Fix My Squat - How I Learned To Squat With Proper Form In Only One Day!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness7 years ago

Last week, I went to see two experts for strength and hypertrophy training and asked them to help me with my issues when it comes to the performance of a proper squat.

IMG_6142.JPG

We first analyzed my overhead squat to identify issues and imbalances in my body. It turned out that the main issue are my glutes that I cannot activate properly, which is partially due to the fact that the muscles are still too weak.

IMG_6137.JPG

They also showed me some tricks regarding my foot position and how to properly prepare for the squat.

IMG_6139.JPG

It sounds weird, but I learned something very interesting: the so called power touch activation. There are certain spots on my body that I can press prior to squatting. This kind of acupressure activates my neural system, responsible to activate areas in my body, which I need to work during the squat, such as my adductors or glutes. And yes, one power touch point is located in my ears :D

IMG_6136.JPG

Another useful tool is the so called 'fascial abrasion technique' (FAT). I will actually make a separate post about this one soon. The treatment with this tool, which looks a bit like a knife, helps to relax the soft muscle tissue, and to relieve tension and adhesions between muscles.

IMG_6135.JPG

At the end of this day, I was able to perform a good deep squat. I usually feel some kind of an impingement in my hips when squatting, but after this day, my squat finally felt smooth.

IMG_6138.JPG

If you are interested: you can find the full video on my YouTube channel. The video is partially in German, but there are English subtitles available.

Fix My Squat:
0:00 Intro
2:45 Overhead squat analysis
8:00 My glutes are weak
11:40 Recommendations
12:15 Summary
13:40 Nerval system reset
17:40 I can't feel the squat depth
20:37 Feet positioning
21:40 First appearance of the FAT-tool
26:48 Why does he touch my ears?
30:46 The kettlebell intervention & a new tattoo?
36:15 FAT tool Pt 2 & Love
40:10 Checking the squat & start position
46:00 Fun for my shoulder & Pain disappointments​s
50:15 Squatting

Sort:  

@catieleta amazing video the tips are truly helpfull great work

thank you so much. the video is a bit long. but worth watching for everyone who is interested in proper squat form.

Hi I didn't know it was you! Let me help when you are posting! =)

:) I was not very active so far, because I was sorting out things. But I will change this now and post more often ;) also started the @baliflicker account. On a side note: I am back in Bali on Sep 1st

Hi Cat! Sorry I've not been supporting you since the beginning!

Been busy in preparation for my steemit talk tomorrow.

You can watch it live from here if you like, 5pm Bali time:

The best way for us to support you is to upvote and resteem to our followers but we need to know when you are posting! So you must message @jockey or myself on steemit.chat or FB :)

Hope everything is great with you x

Upped & resteemed :)

Awesome. Yes I already set the reminder for the talk tomorrow. Will definitely watch. I haven't signed up for steemit.chat now. Still figuring out things. Thanks so much for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68