Filmmaker's Diary (16 September 2017)

in #filmmaker7 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians and welcome to the Filmmaker's diary!

(Here is my latest post for more reference:
https://steemit.com/filmmaker/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diary-31-of-august-2017 )

Have some good updates to share.

Short Film

I have a short film to edit and complete. A few days ago I've decided I would let that project rest for a couple of months. The main reason being that, if I finish it in 2018 it will have 2018 and 2019 to tour in festivals. And also I need to get some budget for sound and foley. So I'll wait a bit. (I have a couple of other short film projects and even if I film them before January, I'll release them in 2018. One is for a contest, so If I do it it will be finished soon.)

Comedy Series

A new project that came into consideration is a comedy show. Some funny episodes about a rapper in a small town. This one can be fun to do and a huge thing to consider is that I would not be doing it alone. My friend had the general ideia, so we would be both the creatives behind it... can not tell you how much I would appreciate to have someone else fully committed to a project. In the next couple weeks we should have a meeting.

The Script

Then I finished my script (need just to do some final editing but it will be done for sure tomorrow. Had a big realisation with this script. Even thought it seems obvious, I wrote the first draft in a week and that was two months ago. The big diference... in the first week I sat down every single day, first thing in the morning. Then I didn't slack of, but I did not sat down every single day... The result: One week and two months... again it might sound obvious, but I'm doing everything I can to just sit down and write at least 5 days of the week for at least one hour.

Here is a post I wrote about the experience of writing it all in a week:
https://steemit.com/blog/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diary-how-a-little-discipline-gave-me-a-script-in-a-week

The Music video company.

I had been stressing over the fact that I needed one more music video to lunch the company. (Total of 3 Videos) But It's not a priority now. What's a priority is to set up the financial/ tax /legal part of it. That's the main mission of next week. Have it all ready and that's it. When the time is right I'll do another video. Can always use one of my own songs.

The Finance

This are the main news. For a long long time, I've had a short film project going on. It has been so much time and issues that some time ago I've decided I'm only going to do it , when I have a proper budget. I live in a country with no film industry, where the very few movies who get made have a governmental fund. I had "forgotten" about it. Since it's hard to get specially when no one in your family works in the "industry." However yesterday my friend and actor send me the form to get that fund. I'm going to apply. It seems a bit silly that I had just forgotten about it. Even if it's hard I'm going to apply. Not so sure I can right now... have some bureaucratic questions. Gonna call them Monday morning and see.

So that's it.

In Short:

The short film I have ready to finish the edit, will be on hold for a little bit.

The comedy series is a go. Over the next couple weeks should have some news.

The script is done. I will start writing a feature script next week and yes I will sit down everyday. Plan on having a first draft by the end of October.

The Music Video company is stress free. I'll do everything I can to solve the legal aspect of it, next week. So hopefully next week that chapter will be finished. Then I'll take it from there.

And the government fund is on the table. By Monday I should know if I can apply this year or not.

and oh... I forgot... I've been seriously thinking of shooting a feature before the end of the year. A Mumblecore style film, shot in a week. More on that soon, need to get 5000 together for it. I'lll see what I can do.

As always, thank you for reading.

MAin  Logo.jpg

By Upvoting this post you are helping independent artist!!

All images (except Logo) are from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

nice article...

Don't stress too much everything will go seamlessly :)

Yeah... like to think so.

Um projeto para ser bem sucedido todos devem estar unidos em prol de um objetivo a ser alcançado, que tudo dê certo e que a sorte lhe alcance .

Muito Obrigado! Estou a fazer por isso.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82