You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finish The Story Contest - WEEK #30!

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

Hi @dirge: You spin a great yarn, with many possibilities. Unfortunately it's not the kind of environment in which my imagination roams. I'm afraid this is a non-starter for me. I'll be following the contest this week and supporting it. Good luck.

Sort:  

If I was you, I'd turn it insideout like a sock 😜

Inspired by the courage of erh.germany and the prompting of @bananafish, I have entered the realm. There is no clever twist or striking originality in this piece. It is offered as a gesture of community. I know nothing about roll-playing games--elves, orcs, etc--but I boldly ventured forth. As always, the exercise was fun.
https://steemit.com/finishthestory/@agmoore/valley-of-ash-finish-the-story-30

I need to add here, that @dirge crafted a very good beginning--it's just that, for me, it was like reading a foreign language :)

Huzzahhh!! The force flows strong in you, young padawan! (I'd put a bananafish lightsaber but we have it only in the discord)

Out of affection for the bananafish I will give it another read and see if my imagination responds--it's not really up to me :)

That's cool. No pressure though.. that's just what happens to me when I don't entirely click with something, my rebellious side emerges. Marco does this all the times using the Tortillas de Pelo.. 😜

I very much liked your attitude when I told you the same. When no muse comes around the corner, one cannot force this shy thing. :) Only lure it. But even that does not always succeed. lol

that's just what happens to me when I don't entirely click with something, my rebellious side emerges. Marco does this all the times using the Tortillas de Pelo..

Do you think that writing it prevents me from doing it anyway? Muahahahah!

I've been caught hahaha

HaHa! Exactly that were my first thoughts. No, I can't do it. No elves and orks. Too old for that. Lol.
Give it a try. I did my very best, too. Looking forward to your story!

I read yours. Amazing. Agile, lively, adept. Really a great take. I don't think I can...I tried reading again and my mind just doesn't go there.

Edit--Maybe I'll just take it off in my own direction. Not legitimate, perhaps, but create my own characters, my own scene. Just pick a small thread out of this. Can't get into this one. My way forward may not meet the requirements of Finishthestory, but it will be an interesting exercise. Thanks for the extra push :)

so much welcome. That was what I hoped for that you feel ... my artist friend here on steemit, @reinhard-schmid, sometimes jokes with me as I do not always follow the rules. But still, if they weren't there in the first place, the magic could not happen. To sometimes overstep them is as good as an experience as to follow them.

Happy!

Overstepping the rules, at times, is as necessary as thinking out of the schemes in my opinion. I saw a painting once by @reinhard-shmid, I still remember it.. he's a valuable artist..

you say it! Thinking out of schemes can only happen if there are schemes! :)))

Reinhard is the kindest guy I ever met on the Internet. I purchased one of his pieces through steemit and one he gave me as a gift. Just so.

Heh.. if you think about it also calling a first half of a story "fantasy" or any other genre is a scheme.. One of my favourite stories of the contest was from @flyyinkiwi .. it started in a middle age battleground (first half by @cyemela) and he made it end with a viking teleported by aliens in the middle of a fashon show in the Milan fashon week and a carnage 😂 Another awesome one was that of the guerrilla alpacas from @calluna..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89