Cash Only (50-Word Challenge)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

If you haven't done the 50-word challenge, give it a shot! @jayna has a weekly prompt -- here's my response to this week's challenge.


Source

Cash Only

She looked at the stack of papers—pictures of famous people with numbers written on top.

“Yew gon’ pay with those?”

Don nodded.

“Yew best find a bank.”

Don didn’t move.

“Yew gon’ go? That ain’t real money!”

Don replied “sign says cash only.”

“Says government cash, not yer doodles!”

--

Hope you liked that! I host a haiku contest and I'll have a NEW ROUND later this week. Follow me to hear about it!

UPDATE August 29, 2018

Looks like readers got tripped up with my old American wild west dialogue. Here's the story in modern English:

Cash Only

She looked at the stack of papers—pictures of famous people with numbers written on top.

“Are you going to pay with those?”

Don nodded.

“You'd better find a bank.”

Don didn’t move.

“Are you going to go to the bank? What you gave me isn't real money!”

Don replied “your sign says this establishment takes cash only, no checks or credit cards.”

“Yes, I meant cash that's issued by the government, not just something you drew on a piece of paper!”

Sort:  

I'm sure i'm missing something in the tale; the double entendre of the accent. But, in any case, the story opens up all kinds of interpretations and discussions about the arbitrariness of money as we know it, and now with cripto currencies, well, the sky is the limit.

Yes, something like that. Thank you for reading! Touched.

This reminds me of that artist who would draw and use very obvious counterfeit money, though with no intent to defraud. Still got in some legal trouble over it as I remember.

Wasn't me! Did you write a 50-worder? I enjoy your freewrites!

Thanks! I'm working on it. 50-worders are hard, you really need a good picture to work from.

That's how people may feel today, too with cryptos. :) Smart idea to travel way back into the past. The picture you've chosen helped me to understand the context as I am not an English native speaker. Was kind of hard to get the accent.

Good. Sorry about the accent...bad author choice!

This read like something from a Tarintino movie... Great job.. 👍

Too good your story friend @vdux, if you lived here in Venezuela you would realize how real it is ha ha ha ha
Twitterpost: https://twitter.com/fpadilla20/status/1034936136941137920

Yikes. I hear you guys just got a new currency. So sorry to hear about all the problems down there.

However now steemit represents for us a light at the end of the tunnel. Thank you very much for your support and patience LOL

I think you are too clever for me, @vdux! I'm hoping that once all the guesses are in about whether Don is or is not holding real money, you will tell us all your intent!

Here are the possibilities that come to mind:

  1. Don is trying to pay with home-made counterfeit money.
  2. He has traveled back in time and is trying to pay with unrecognizable money from the the future.
  3. The shopkeeper has a sense of humor and is messing with him.

Or... perhaps there is a possibility I hadn't considered!

Oh maybe I should have kept it like that, something people can interpret more broadly...well, I just updated the post with a rewrite in normal English, instead of American dialect from the wild west.

Hi @vdux! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 107 contributions, your post is ranked at #75. You've shown some user interaction, try more of it! Feel free to join our Discord server!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46