First Day Back at the Gym

in #fitness7 years ago

Today marks my sixth day alcohol-free and with zero processed sugars.

I awoke today to Omar asking me if I would join him at the gym. Naturally, I wailed in protest, but he came around with some pre-workout and I got my big butt in gear. It's been probably two years since I stepped into a gym. I used to love running for a mile to warm up before moving on to abs, and then finishing up with whichever muscle group I was working on for that day. My fastest mile ever has been just under seven minutes.

I ran my first mile in a long time today at 10.40.

While nearly eleven minutes is quite slow, I'm really proud to say that I finished that mile. Hell, I wanted to quit at a quarter mile! I'm also proud to say that I was able to maintain a constant speed for nearly the entire mile. Once I reached three quarters, I allowed myself a quick brisk walk to slow my stuttering heart, and then sped back up to finish the mile. I know it's counterproductive to allow my heart to strain too much. I've got to get my cardiovascular system back up to speed or else any workout I attempt will be rendered inefficient.

I may very well have been the one person pushing themselves the hardest.

I was the only person in that gym with a tomato head- I was so red. I was the only person wiping the sweat away from behind the knees. I was also the only person grunting aloud. Haha. I can't help it. I work out until muscle failure.

It feels good to be working out again.

I took a motivational selfie (also serving as a before photo) before we left.

Ain't nobody want to see what I looked like afterwards. O_o

Thank you for following along on this journey of mine as I steer clear of alcohol addiction and back toward health and fitness. I've greatly enjoyed reading through your comments along the way, so please feel free to drop another down below.

If you've only just joined me on this blog, feel free to read my previous posts where I shamefully admit that I need to seek out change, to get you up to speed on what's going on.

Sort:  

Good luck! I went Keto 6 weeks ago cutting out all processed sugar and feel so much better (also 11lbs lighter). Ive always struggled with low energy but Keto seems the way for me. Hopfully you have similar results :)

Thank you for sharing and for the well-wishes.

you're on a good way! Keep it up!

Thank you! I certainly will.

Nice arms. What's your diet?

Thank you! Those arms (and the back that you can't see) came from years of climbing.
Diet? I eat whatever I can get my hands on... as long as it's gluten-free, not processed, and only natural sugars. I don't count calories, and I don't follow anything specific. I love to cook, and I love to draw, so when I eat something, I try to make it something colorful (this helps ensure that I'm getting appropriate nutrition). For example, right now, I'm eating chili. Chili is very red and brown... so it needs some avocado and micro green to add in some green! ^_^
I love food and I love eating, so I eat small portions that allow me to enjoy the act of eating frequently throughout the day. Usually no more than two cups of food at a time.
Omg Omar freaks out when he sees how much/often I'm eating. I mean, he's used to it now, but for awhile he seemed to think the volume of food I was consuming was something new that might take a toll on my weight. BWAHAHAHA think again. I NEED these calories.

Lol I eat a lot too - my family says " I don't know how you're not the size of a house" LOL

good change of lifestyle! you don't need to go to a gym! you can workout anywhere and have the same or better result!!

Keep Rocking!

Yeah! I much prefer working out at home, but California has really uneven ground from all the earthquakes, so I think it's best to run on a treadmill instead.
Thank you!

Hello! 10:40 mile run is pretty dang good for someone working out for the first time in awhile. Don't cut yourself so short.

Love you and Omar. Been watching him and found the Duet you both made on Steemit. So freakin' cute! I wish my wife knew how to sing (well). I'd be forcing her to perfect duets with me too.

Have you tried Palm Sugar as a substitute to processed sugar?

Hey! Thanks! I'm excited to see how long it takes before I can run an eight minute mile. That's the goal. I don't like to spend a lot of time at the gym, so I'm trying to cut down my mile time and get the hell out of there haha.

I'm glad you enjoyed our recording. We've gotta crank out a few more asap! It was so much fun! Maybe, instead, you can join your wife in an activity that she enjoys, flip the roles, and allow her to push YOU to perfect it! lol

Ummm no, I haven't had palm sugar. I don't really feel the need to substitute for processed sugars. I just don't like sweet things. Reducing my sugar intake was easy for me. It's Omar who is struggling to let go haha!

