Film Review: 'Blood and Black Lace (1964)': Bava's MasterpiecesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #film5 years ago (edited)

Blood And Black Lace (1964), directed by Mario Bava; starring Cameron Mitchell, Eva Bartok, Thomas Reiner, and Mary Arden.

To be honest, as a horror fan,I never really “got” the great Italian horrormeister Mario Bava, until I saw Blood and Black Lace. His famous b&w gothic films, like Black Sunday (1960), don’t affect me the way this film does. I think Bava — a former fine arts painter—had to film in color before truly coming into his own.

Blood and Black Lace is often billed as the very first “giallo”, an Italian film genre that usually combines suspense, gore, scandals, and sexy ladies in a crime thriller or horror storyline. It’s also considered Bava's ultimate masterpiece, although fans of Black Sunday may disagree.

Fifties B-movie actor Cameron Mitchell heads a cast of mostly Italian/Continental stock players in a story about models who work for a fancy fashion house in Rome. A mysterious masked man is picking them off one by one in brutal ways. The MacGuffin that drives the plot is a secret diary kept by one of the girls.

Yes, the storyline is rather thin and trite, and the dubbing for the English-language version is iffy, but nobody watches a Bava film for the plot or the acting. No, we watch for the inimitable Bava style, the colors, the suspense sequences, the costumes, and the best chiaroscuro images since the Renaissance master Caravaggio.

Bava absolutely drenches this film in riotous color, most especially a brilliant shade of cardinal red, which he manages to include in almost every scene. There are red telephones, red draperies, red dress mannequins, red flower arrangements. Bava even puts Mitchell in a bright red patterned weskit for the final sequence. The use of red obviously influenced Dario Argento’s legendary red-drenched horror film, Suspiria (1977).

In addition to picking out red everywhere, Bava’s artful camera also lingers uncomfortably on the death scenes of the models, some of which are particularly sadistic. One model is beaten, strangled, and tortured with a hot stove. Another girl is stalked through a darkened, cluttered antiques store in an epically suspenseful game of cat-and-mouse. Still another girl is drowned in a bathroom sink while dressed only in her white lace undies—fairly daring for 1964.

The amazing cinematography is credited to Uboldo Terano, but as is usual, Bava shot a lot of the footage himself, uncredited. Carlo Rustichelli wrote the very Sixties score, which features plenty of jazzy, seductive brass instruments; he also scored Bava’s earlier gothic, The Whip and the Body (1963), starring Christopher Lee.

Blood and Black Lace is streaming on US Amazon Prime as of this writing.

Sort:  

You cannot possibly know how excited I am to see you review this movie! See, I picked it up on LaserDisc a few months ago, and after watching The Bird With the Crystal Plumage yesterday, I decided I really needed to watch Blood & Black Lace as my next foray into the Giallo genre. Your review has encouraged me that this is a phenomenal idea, so expect my own review here sooner or later! :D

Whenever you need some advice on interesting gialli, just scream...

AAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! :D

In all seriousness, I know very little about the genre and I only own a handful of titles that could be considered "Giallo" films. If you've got suggestions or recommendations for me, especially if they're available on LaserDisc (because I'm a nerd like that), recommend away! I would like to know more. :)

I heard your scream here in Portugal.

Give me some time to come up with an answer to that. I can probably come up with at least a dozen titles, I just don't know a thing about LaserDisc availability so you will have to figure that out for yourself ;>)

I'm sure you can give geat advice!

In case you're interested too, just let me know :>)

I think you will like it a lot. The antiques store sequence is brilliant.

I think you will like
It a lot. The antiques store
Sequence is brilliant.

                 - janenightshade


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I was very much into giallo about a decade ago. I believe it indeed started with getting to see Suspiria ( still one of my favorites, haven't seen the remake yet ). After watching a lot of Argento films, I learnt about Lucio Fulci and then about Mario Bava ( and his son Lamberto ).

The film you describe here isn't my favorite Mario Bava film, although I'm not a fan of Black Sunday ( that one bored me ) either. Some of his films that I really enjoyed are: Black Sabbath ( was lucky enough to see that one on the big screen at an underground film screening ), Planet of the Vampires and a Bay of Blood. Shock was also pretty entertaining, in my opinion.

Have you seen these movies and if so, how did you like them? :>)

I've seen and liked Black Sabbath, and have Bay of Blood and Shock on my "to-watch list." I was also lucky enough to see Black Sabbath on the big screen at a Bava Film Festival years ago!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65174.92
ETH 3530.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51