thing that I get, random weird pains etc. Just back to gym this morning on a new schedule there so I'll be working our 5 - 6 days per week to keep my body guessing.

I have to say since going Vegan I have never felt better. I dont get anywhere near the amount of issues I used to have.

Thanks @puravidaville. Really appreciate the support.

Oh now you really inspire me to start working out. I haven't done regulary in a loong time. I agree that it's so important to take a break some times and that break will allow you to be able to work harder and get even stronger. Great post =)

I might be addicted to exercise, when I don't work out I just feel like crap and I am like, hey is this what everyone feels like??? 😂

Haha I know what you mean.
And yeah probably 😂 I always feel a little sluggish when I don't work out even if it's been a while 😂.

Excellent post on the benefits of rest in recovery. Posts like this will hopefully get people to realize that they’ll come back stronger with more energy and enthusiasm by taking recovery days.

We’re starting a Fitness Community on Steemit called @steemfit4life. I’m resteeming your post there. We’re also starting a discord channel https://discord.gg/SyWfFw. No one is there yet, so if you’d be interested in helping form and grow the fitness community, please jump in—invite, share ideas, share your posts, share others posts!

Cool, Im on discord so I'm in the chat now too. And I have followed the community too! Lets get some people motivated!

Sweet! This makes me so happy!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Moonunit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75