Next Time You Use English Around Finns...

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

...think about these words that have a meaning in Finnish too. As they are, or with a slight modification.

You know how mi casa es su casa?
How convenient, as in this case the c is pronounced like a k in the word casa. And you know what the Finnish word kasa is?
kasa = pile
So my pile is your pile. Thank you very much and welcome to clean in to my house. I have piles of weird stuff here that needs to be dealt with!


Let's talk about home next. Home improvement, new kitchen towel Home series, sweet home Alabama, home sweet home, home is where the heart is, wherever I lay my hat that's my home.

Just be sure to pronounce the last E there like the first letter in the word escape and...
home = mold
So it's mold improvement, new kitchen towel Mold series, sweet mold Alabama, mold sweet mold, mold is where the heart is, wherever I lay my hat that's my mold.


Let's go to the world of Steemit. Are you all about tipuvotes? You should know that...
tipu = chick
So what you are throwing around are chickvotes!
Nice, dude.


That brings us to California girls and Napa Valley.
napa = belly button
So did you know there's a Belly button Valley in California?


Next one goes under the naval, as we are going to that direction anyway.

Have you heard that the head fromager of Daniel restaurant in New York is Mr. Pascal Vittu. I am so sorry to say to all the Pascal program language lovers or those who have either name, Pascal or Vittu, but...
vittu = cunt
paskalla = taking a dump (shortened paskal)


When something is per se.
Se = it
But if you pronounce the last two words a bit quicker, no Finn hears the it (se) there, they hear perse.
perse = ass.

Of course you have to prrrronounce a prrrrroper RRRRR there.
Think about that one for a while.

The Perse School Cambridge.
Stephen Perse Foundation.
Persepolis.
Perseids.
Perseus.

Now you can stop thinking about an ass. Or an arse.


But you know, this works both ways. I can speak about really common things in Finnish and at the same time horrify people around me.
aho – a glade, uncultivated land, also a common Finnish last name (idiot in Japanese)
katso! – look! (cazzo, a penis in Italian)
kirja – a book (a motherfucker in Farsi)
kuusi – six and spruce (my vagina in Arabic)
matka – a journey or a trip (mother in Polish)
maukas – tasty (sluts in Latvian)
merta – a fish-trap (merda, shit in Italian and Portuguese)
pussi – a pouch (like pussy, but pronounce it with double s, then you get a pouch in Finnish)

Have a great weekend!
Yours
Insanewords!

Can you see the #light? The shimmering #snow. White curves of cold #winter.
IMG_3809_1.jpg
Photo: CC BY-SA 4.0 - Insaneworks

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

cuddle_teddy1.png

Nonni. I spent a long time learning Finnish for my trip there last year. Months and months...I ended up with a huge vocabulary...Well...I learned vittu. Yeah, I know. Still, I deployed it a lot and enjoyed doing so. (Not in front of @smallsteps) So, now I'm back in Australia and I'm still using it. The Finnish version of the word c^^t.

I'm sure you know but here the word c^^t is probably one of the most despised word ever. Still, it's just so versatile right? 😉

Good post. Funny.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think vittu is too, pretty rude word, but the verb from that word = vituttaa (to be pissed off about something) is not so down there or as rude word as the vittu is. Anyway, I've heard that about a hundred and more years ago, vittu was not so bad a word, it was more common to use of the same body part that we both know it's about. But things change and although I do use occasionally the word vituttaa, I don't use the word vittu that much. Because it's not a nice word. I think this amount that I've used it now, is my whole years of supply. :D If I really want to swear, perkele is one of my favorite words. And that's not a rude body part word. :D

Oh yeah, I know perkele too. Usually swear words are the first ones people learn in a new language.

Posted using Partiko Android

The most useful words in the world. And you should say the "in the world" words with Jeremy Clarkson's voice.

Lol...

Posted using Partiko Android

You're like one helluva kirja! Clever or Pandai one la you in manglish (English and Bahasa melayu)

Posted using Partiko Android

Kirja as in bad because that's really bad or bad bad, which is good because it's double negative.
bad = bad
bad bad = good
Important to know. :D

I don't know if this has anything to do worth anything, but I don't read that many kirja's nowadays. :D

Double bad...like as in u r the shit, not a shit.. Big differences depending on the indefinite article 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Eeheheh! Funny post, but it's actually "merda" not "merta" :-D

Merda is in the brackets. :)

Shit. I mean, Merda! Ahah. I see it now! :-D

:) Let all the swearwords bloom!

Thank you insaneworks! You've just received an upvote of 49% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi @insaneworks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.194 which ranks you at #8764 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 81 places in the last three days (old rank 8683).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #157.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78