It will be if it is meant to be, in the service of the community

in #filipino5 years ago (edited)

We did the first outreach to our elementary and high school alma mater last 2017 and it was very successful. We distributed school supplies for free to students from day care to grade 12. All the hand and leg works were a collaboration among those who had time to spare. While only a few of us were able to join up to the site, there were still us together. It was my pleasure and honor to be the treasurer and overall coordinator of the outreach program.

20190526_224940.jpg
I designed the tarpaulin knowing that the outreach may not push thru.

This year, the outreach was planned to be done in conjunction with homecoming of all other batches. We have communicated our participation with matching outreach and it was well received. However as the date drew near, the challenge kept dragging on. This outreach was a lot more challenging than our first.

20190526_225213.jpg


20190526_225154.jpg
But amazing people were ready to help.

I was out of corporate life when we did the 2017 activity so I had all the time to do the coordination. However this time, I don't. I knew that I can squeeze in treasurer and procurement tasks so I accepted the responsibility. However, I was not expecting that no one will be available to help out with the muscle works. Some of those who pledged have sent their money, some are yet to do the same. I thought I will be able to find a way to fund the target supplies while waiting for the pledges so that part will be fine. However, I will not be able to haul more than a thousand of notebooks, pad papers and other school supplies. I contacted some of my batch mates who I thought will have time to spare but all were busy. The one who was willing to spare time was sick. There is another one who is willing to help but only one is not enough. And, he can only help on the purchasing, not up to the transportation and more.

20190526_224800.jpg
Even if they are not from our batch.

Buying the supplies alone will need hauling. How much more with the repacking and transportation to the site if I am alone? I will be coming from Metro Manila. Who will transport everything from Baguio City to Zambales? I thought of my elder brothers but they too have their own responsibilities.

20190526_225111.jpg
The hardwork becomes easy with many hands on it.

Nine days before the date, Maundy Thursday, I made up my mind. I will cancel the program. It will be much easier to return the monies of the donors than trying to kill myself with the responsibility. Who cares if they get disappointed when I am not superwoman? But on that same day, a miracle happened!

20190526_221938.jpg
And groupie is only proper after the tiresome repacking.

I accidentally met my elder brother's batch mate and had chit chat with her. She was part of the organizing committee for the overall homecoming and I mentioned my dilemma so I will just cancel our outreach program. She said no, it can not be cancelled because it was entered into the overall activity program which was already communicated to the community. Then she asked me what help I would need. I told her and she said she will help. Wow, someone who is not our batch mate will take care of our school supplies! Amazing!

20190526_221808.jpg
Getting ready before the crowd assembles. This is it!

I spent Black Saturday purchasing what's on my list. On Easter Sunday, I had a batch mate who helped me retrieve the supplies. We deliver them to where my brother's batch mate has recommended. That was when I left everything and came back to Metro Manila.

20190526_221744.jpg
The tarpaulin is serving its purpose. My design is not going to waste after all.

On 26 April, I travelled to Zambales and found all eleven boxes of school supplies waiting to be repacked. And the tarpaulin was untouched. That was really amazing! Everything has reached the destination about 230 kilometers away without me or anyone from my batch accompanying the supplies.

20190526_224845.jpg
The crowd is starting to grow.

My three batch mates in elementary who stay in that place were already waiting to help in the repacking. What's more? Two guys who are not part of our batch came to help. One of them just popped up by the door and asked, "how can I help, batch mates?" We all know he is not our batch mate but he claimed and stood for us in the spirit of community service. I was mum but God knows how grateful I was.

20190526_224915.jpg
Thanks to teachers who helped drew the crowd in order.

The distribution was a little challenging the following day when a few (that's a consolation!) tried to get their way with us. However with the help of others who are not our batch mates and even few of the teachers, everything ended up well and smooth.

20190526_224818.jpg
Without help from others outside our batch, I am sure things would have been much harder but thanks to them. Everything went well.

Except for bags which were out of our budget, we distributed sets of school supplies to 177 students from day care to grade 12. We were also able to give teaching aids as tokens to 13 teachers who were counted as 14 in terms of the supplies because one of them was handling two grade levels.

20190526_224655.jpg
Again, even if they are not from our batch.

