100 Film Challenge 2018 (Week 1)

in #film7 years ago

I'm trying to watch 100 movies I've never seen before this year. To document my progress, I will be posting weekly updates on the movies I've watched during the preceding week, along with my brief (spoiler-free, because I'm not a jerk) thoughts about them. So, without further adieu, here is week 1!

  1. The Founder - A thoroughly entertaining biopic on the "founder" of McDonald's. I'd be lying if I said that this movie didn't make me hungry for that fast food chain's greasy, yet satisfying nonsense. Even though Ray Kroc is portrayed as a borderline sociopath (in a fantastic performance by Michael Keaton) it did more to sell me hot burgery trash than Ronald and Grimace have in 20 years!

  2. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest - Eh, this movie was ok. It felt too long and a lot of the attempts at humor fell flat, but that seems to be par for the course with live action Disney movies of late! Jack Sparrow was still likeable, but the new characters were pretty forgettable, and Javier Bardem was criminally underutilized.

  3. Lethal Weapon - Somehow I had managed to avoid seeing this movie until now, despite the fact that it is firmly planted in my wheelhouse. I love 80s action movies, and this one was great. The characters were awesome, and the chemistry between Danny Glover and Mel Gibson was very fun to watch. Will definitely be watching the rest of the Lethal Weapon movies this year (Although I saw LW4 when I was little, so I won't be counting it.

And that's it! See you next Monday. And if you have suggestions, leave them in the comments, because I'd love to hear them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @maremccheese! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maremccheese! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51