@ellemarieisme hey ! You look gorgeous and your content is awesome! Followed, upvoted - you truly deserve it!

If you have some spare time, check out my profile- real estate investor and donator :) ! thank you

Thank you thank you! I'll stop by your page later today.

It's great you worked so hard in the gym! very encouraging. Stay healthy good job

Thanks! It's a good feeling.

Good luck for your alcohol free life @ellemarieisme and great to see you determined. 10.40 is not bad considering you haven't gone to gym for quite some time. Well, that big butt seems to be going soon. Haha

Thank you!

No way, no way! I'll never lose this butt. It's genetic. I'm Cuban. I would cry if I lost my butt. lol

Lol. So many emotions and attachments. Ok. You can keep it. Haha!

Hello! I think it is just awesome that you started on this path.

Eliminating sugar out of my diet, changed my life.

  • steady Engery levels
  • losing body fat
  • no withdrawl cravings
  • just better feeling about life

When it comes to training, I suggest that you check out my quick introduction guide to lifting weights. I think lifting with a barbell is the best you can do. Me personally, I hate cardio, but lifting weight eliminates the need for cardio - mostly. Plus it is better on the joints ;)

Keep us posted please! Follow&Upvote

You eliminated sugar completely??? What about fruit??? I absolutely refuse. haha I love fruit way too much to let it go.

Yes yes yes! I would love to weight train, thank you for sharing!
However, I don't believe lifting is a comparable substitute for cardiovascular training. I've got no choice other than a bit of cardio to be able to get my lungs in working order and my heart in better shape. My mile run is just supposed to serve as a warm up for the rest of the workout, anyway. I'll probably integrate both- running and lifting.

Fruit is composed of mostly short glucose polymers that can be easily digested, with in a matter of 30 min actually. I think what @alexanarcho means is probably eliminating more complex sugars like starches, and added fructose, these sugars take an entirely differ metabolic pathway in the body - namely they are broken down in the liver.

Fruit is the best source of all natural simple sugar, and your going to need lots of it when you workout. I'm fan of cardiovascular health over weight lifting too, but if you want a nice tone body I'd incorporate sprints, and squats. Basically work from the ground up. Good luck.

Thank you! Very informative. I already don't eat starches unless it's a potato, nor do I eat anything with fructose.
I do not have a bodily image goal in mind. My goal is simply to be the healthiest version of myself possible.
I definitely do NOT prefer cardio over weight-lifting. lol I hate running. Hate it. I do it because I know my body needs it. Expanding my lung capacity, strengthening my heart, you know what I'm talking about.

Hahaha, that was funny. I was unclear: I mean no added sugar. Fruit has natural sugar, so that is fine. But all kinds of sweet drinks, and products with sugar (or some other form of it, watch out, they are sneaky!!!) are off-limits.
I try to maintain a high fat, medium protein, low carbohydrate diet. This forces my body to burn fat as a fuel source, which is more efficient long term.

Most people do a high carb, medium protein, low fat diet. I think this is unhealthy longterm. Check this out - changed my life:


And, I just wanted to raise your awareness, that you can also do cardio without running. I am just not a big fan of running. I just do more reps with a lower weight, faster and more consistent pace.

But I am sure, you are not exactly the same as me, so just experiment a bit ;)

Documentation is key ;)

Lmao, I've seen Rogan's videos! I already do not consume added sugars. I don't drink soda, I hate candy, and I can't eat the gluten so I don't bother with baked goods.
Thank you for the informative response! Ugh, I HATE running! I hate it. It's just the easiest way to get my heart rate up. lol My favorite form of cardio is climbing, but there's no climbing wall at the gym we signed up for. Maybe I'll find an indoor climbing gym around here somewhere.
Anywho, more reps, lower weight. Got it! I'll keep steeming my progress to document it.

We are on the same wave length. Steemit does it once again - social media better than anything else. Here I can actually pay you for the value you provide by sharing your experience.

Steem on ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54