20190526_224632.jpg
My legs were wobbly of fatigue but the show must go on. There is nothing more important that day than to respond to all smiles of students lining in front of us. And I just kept loving my shirt even if they ran out of my small size. 💖😊💖

In the evening was the closing program of the homecoming wherein certificates of appreciation were awarded. It was an honor to receive the certificate on behalf of my batch but with all due credits to others outside our batch.

Now here's an ironic part: I am not part of the high school batch '93! Yes, I graduated elementary in that place but our family left right after. Well, the real batch '93 alumni were saying I am their adopted mate. Thanks then for adopting me!

20190526_234717.jpg
Humor of the day. I did not plan to wear the same color of the certificate 😃.

I was dead tired that evening that I wasn't able to wait for the closing program to finish. I went to bed with all the gratitude that I was able to cross the activity over to its fulfilment. The saying is true. "If it's meant to be, it will be. No matter what." Along with my gratitude 8s a prayer that may the school supplies we distributed will serve their purpose: education for all.

20190526_230417.jpg
I also went to bed with a dream that hopefully next time, the school supplies will be in bags already.

God bless everyone who helped!

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

You've done such an amazing work! I can imagine it was difficult for you to decide to cancel the program so I'm glad that you met the girl who helped you out. Even though you're busy at work you're able to do such an activity for the community. You're a very nice person :)

Oh, there is one thing that caught my attention. You said 'black Saturday' - do you mean Saturday during Easter time? It's so funny because we call it 'while Saturday' :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Hi there @delishtreats! Thanks for all your compliments. I actually thought that I would eventually cry if I will cancel the outreach program. So yes, it was a very kind experience to have met someone accidentally. I can't find the right words to describe how the world connived to still make it possible. 😊

Yes, that is the Saturday that I was referring to. The Saturday right before Easter Sunday. I think they call it black because of the "mourning" for Christ's death. Then people rejoice the following day on Easter. I wonder why it is "white" to you over there?

Enjoy the rest of the week! 😊

Nakakatuwa naman ang mga kaganapan. Pati ako, kinabahan habang binabasa ko yung post mo. haha. At nakangiti rin ako habang nagpapatuloy ako sa pagbabasa. Congratulations for the successful outreach program! :)

So totoo lang, akala ko iiyakan ko yong pagka-cancel ng outreach eh. Iniisip ko pa lang, ang sama na ng loob ko. Mabuti na lang at may nag-magandang loob. Di ko maipaliwanag kung anong nararamdaman ko pero basta, alam na ni Lord yon. Siya na rin ang bahala. 😊

Salamat... 😊

Hola querida @macoolette! Te felicito fue una actividad muy linda, gracias a Dios y a todas las personas que colaboraron todo salió bien.

Mis piernas se tambaleaban de fatiga, pero el espectáculo debía continuar.

A pesar del cansancio nunca dejaste de sonreír, además tienes una sonrisa muy linda, cuídate cariños y besos.

Thank you very much for your kind words, Celina! Yes, by God's grace everything went well. The fatigue was all worth it. 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much!

You got a 43.73% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Wow lots of hard work and perseverance, nice to hear that others chipped in when you thought you might have to cancel the whole thing. "Batch mate" is a term I am not familiar with - is this a term for your peers who graduated in the same class year as you?

It was heart breaking just to think that I will cancel the outreach program but yes, everything still fell into place. Thanks to people with good hearts!

Yap, that is what we refer to as our "batch mates". Is there a better word for that? 😃

I think the whole identifying with your graduating class after graduation and doing things as a group just isn't as big of a thing here in the US I guess. I am not aware of any equivalent words/phrases.

We have class and batch reunions. For this particular batch that I am talking about, I don't recall how the idea came out but we suddenly thought of "giving back" activities as part of our reunion.

Howdy macoolette! oh, that is wonderful of you and your friends! Great job, I know that took tons of work but it's such a worthwhile project so well done! Are you doing it again next year?

I'm not really sure about next year or when will be the next outreach. It is not something strategic that we plan a year or longer before it happens. Someone or few of us would just come up with the idea of doing it "this year" and we make it happen in few months. I hope we will be able to make it "more regular" though. And I hope more hands will be on it next time. 😊

Howdy again macoolette! Yes it looks like the most important part of the project will be to line up a group of helpers and get their committment before hand. I hope you can do it more often too, what a blessing!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=if-it-is-meant-to-be-it-will-be-in-the-service-of-the-community


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54