A few great sci-fi movie tittles for your enjoymentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #film7 years ago (edited)

After seeing the awesome response from my last post about the movie Seconds, I decided to go have a look at the "archive" and reminisce a bit. This time I want to drop some newer tittles that I love.
Here's the part one of some (not so old) favorite sci-fi movies...

I'm going to write a very short review and my thoughts about the movies, without any spoilers. At least I hope so... The list is not sorted in any particular order. There's many better movies sitting on the shelves, waiting for a dust off. But we've gotta start somewhere:


10 Cloverfield Lane (2016)

After getting in a car accident, a woman is held in a shelter with two men, who claim the outside world is affected by a widespread chemical attack. (IMDb)

This is a sequel to the awesome sci-fi movie Cloverfield. But it's completely different...
For the most part of the movie, no one knows what's really happening. The movie relies entirely on the story, since all we have is 3 actors in a very confined space. This reminds me of an old movie named 12 Angry men and Buried. It's great to see a movie that doesn't need "special effects" or action to be entertaining. Even tho, this movie certainly has some top notch special effects as well.


Ex Machina (2014)

A young programmer is selected to participate in a ground-breaking experiment in synthetic intelligence by evaluating the human qualities of a breath-taking humanoid A.I. (IMDb)

It's very unlikely that any of you haven't seen this movie yet. But If you haven't, well then you are in for a treat! Not many new movies are even nearly as well developed as this one. Don't even look at the trailer, just put it to the list.


Galaxy Quest (1999)

The alumni cast of a space opera television series have to play their roles as the real thing when an alien race needs their help. (IMDb)

I have only seen this one recently and I can't believe that I haven't heard about the tittle before. Sure it's just a comedy, but the cast is really good and the movie is entertaining right from the start. And it's not all about the laughs. The move has a balance of everything you'd expect and maybe more? A great watch for the entire family. I went in without any expectations, only to be very pleasantly surprised.


Robot & Frank (2012)

Set in the near future, an ex-jewel thief receives a gift from his son: a robot butler programmed to look after him. But soon the two companions try their luck as a heist team. (IMDb)

Another somewhat low-key movie that shows that Hollywood can sometimes make decent movies. They are few and far between. Robot & Frank is by no means a masterpiece, but it's quite believable and overall enjoyable.


So there it is... 4 tittles for you folks. I'll continue the list soon. Let me know what's your thoughts about these tittles, What are your favorite movies and why. What would you like to see? Don't be a stranger. ;)

Sort:  

I loved 10 Cloverfield Ln.
I haven't seen the others, I'll have to check them out!

You are in for a treat. Robot and frank is ok but the other two are really good in my opinion. ;)

Ok cool, thanks for the tip!

Holy smoke! I can't believe someone liked the post. :D @gamer00 Thanks for the support bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70