Fifty Word Challenge. Week 4. Subjec: Zoo.

The new fiftywords theme @miniature-tiger for week 4 is "ZOO".
My submission is as follows (50 words, title not included).

When The Tables Were Turned

In fifty words:

The hippo was keeping them quiet.

"That’s the last one," the caracal turned the key.

"I’ve lost count," the Turkey vulture stretched a wing.

The Philippine tarsier found the challenge daunting:

"Do we now have to make labels for all of them?"

"One will do. They are all the same."
Sort:  

This is a lovely use of the #fiftywords !
I wonder if I was an animal I'd fancy being the hippo.
I'm so interested in this and how much more expanded it could be, potentially a novel of an animal escape? Or animals doing science? The mysteries.... @lonestarpoet

Don't encourage me! I'm trying to cut down....
I shall read more of you to learn more tricks of the sober (word count) trade. Your haiku reminds me how the first (zappy zoomers to reach the top) will be the last. Unless of course you are the first (planted their in contemplation). Then as the on(e)ly one (1) you are never first (neither a follower or a leader be).
Considering the rule of haiku with its counterpoint, I am still considering your haiku.

LOL I love your first line ' I'm trying to cut down.... '
had me laughin good.
Well, yes, I am the one planted in contemplation, enjoying the scenery around me and using what I experience as my muse :)
Rule of haiku with its counterpoint? Is there an unspoken rule to haikus that I'm unaware of?

Yes, I get you're the Zen master in this scene. Also the adventurer, if you ask me...

It being Japanese, it is wise to expect (the game of) Haiku to have many formal and often unusable rules (in any other language). I dare not venture on this terrain which I liken to a syllogism (as tricky to get right).... I learned about Haiku only recently, so I may still be confused, I found @dbooster useful (and liberating, since he scraps a lot of the rules for English)- but try finding the relevant post back again on this here today gone tomorrow site. The contrast-element, or sudden twist is still important, I think. I note that Haikus do my head in for all the space they create, which I'd love to just sit in, but then I wouldn't understand them...

I am sure you know what you are doing and haven't missed a trick. But here is anyway what I could backtrack to: https://steemit.com/haiku/@dbooster/why-is-haiku-concerned-with-seasonal-change-quora-answer, and https://steemit.com/haiku/@dbooster/does-haiku-have-to-be-17-syllables and https://steemit.com/haiku/@dbooster/do-haiku-need-to-be-three-lines.

But darling! That is way out of my league! What a massive challenge.... Then again, someone has to start somewhere... Calling in the decorators, ordering the paints, thinking hard....

Next line: The buffalo produced a banner from the corner. It read 'Homo Sapiens'.

Your writing is great! Love it 👍😃

This is very clever. I love the role reversal idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69947.15
ETH 3908.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71