I did 100kg deadlifts in a bikini... and some people didn't take it well

in #fitness7 years ago

It was the day before my vacation. My last heavy training session (well at least heavy for me;) before taking two weeks off. I decided to make it fun. I only just started to get more into powerlifting but I am proud that my technique and strength is slowly improving. Therefore, I made a video of my last lifts in a bikini - basically as a fun video message to say: Bikini - check | Deadlifts - check | I am off to the beach...

IMG_3082.PNG

After posting the video on my profile, even a powerlifting site reposted it. Some people understood the fun message, some people did not take it well.
I read comments like 'I am just looking for attention'... that this is 'cringe' and much more (these were the nicer comments actually)

I take the sports seriously and I respect and admire every discipline. I was even accused to make a mockery out of (female) powerlifting - but it's actually the complete opposite! Also read that it's not even an "impressive lift" YES, this is EXACTLY my point!

My motivation to make funny videos like this and to put myself out there:

Wherever you look, could be olympic weightlifting, powerlifting or some fancy general bodybuilding:
you always get to see the strong people, the good people with lots of experience/strength.
For someone who just gets started, this can actually be pretty DEMOTIVATING!
And this is exactly why I make these videos, showing you how I beautifully fail or act like a retard dancing in the gym (I don't expect anyone to like my style) I do this to show and represent that it is not only about the trophy-winning heavy lifts. It is about the journey, the progress and the love for the sport.

And if I only motivated one girl to try to step up to a lifting platform, squat rack or else, my mission is completed!

It's about the courage to get started, to accept the fails and the challenge to work on it!
(Haters gonna hate... but if you consider yourself as a good representative of your sport but start ranting about someone who doesn't lift enough weight to post this on social media, think about who is the one mocking the sport...)

If you want you can watch the video here (I reposted it on my YouTube channel):

My goal is to get better and let people watch how I enjoy the progress of getting better and how I beautifully fail in between... Is that so wrong?

Happy to hear from you what you think.

Sort:  

Well you won't catch the Steemit Community putting you down. Let all the negative Nacy's stay away and live in main social media. We like everything you're doing here. Keep it up, guuuuhrl! 😘

thank you. I really like the open mindset of the steemit community. reasonable and constructive criticism always welcome though :)

That's an amazing progress catie. Even I'm in a process to get there. Don't let haters break your courage or spirit. Just because they can't do it, they make fun of others, so that it doesn't make them look weak. They don't even have the courage to start.
Now-a-days many girls are considering weight training. Keep motivating them. :)

thank you for the support!
what I don't get is that people that are completely serious about powerlifting started hating about my funny rookie attempts... and in the same sentence they say that female powerlifting is fighting to be taken seriously... mocking someone who just got started is probably not the best way to motivate more girls to do it and thereby making the sport more popular.
I don't mind if people don't like what I do. I just try to see the big picture

Wow 100 kg ist ne Nummer...😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70