Fifty-Words challenge - Full Moon

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

imageedit_5_8037941489.gif

The moon was stunning tonight. So big and bright. John couldn't stop admiring the celestial show. Water reflections were especially beautiful this evening. Trees and houses drew dark silhouettes giving a grim look to the landscape.
It could have been a wonderful summer night if only... The flood took everything.


My contribution to the 50-word challenge hosted by @jayna, was built around one of my photo edits. The given prompt is water and I believe the photo I chose and enhanced with a ripple effect works perfectly.
The background of my short story...the rainy Summer we experienced this year. It rained for weeks and the terrain became saturated. Having many creeks in the mountains did not help so we had some troubles with the flood. Nothing terrible but enough to upset some of the people living next to the water.
Back in August we had the full sturgeon moon and I had to photograph it. During that time happened the flood I was talking about. The night covered the damage made by the waters and the moon's reflection was wonderful.
The character of my story lost everything but he still sees the beauty of the nature's forces. He cannot do anything but starting all over and admire the bright full moon.
I hope you like my story and the photo edit. 🙂


Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

It's great and scary too :) Well done my dear Roxy!

Thank you, Erika. I'm very happy that you liked my story. 😊

Always a pleasure, you know that! I've been meaning to ask you, how are things around here since I have adopted you? Any changes? 😏

Things got better. I've learned a lot from you and still learning. Also, resteeming my posts is a very good exposure. Plus, you brought me good luck as I won two prizes since you adopted me. 🙂

Wow, I'm very glad to hear that! There are other (bts) things you don't know but it's ok, so far so good :))
I'm glad you're satisfied with what's happening :)

I have a goal by the end of the year. If things are going well, I will adopt a newbie (or more). This is what I like about Steemit: you can make people happy just clicking around.
Things I don't know? You know, cats are very curious creatures. 🙂

Sorry cat lady, you have to trust me on this! :))

I guess a kid should trust the parents. I put my faith in you, adopting momma. 🙂

You adopt people? How wonderful!

Thank you! Yes, I adopt please who have great content and could use help.

Bitter sweet. The majestic moon's beauty offset by the damage it's gravitational pull is capable of unleashing when coupled with heavy rains...

Surprise surprise! You kept the plot tight to the very end. Great.
We have some of that right now in South of the country. All the beauty and fascination for the scenery of mighty Orinoco must look very different now for those people.

I'm happy you liked my story.
I'm sure those people are not very happy as we cannot compare Orinoco with a little mountain creek. Hopefully things will get better there.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The given prompt is water and I belive the photo I chose and enhanced with a ripple effect works perfectly.
It should be believe instead of belive.

Thank you, @grammarnazi. I corrected it.

What a romantic scenery i am sure you and John are sitting by that moonlight with a glass of red wine despite all the rain :)

I'm glad you liked the photo, @hangin. However, if I sit with John and admire the moon, my husband would be very upset. His name is Alex. 😂
John seemed fit for my character as this is a very common name and, usually, the floods are affecting many people.

Ohhhhh....no you don't want to upset Alex.

Floods are terrible it always sadness me when i see flooded areas so sad for the people and animals hope you were not affected.

Luckily our creek behave this year. Its level grew a little but no damage done. The flood hit in a different area and affected the main road of the town. But everthing was sorted in two days. 🙂

Lucky for that glad it all got sorted with the town :)

Awesome work. Upvoted.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. 🙂

Very nice, @roxy-cat! I absolutely love that moving water image.

One teensy thing. You want to change "draw" to "drew" since you have past tense working.

Thank you for pointing out. I was sure there are mistakes as I wrote the post in the car with my daughter jumping all over me. @grammarnazi already paid a visit. Amendment made. 🙂

That’s amazing you were able to post under those circumstances! 😆

I had a draft and started to work on it when the little tornado hit me. And I really wanted to share my story since I skipped last week. Lesson learnt: always triple check before posting. 🙂
I could have done it later on but the internet connection is not very stable in the mountains.

I'm so impressed! Thank you for persisting through challenges to get your story posted. It's really a conversation starter!

Thank you for your support, @jayna. It means a lot. I joined your challenge some time ago as I swa it a good way to practice my English and writing skills. But soon I started to love it and I cannot imagine a week without an entry. Your feedback is more than welcomed, plus that I'm learning a lot from such a talented writer as you.
Not to mention the great stories I'm reading every week. 🙂

That's a lovely photo of the moon @roxy-cat and I love the short story!!

Thank you, @deerjay. Much appreciated.

You're very welcome @roxy-cat!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

lovely piece! Btw how do you create ripple effect like this one?

Thanks. There are different apps with digital effects. For this one I used LunaPic. Ripple effect can be found under the animation tab. The photos are transformed into gifs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31