You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reptilia: Finish the Story #65

in #finishthestory5 years ago (edited)

Sorry i haven't replied sooner. That line had really got to me as well, especially on the first read. The animal/pet element combined with the human like intelligence, it packs a proper punch. I must have used over thinking + too much empathy to make it more equal than it actually is lol. There is probably an element of me pulling away from the subjugation vibe and finding a different way to look at it. The line did snag me emotionally, I have very much enjoyed the direction it sent you in.

the use of food as a lure, or punishment. These are not acts of an equal. These are acts of someone who has subjugated another. Noz does not comply out of friendship, but out of fear of punishment.

Yours is a very powerful/moving story. In a way, that line in the first half is not that far away from standard pet owner behavior, but being framed differently draws attention to it. I read it and instantly thought of dogs with a choke-chain. Even though the psi-meleons in your ending are so intelligent, the humans view of them is still pet like, it makes it hard not to see parallels. Although equally people do treat other people like this, not being aware of the suffering around them. In all honestly, trying to find another layer that changed the dynamic between them was probably more defensive on my part, because it is, in some ways, evocative of pet ownership and it's hard not to relate a little on that level. It isn't comfortable to think about the possibility of having maybe done this in a lesser degree. As much as I like to think of pets as my equals and friends, there have been times when I've bribe them away from danger, and have used treats to encourage things like toilet training. Of course that isn't the same as what happens here, but it did make me more aware of how it might be perceived from the other side.

Hoard resources and mete out nutrition parsimoniously?

I have a lot of respect for you, and the lessons you include in your stories. This gave me a lot to think on, even though the psi-meleon here don't actually need the humans at all, the line a pet walks between equal and dependent makes it relevant how you manage being responsible for their safety without restricting too much of their freedom. Fairly certain my treat hungry pets probably still see it as me hording the resources lol, but it does highlight how fuzzy the line can become when a person or society becomes too distracted to notice. The idea of affection from creatures we keep being Stockholm syndrome is probably true, at least sometimes, for pets as well. I never really considered it like that before, but even when a relationship is all carrot no stick, that sort of affection is still more to do with what a person does for them than the person. It makes really makes me reflect on 'cupboard love.' And it isn't the manipulation I saw in Noz when I had read this ending, because it is unwitting; he wasn't trying to pretend to be her friend to deceive her about his real plans, he felt he to had pretend to survive. It did make me think about instilled dependance. Hmmm, a lot of food for thought in this one, so very well told.

Of course, and your story at that ;) - although equally, your stories aren't just stories, they are far more beautiful than that, there is a message worth reflecting on, something more than the memory of the story for the reader to take away and keep, that helps make the story itself more memorable as well.

In a way the psi-meleon not having seemed resistant or unhappy with the situation, from the human perspective, until they give them this ultimatum, shows the difference in world view (as opposed to them never having told the humans they weren't okay with this arrangement.) The parallel with immigrants, and being judged by the standards of someone who never cares to take the time and explain those standards to them, was very powerful, even if it was me misreading (I'm sorry <3 and equally, me over thinking things isn't a reflection on your writing, I just like to mull things, and get carried away sharing the ponderings your very well put together story evoke)

The indifference of the humans to the suffering of the psi-meleon does feel the same as Nox not caring when he throws her, I know that wasn't the message or your intention but it feels like a hint about power; that those who have it find it hard to be aware of the suffering of those who don't. Although that same message does come through in every way it's read, something about it in a power switch made it feel more poignant for me, but that is just me, with maybe a dash of you are being too skilled at weaving these elements into your stories, I see them in places you never put them. <3

Sort:  

What a great comment. I'm really glad you related this to our relationship with our pets. It's easy to bully them, isn't it? To try to get them to cooperate with our wishes. But you and I know that's terrible. Whenever we use coercion of any kind, it has to be for the benefit of the pet, and not for our benefit. That's the difference between bullying and appropriate behavior control.

You impose discipline on you pet out of love, not self interest. If we apply that standard to Sedar, I think she fails miserably. But anyway, it's just a story. And you're correct--I can't leave my values behind when I write.

Have a most wonderful day.
I wish you all happiness and creative fulfillment.

I mean, in the sense they are helpless and dependent on us, but for those same reasons it’s unthinkable. I find necessary behavior control difficult enough. I am trying to get better at being sensitive to the insight others can give me, and adapting accordingly. It’s painful to think how something like restraining a bunny to apply eye drops could be put in terms of bullying them into cooperating with our wishes when as you say, it's not out of self-interest, but it is still making them do something and the awareness is still important. This is just so powerful, it’s all too easy to assume the little creatures we dote on care about us, but maybe it is more a learnt behavior. It’s true that if anyone else had treated them sweetly and had taken care of them, they’d have reacted the same, so in that sense they are simply performing a behavior they have learnt gets the fusses or whatever they want, from the person they are just used to getting it from, and it's easy to interpret that as caring, or friendship like Sedar did, but it isn't. Although mulling this over I can't help but feel maybe the same applies to people, sweetness and affection, or instincts, have trained them to care about me, but ultimately anyone who took the same role would’ve got the same result. It's just as conditioned as a fear response. It’s depressing, but then it’s good to understand. The more I have been thinking about this, the more I can see how this perspective can be liberating; we keep going with something for the sake of those we feel care – pet or person, understanding it’s to some degree conditioned and not real removes that obligation. Sedar definitely fails to consider Noz above her own wishes, and even if she had, her understanding of him is possibly too misplaced to be able to. The values in your stories are a good thing, it’s part of what makes them so thought provoking, and although fluff is fun sometimes, the serious stuff matters, and yours are always a pleasure. There is an element of them being values I would say I hold myself, but even when they challenge the way I see myself – or in this case how I perceive others as seeing me, they are still exceptional stories, probably only more so for that.

Thank you, you too, you have given me so much to think about and I am grateful for that. It has helped me a lot with something else, realizing I don’t matter and it was only what I did makes it easier to reconcile not being the one to do it - because anyone could do it just the same. Thank you ❤

You have to be kinder to yourself 🌟

Sometimes I'm tormented (really pained) by guilt over past acts--things I can't change. Then wise people remind me that if I can't forgive myself, how can I forgive others? So I apply the same rule to you. It's my belief that you try to act out of the best motives. We're not perfect. Sometimes we fall short, or make mistakes. The most we can do is get up in the morning and try again.
I think it's a lucky bunny--or any creature--who gets to live with you, who is dependent on your care. Your heart is clear in everything you write. Nice to know you @calluna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32