How a Simple Steemit Post Landed Me an Exclusive Scoop on The Walking Dead

in #film8 years ago (edited)

Alt Text

The internet broke a couple of months ago when AMC’s giant franchise The Walking Dead decided to leave us with the summer’s single biggest cliffhanger by far.

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about a few brilliant yet hardly detectable storytelling techniques that are used in cinema, specifically I wrote about those used by David Lynch, Christopher Nolan and Robert Kirkman. The latter absolutely loves to play mind games with the audience, leaving breadcrumbs here and there, even encouraging the curious audience to look for the little clues he keeps throwing their way.

In that post, titled Cinema’s Best Kept Hidden Secrets I tried to resolve the latest mystery of The Walking Dead revealing who was most likely going to die in the show, taking as point of reference those ingenious little tricks that we’ve just mentioned. The small little clues that make any story more playful and intriguing, clues like: Foreshadowing, first person mode…etc.

After noticing the good reception that post had, I went on I shared it on Facebook (I do that from time to time in order to introduce my friends to steemit). But here’s the crazy part:

I received some inside information about the outcome of last season’s finale as well as some other stuff. First of all, I learned that my analysis although not precisely inaccurate, was substantially incomplete. The serie’s premiere is going to be far more explosive than I expected.

Alt Text

And more importantly, fellow steemians, I have some nice goodies that I want to share with you if you like.
So in case if you don’t want to wait until the summer to find out the answer to our favorite mystery, I think you will enjoy this:

Warning, major spoilers ahead.

Alt Text

The season 7 premiere starts with Rick Grimes totally losing it. From the first scene, he starts to lose his grip on reality. He’s still kneeling down on the floor as are the other ten protagonists while their Arch-enemy Negan is doing the typical eenie-meenie trying to decide which of one our beloved characters he would soon execute.

Rick starts to panic, and then all out of the sudden we see Rick in a total dream-like state, we see Maggie with the baby already born and in her arms, we see the whole group laughing, everyone is there, and then we see Maggie and Glenn happy and smiling and holding their baby… And then Boom!

The bat just landed on someone’s head, and repeated blows immediately follow as we hear the daunting screams of the rest of the survivors.

Reality is now catching up to Rick as Negan is bashing a fan favorite’s head with his barbed wire wrapped bat ‘Lucille’. The horrific beating starts replacing the magical scene, with Rick totally frozen in impotence, and then the silence drowns the screams.

The person who was killed is Abraham Ford.

It is probable that Negan killed Abraham because of his defying look and his big size, sort of to take out the biggest threat early so it doesn’t come back and bite him later. But there is nothing pointing to that at the time.

After that, Negan kills Glenn too, who was the main protagonist of the season finale Last Day on Earth, the whole episode was filmed on his point of view perspective as we previously discussed.

The story arc “Something to fear” that we’re about to see next fall, starts with Glenn’s frightful death and with that in mind, the producers reeled us into believing that Glenn was going to be killed in the season 6 finale Last Day on Earth filming the whole episode as Glenn’s last day on earth.

But then the producers went on and killed Abraham instead. Catharsis, is the term used in these cases, when the audience is relieved to see that the main protagonist has survived an imminent tragedy that was destined to him. But then when everyone drops their guard down, they’ll switched the bait again, killing Glenn too, leaving everyone in shock.

“We have to do an episode that justifies it to you, we have to do something so great and so intense, that you’re like: Ok, fair play! And the challenge that we have, what we're gonna do, we’re gonna deliver you something fantastic!” – Said executive producer Scott Gimple on the season 7 premiere.

It’s clearly no surprise that The Walking Dead is considered as one of the most dramatic television shows in history.

Something To Fear

Alt Text

To add more drama to an already explosive premiere, Daryl, fan favorite numero uno (played by Norman Reedus) is taken prisoner by Negan and his crew.

Even though he was badly injured with a bullet lodged in his shoulder, Daryl was the only one that tried to stop Negan from killing Glenn, he was caught by Dwight who almost shot him with his own Crossbow, but Negan decided that they’ve killed enough for one day and they took Daryl with them to their sanctuary as a hostage. They they treated his wounds, removed his clothes and replace them with a white inmate jumpsuit that has a big “A” spray painted on the back, and they fed him dog food. The "A" stands for asshole.

