Finish the Fiction Story Contest - Week #38 - @bananafish

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

Finish the Story.jpg
The Taste of Chicken
by @f3nix

"What do you feel now?" The scalpel of a monotonous voice, cold as the halogen light blinding him.

"Let me go".

A sudden electric shock followed and almost broke the arched vertebrae of the specimen n. 19-B, while penetrating his limbs.

"What do you feel?"

"The ... the taste of a chicken".

Dense whispering, silent annotations, white everywhere.

He was floating in that white, for hours, perhaps days. Subtle lines, at the corners of his eyes. The last bulwark of Euclidean geometries. Over him, the ceiling was like an enormous virus. Not alive, not dead. Up there, all the gluttony of a pulsating white blasphemy was unfolding over his impotent being. A dodecaphony, ever hungry of new semitones in the musical scale of his moribund ego.

He felt his soul's entrails slowly peeled like an onion. That non-color was slipping inside him, like a sickly glucose sludge, inside every cavity, along every neuron, hair, capillary. It was a profound evil, different from pain. Pain is a vowel. If you're good enough, you can observe it from the outside of yourself till you inevitably lose consciousness.

That, instead. That was nothing less than a grinding profanation of his soul.

"Now. What do you feel?"

"Whaaat do you feeel ..." was the mumbled answer, the sound resembling the broken lung of a deflating accordion.

Silent annotations following.

The synaptic stimulation was proceeding well, soon they could present the product to Mother Unit. It was said that, in prehistoric times, the human being populated the nano-swarm, when it was still called Earth. According to certain niche schools of thought, this.. thing.. could have been at the top of the food-chain. Go figure.

A new product, very efficient in its own way and not missing that pleasant touch of chaoticness, this human. No doubt that the Mother Unit would have liked it and find it entertaining, if not even useful.

The chief demiurge gently closed the skullcap of the specimen n. 19-B and left the room with its cohort of servile apprentices in tow. Enough for today.

My Entry:

Seattle Grace Hospital’s clean white walls greeted The chief demiurge, this setting on the television show Grey’s Anatomy now the paradigm of the demiurge who had settled the planet.

They’d discovered it while studying the human species, and reading the book Gray’s Anatomy. One of the humans alive at the time had made a joke about the television show Grey’s Anatomy then played a video on their phone.

From that moment on the demiurge fashioned this planet in that image because it associated their stay to what it had been prior to their colonization.

You see the demiurge created all existence. However, that meant the cosmos, and the smaller details of that Universe got overlooked in the grand scheme of things. Because of this the demiurge prowled through the vastness of space in search of intelligent life forms to go through their brains, books, movies, music, and any other forms of media.

Although the demiurge remained immortal they also remained formless in their natural habitat. Only when they found a planet with an intelligent life form were they able to create themselves in that life forms image.

They would then devour all information available. And the humans on this planet, much like the life forms on other planets, were deemed expendable in the need for knowledge.

For this reason The chief demiurge removed their scalps replacing them with skullcaps that helped with the electroshock therapy to drain the human existence out of the humans.

“Dr. Hunt!” Dr. Altman yelled.

The demiurge had taken their creation of Earth in the image of Grey’s Anatomy so far as to assume the bodies and identities of the characters from the show.

The chief demiurge had created himself in the image of Dr. Hunt because of his duty as the Administer of Electrotherapy. Only someone with military training could appreciate the industrial need of the resource they were mining.

“Dr. Altman, good to see you today. How are things going with the human hearts?” The chief demiurge replied.

“Fine Dr. Hunt, we’ve been able to keep them beating after death in order to power some of our older equipment based on biological operation.”

“That’s fantastic! Just closed up specimen n. 19-B. Does ‘the taste of a chicken’ mean anything to you?” Asked The chief demiurge.

“Think humans used to say everything tastes like chicken.” Replied Dr. Altman.

They both took in the statement. First they had to remember what chicken meant. Then link it to a form of food. Once complete, they shifted through references of this former food of humans. Once confident that the taste meant an enjoyable flavor they then formed the conclusion that this meant that everything tastes good. They both smiled with this nugget of the human condition now explained.

“Let’s go to the cafeteria. They have chicken there.” Said Dr. Hunt.

“No wait, is Meredith Grey talking to Dr. Webber!” Dr. Altman exclaimed in a hush whisper.

Thank you,
Cyrus Emerson

Red Roses the audiobook for your consideration at the Voice Arts Awards (NYC), and the Grammys (LA).
https://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/Red-Roses-Audiobook/B07F2LWHPN

Red Roses narrated by Kira Omans
www.kiraomans.com
Red Roses Dress.jpg

Red Roses music by Rike Luxx
www.rikeluxxbeats.com

Red Roses sound by Pond5
www.pond5.com

Also, available from The Author:

Fear and Loathing in the State of Jefferson - ebook
https://read.amazon.com/kp/embed?asin=B079R5KLPN&preview=newtab&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_GsURAbAVDYNEM

Lost Angel – Introduction with Ray Manzarek of The Doors
https://www.downpour.com/lost-angel?sp=249812

Sort:  

Being a writer myself, I am gladly surprised by these writers that adapt their styles to fit in the first parts of such stories and the prompts they're compelled to follow as well, for me that's quite difficult, so all my respect! I admire prolific writers because I really wish I was like that. Sometimes I can be so fussy when it comes to my own stories, that I even spend months to finally feel completely comfortable with the final result. So when I see writers like you, that writes very good stories so quickly and constantly, I'm just amazed by that fact...

