You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Day Back at the Gym

in #fitness7 years ago

You eliminated sugar completely??? What about fruit??? I absolutely refuse. haha I love fruit way too much to let it go.

Yes yes yes! I would love to weight train, thank you for sharing!
However, I don't believe lifting is a comparable substitute for cardiovascular training. I've got no choice other than a bit of cardio to be able to get my lungs in working order and my heart in better shape. My mile run is just supposed to serve as a warm up for the rest of the workout, anyway. I'll probably integrate both- running and lifting.

Sort:  

Fruit is composed of mostly short glucose polymers that can be easily digested, with in a matter of 30 min actually. I think what @alexanarcho means is probably eliminating more complex sugars like starches, and added fructose, these sugars take an entirely differ metabolic pathway in the body - namely they are broken down in the liver.

Fruit is the best source of all natural simple sugar, and your going to need lots of it when you workout. I'm fan of cardiovascular health over weight lifting too, but if you want a nice tone body I'd incorporate sprints, and squats. Basically work from the ground up. Good luck.

Thank you! Very informative. I already don't eat starches unless it's a potato, nor do I eat anything with fructose.
I do not have a bodily image goal in mind. My goal is simply to be the healthiest version of myself possible.
I definitely do NOT prefer cardio over weight-lifting. lol I hate running. Hate it. I do it because I know my body needs it. Expanding my lung capacity, strengthening my heart, you know what I'm talking about.

Hahaha, that was funny. I was unclear: I mean no added sugar. Fruit has natural sugar, so that is fine. But all kinds of sweet drinks, and products with sugar (or some other form of it, watch out, they are sneaky!!!) are off-limits.
I try to maintain a high fat, medium protein, low carbohydrate diet. This forces my body to burn fat as a fuel source, which is more efficient long term.

Most people do a high carb, medium protein, low fat diet. I think this is unhealthy longterm. Check this out - changed my life:


And, I just wanted to raise your awareness, that you can also do cardio without running. I am just not a big fan of running. I just do more reps with a lower weight, faster and more consistent pace.

But I am sure, you are not exactly the same as me, so just experiment a bit ;)

Documentation is key ;)

Lmao, I've seen Rogan's videos! I already do not consume added sugars. I don't drink soda, I hate candy, and I can't eat the gluten so I don't bother with baked goods.
Thank you for the informative response! Ugh, I HATE running! I hate it. It's just the easiest way to get my heart rate up. lol My favorite form of cardio is climbing, but there's no climbing wall at the gym we signed up for. Maybe I'll find an indoor climbing gym around here somewhere.
Anywho, more reps, lower weight. Got it! I'll keep steeming my progress to document it.

We are on the same wave length. Steemit does it once again - social media better than anything else. Here I can actually pay you for the value you provide by sharing your experience.

Steem on ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52