For those of you who didn’t want to wait until the end of the summer, I hope you enjoyed this, and unless I have been deceived (which is quite improbable) this is exactly what you will see on the small screen come October 23rd .

I hope you liked this small scoop and I wish a great weekend to everyone!

Sort:  

Wait, so Gimple leaked this info to you?! Why would that asshat do that considering all their effort to keep everything secret?

Whatever, all that suspense that was built up in the last episode has completely faded by now and I honestly don't care who dies anymore, and not sure that I'm even interested in being jerked around by Gimple anymore.

Please remember that Mr Gimple wasn't mentioned neither as a source nor as an asshat. There is no way, shape or form that I call anyone asshat on here. And I'm sorry if this post offended you, that was not my intention.

I'm speaking of course on the basis that you do know full well, that are many many people with access to this information, not only in the writer's room. Here in steemit, this wasn't addressed yet, so I did it myself, I try to bring value to the community any way I can, and I'm sorry if that offended you.

That being said, I truly understand why people got disappointed with the cliffhanger, I totally get it. They had to make it up to the fans with the most shock value possible, as they themselves admitted several times. In this case it's the death of two characters, and the kidnapping of another.

I can't tell you how I know, but I promise you this: Come October, you will see several of the details mentioned above, including Daryl taken as a hostage and wearing the jumpsuit with the "A" and then brought back and paraded in Alexandria to break down the others.

As I said, I'm sorry, I put in a big spoiler alert, some people like it, others don't.. But I thought I will share with the community. Plus it could be a good idea (or not) in October, to post" as predicted on steemit."

I wish you a nice evening!

I'm not offended by your post, it's smart to cash in on your exclusive knowledge, I would've done the same. What I'm pissed about is that the show runners somehow thought they could keep a lid on this for so long and still deliver shock value, which as your post demonstrates they could not do. Even putting spoiler tags doesn't help much as many people on the Internet will repost the information without spoiler tags and is often difficult to avoid.

Regardless, I'll still probably check out the first episode and re-evaluate from there if I still want to watch.

Just check it out, you may like it! I have few doubts that the entire half-season will be a very good season, I know bits from the first seven episodes.. But I agree with you completely on the other thing, and I do understand that you're pissed.

Kirkman came clean: love it, hate it, or be indifferent. We just want you to talk, and talk you did. You know, at least he was straight.

As I said, give it a shot and decide. You may like it :)

The suspense just gets you @the-alien

Haha you may be right ;)

It always does - thank you for the ice cream scoop - definitely made my night
Later

Damn it! Why did I HAVE to read past the spoiler alert! I hope this is all a lie!

Oh, i dont read after the spoiler

Sorry! I said major spoiler alert just in case.. I should've made it bigger!

i actually think it oesnt matter what ep shon. they can just go with whatever and say the circle scene was cut

Yeah, yeah you're right, the eenie meenie doesn't matter at all. They even explained that on The Talking Dead immediately after the finale.

i would like to see more walking dead episodes.
It is just simply amazing series :D

I know, it's a great series!

How accurate is this though?

It's hard to explain without giving away how I know this. But as I said earlier, come October you will see at least most of what is reported here happening exactely as mentionned, including Daryl taken prisoner, the jumpsuit everything, the the introduction of the Negan's sanctuary will be having Daryl as the "guest" as what they did with the Michonne and Andrea in Woodburry. Later they will parade him in Alexandria in the jumpsuit, and make Rick hold Lucille..etc. These things will happen if that's what you're asking.

I like the movie.. :-)

This is awesome. I read the spoilers because I never really got into the show but like all of us youre getting something out of steem and its only been like a month!!

You're right! I've been here for six week but I feel home. Also the first post I wrote about some filming techniques and the Walking Dead had a very good reception so, when I got the scoop, I thought I can bring value to my fellow steemians :)

this was a nice lil scoop, and i love TWD

I'm glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55