The BACKFLIPPP... GOAL OF THIS YEAR!!

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

Since I've received a lot of positive feedback on my last post - https://steemit.com/fitness/@itachi/how-cardio-5x-a-week-will-make-you-shreddeddddd, I would like to share with you my ultimate goal of this year. That is the backflip! With little to no training in gymnastics I thought that a backflip could never be achieved by someone like me.  However, Youtube has given me confidence as I've seen multiple self-taught backflip people trying over and over again turning their video into a progression/motivating video.  I am now fully motivated and all that waits is turning my backyard into a pillow fort which I can use to protect my head and reduce the chances of  me snapping my neck lol!  This is one of the videos that inspired me! VVV

From what I've learned so far, the backflip still feels very unnatural and scary!  The only way to get better is practice, practice, practice, practice until you CAN'T get it wrong!! Here's a little demonstration of my attempting a backflip 2 weeks in on ground! (My reaction at the end LOL!)

Still dicey(I need to tuck in my knees much much faster) but everyday I grow more confident! Stay tuned to see when I eventually get one on ground! ;) Also once I do achieve the backflip, I shall create a tutorial for the Steemit community!

Please upvote/comment/resteem this post if you guys would like to see/hear more about fitness!! I believe that physically happiness also equates to mental happiness!! Thanks for reading guys and see you on the next one~

Follow me @itachi for more daily content!    

Sort:  

Nice! one tip i would give is to focus on your upward thrust, and hug your knees when you tuck for faster rotation. tucking is everything. while learning myself i found that pushing back was actually stopping me from landing because it didn't give enough time to complete the rotation.
check out y recent post about my trip to nyc , i put a Gif of me doing a B-Twist in there :) enjoy!

Awesome man!! Thanks for tips, so you're saying go upwards more rather than backwards yeah?

exactly! :) as you jump, try to focus directly in front of you , and keep your head straight until you start tucking. if you rely on your head to direct your jump, your body will follow. so instead of whipping your head back along with your arms. keep your head straight and use your arms and legs to get as high as you can for the tuck.

Lets backflip into 2018

Hahah absolutely!! Thanks for the motivation ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54