@cyemela is totally a versatile and prolific writer! Why don't you participate too @smanuels? I'd be happy to see your outcome :-)

Thanks @smanuels. Just talked to Professora Ruth Nolan last night who lead the Inlandia Institute's Writing Workshop at the Riverside, California, Public Library. We would spend the night writing to her prompts and then share with the group while preparing a larger work for a public presentation with chap book release.

Now we can do it on Steemit.com for cryptocurrency. Please join in the fun. You'll be glad you chilled on the Banana Boat with @bananafish while your Steem grows.

I'm sorry--I found the whole scenario very unpleasant to contemplate. Lost me at:

A sudden electric shock followed and almost broke the arched vertebrae of the specimen n. 19-B, while penetrating his limbs.

But then I turn the channel on the TV or leave a movie when things get gruesome, so that's my weakness.

I voted for you on principle...but I couldn't follow the torture through. Didn't want to read the words or dwell on the images. My husband and children claim I retreat into fantasy world. They know not to share the grisly with me.

Unpleasant, alienating and dystopic.. yes that was the idea. My favorite genre is horror but I'll go easier next time ;-) I promised it to Erika too, btw.

Alienating and dystopian, yes...Phillip K. Dick, for example is one of my favorite authors. But I don't like to see or imagine torture...never watched Halloween or Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Horror's fine too--like Poe. I mean being buried alive behind a wall is pretty horrible, but it's an abstract horror. That's just the way I am. Some shows (including live boxing matches) my husband has to watch on his own. I walk out of the room. I won't read these stories, this week, but I will upvote the authors, because people are entitled to their own sensibilities.

But of course! There's no doubt about that. I remember this participant who didn't write when I was including some occasional swearing: I say it's totally fine and worth my respect. We're all free and I would be a fool if I'd think to contradict the very well known principles of this game we play. Would you like to write a prompt one of these editions? 🙂

I appreciate your inclusive perspective. As for swearing--I've been known to use a particularly expressive term, when the occasion warranted 🙂
Thanks for thinking I could pull off a prompt. I don't think my style of writing is the sort that would attract responses. I'm a bit out-dated, maybe even out of step with some of the writers on this platform. They have such energy and many of them share a cultural exposure that is unfamiliar to me. As creatives, they welcome and support my participation, but I wouldn't test their patience with a prompt. I love these writers.

But, honestly, I like your writing style. You've been successful and voted in several popular votes if I'm not mistaken. I think that a change of perspective and style is always beneficial for our creativity. Think about it and you'll make my day if you accept (no pressure) ;-)

Thank you...but I'm not comfortable. Maybe, in time...we have to keep Steemit strong so all the communities grow.

@agmoore, I'd love to see if I could rap off of one of your prompts. I'm almost sure the bananafish would help you make a presentable one you could be proud of sharing with the group.

LOL. That's @f3nix's intro.

"My Entry:" begins my Finish to the Story. Turned it into Grey's Anatomy because a friend of mine watched the show.

Bit on the nose with things here on the story. Even then, my heart joys that the Chief Demiurge can actually talk without blowing anything. Repugnant and self-gloating Gods don’t deserve their husk of even matter manipulative forms if they can’t hold a conversation. Anyways I wished to see that conversation play out - I want to see how the Demiurge speak and the human playing along though being a bit suspicious. Heck maybe the thoughts of the Demiurge to be in a similar field, just having the heart being joyed.

Of course let’s skip any further obscenities. ‘Tis clear that the Demiurges aren’t God, only God-like (or to say they ain’t Aquinas’s God). I mean, first the Tesseracts who’s purpose remain unclear; then the Conscious of Yoh who’s basically an enslaved machine; and now medical-doctoral Demiurges. All outta a previously human-esque species that first achieved the stage that they can manipulate matter easier than ever before, to the point of loosing-regaining forms constantly.

Upvot’d and resteem’d.
A295B271-2544-49C7-B7B2-24A27DA3ED72.gif

Because of this the demiurge prowled through the vastness of space in search of intelligent life forms to go through their brains, books, movies, music, and any other forms of media.

With your humour and a unique pop interpretation you've been able to take the prompt where noone would have ever expected. I'm admired.

Thanks again for another fun round of writing.

You're welcome! That's my fun, reading stories like yours.

Congratulations @cyemela! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The humor in this one is on-point. It takes a nod from the goofy trickster episode of Supernatural, and you play it so well! After all, it's all fun and games until someone gets their cranium sliced open and their brains scooped out. At least we'll always have the chicken, though...

Hehehe I dunno why people keep saying everything tastes like chicken, but I heard this proverb quite often. Anyway, I enjoy reading the conclusion to the story that you wrote, I find it funny that these aliens pretend to be some tv characters.
                       
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

lol Grey's Anatomy. I liked how you managed to tie that into this story.

Hi cyemela,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63