...For the Trees :: 50 Word Short Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

This is an entry for the Word Story Prompt Challenge coordinated and managed under @jayna's skillful hands.

In this round, our prompt is "Forest."

I think I'm getting into the habit of wanting to add some backstory to some of my little 50 word stories. I don't know if it's cheating to use this technique to bypass the limited words of a 50 word story and add extra color and meaning in the guise of a preface, but I'm doing it anyway. It's the blockchain. You can't stop me (you can only flag me, and then I shall rise more powerful than ever before! Or something.)

Anyway, I was born and raised in Wisconsin, and in the far northern regions of the state they still have massive white pine forests, original growth of some 200 to 500 years old. Logging in Wisconsin really took off after the state forced the local indian tribes to give their land to the US, thus opening the lands to logging activity. Most of the forests were logged off during the construction boom of the great cities of Chicago and Milwaukee, using the Wisconsin River as the conduit to transport their timber. Still, the north still contains some remnants of these stately forests.


...For the Trees

A forest of white pine, eternal and untouched. Thick roots grasping deep into the soil, seeking out strength and stability. Beneath the canopy, deer leap and raccoons scamper. Even the birds that flutter from branch to branch are complacent in their safety.

In the distance, a chainsaw roars to life.







Title photo assembed by @negativer using Canva from image provided by Pexels.

Old pine tree harvesting historical photo from Free-Images.com

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

We are still lucky in that respect atleast for few years, I think.

Sounds so ideal without human intervention. Except you missed the part where roaming packs of Timberwolves viciously take down and devour the leaping deer like a hoard of swarming zombies. Or where the Hawks and eagles snipe the fluttering birds out of the air to rip them apart with their razor sharp talons. It's a dog eat dog world, even without humans disturbing the "peace" with their noisy chainsaws. Great imagery.

It's true. It's not a Disney movie out there in real life, but at least the creatures are not trying their hardest to upset the balance and destroy everything.

Maybe if they could they would, but they're not :)

I read your story first and then the backstory ... I think that melds the light side with the dark side well ... lol. We are really lucky in Vancouver. So many trees and real forests never far away. But what I would like is to merge the forest with the city ... then we could live like hobbits ... lol ... I guess I am feeling silly:)

Hobbit living is not so bad! I'd love to live in an underground house, at one with the earth. Thx for reading!

I love it, @negativer! And I love backstory, too. I’ve provided that with several of my 50-word Short stories, particularly anything historic. I approve. 😁

I like the backstory part of it too. It puts a little meat on the bones of the post, and shows (where applicable) that the words have some real meaning to the author. Thanks for giving the OK on it; I probably stole the idea from you. :)

I do agree about the relevance thing. There is only so much you can convey with 50 words, and when there’s a story behind the story, I think it’s great to add that. One of the #fiftywords stories where I added the backstory was one about the assassination of Lincoln. Another, if I recall, was one I wrote about the Unabomber.

I love how you always have to throw in the dark humor. Or, I hope it was supposed to be humorous. I giggled.
Nice stuff homeburger!

Your story moves me. It makes me both angry and sad. I think the backstory also adds a lot to the impact.

Very well done!

Thank you for reading @adigitalife! I like the backstory portion to add a bit of extra knowledge to the post, some of our own personal flavor. Feel free to do the same for your own 50 word stories :)

I am already in love with this story..but l might exceed the 50words limitation...its very cteative and amazing though.thanks for the exposure @negativer

Thanks for reading!

Bitter-sweet... or sweet-bitter in this case. 42 words of loveliness, then the rasp of the chainsaw spoils the forest vibe.. A sad truth.. Very well written..

Thank you for reading! It is indeed sad to see some of these great forests fall. Men do these things to survive, but it makes it no less sad that is has to be done.

Do we really need the reams and reams of paper in this digital world though?? Man sometimes forgets how much we need the trees that help us to breath, and are host to habitats that are destroyed, when they are chopped down.. The goal like so much in this world, is material gain.. Greed will be the ruination of us..

There's a lot of information packed into those fifty words. I like it!

Thanks!

...For the forest, love that tittle. Is nice and awesome to have a background story/explanation to let us know more about from where did come the inspiration and meaning. Great story @negativer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27