Fifty Word Contest - A fresh start

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

After a very long absence (and I'm really sorry for this) I'm back among my very dear and talented 50-worders or "the clan". The last two months of the year were absolutely hectic but now things started to settle. So, I'm joining again @jayna's challenge, Fifty Word Contest. This week prompt is clean and I chose to use it as part of a proverb.

WaterMark_2018-12-29-14-34-28.jpeg

Derek looked at the huge building and felt small. The windows mirroring the morning sun somehow frightened him. Who knows what he will find behind those walls?
Taking a deep breath and with a big smile on his face, he pushed the door. After all, a new broom sweeps clean.


The image I used for this short story is an edit of one of my photos. I took it during a coffee break at work and I felt is quite fit for this post. Tall buildings can be very intimidating, especiallyfor those starting a new job or returning to the office after a long absence. 😉


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Winter (these being the theme until 28th of February).

steemit-border

20181229_101336_0000.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Welcome back, @roxy-cat! I'm so glad you're finding time for 50-word stories again. Did you see it is now a weekly contest? I decided to switch things up a few weeks ago.

I really enjoyed reading your story. It has all the important components: a character (Derek), a conflict (his fear of entering the tall, intimidating building), and a resolution (his decision to face his fear and enter the building). I'm not sure if he is a cleaning person, or if the "new broom" reference is a metaphor for a fresh start. Either way, it's an interesting read, and I like the character's small victory in the end!

Thank you for your nice comment, @jayna. I know you changed things a bit but it is still a pleasure to participate. 🙂

The proverb I used is an English one meaning that a new employee will do a better job than an old one. I learned it last month when I returned to work and I switched teams. I'm a newbie on this department but the pressure is quite high. However I love adrenaline. 🙂

Ha ha, good thing you do! Good luck with the new job. I like that expression and will certainly find it handy.

Thank you, @jayna. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94