"Now I Die." I 50-Word Story for @jayna

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)


Image in the Public Domain, under license CC0, by Max Pixel

Now I Die

The fading sunlight feasts on Virginia’s freckles, as it still veils the stars to come—not for long. Done her little choreography, the dreamed thirteen-year-old makes a caravan, and stares. Dreaming 93-year-old Virginia has finally found her; stares back. There she is, eighty years before her demise. And she’s gone.


Image in the Public Domain, under license CC0, by Public Domain Picture.net


This is my entry into @jayna's Fifty-Word Challenge. You can read the rules here and you might want to participate.
The prompt for this week is "soul."


About this story

What would your soul look like if it was a person? I like to imagine mine is a hot brunette and a salsa dancer, but I guess it is more like a forty-year-old loner with a taste for strong beer and coffee and too many cats (hopefully enough wine). I also like to think my ego is in a safe place in between the extremes, but you can never tell when you have made your peace with the alien you are; then you are definitely biased.

Your soul is supposed to be that part of you which is pretty much your actual you: your character, thoughts, feelings, etc. In order to get my fingers typing, I imagined that (fictional) moment before I die. Would I see my real me, or this better version of myself I ever was while I was alive?


Thanks for reading.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://marlyncabrera.timeets.com/2018/11/05/now-i-die-i-50-word-story-for-jayna/


Soy compañera de viaje en


Logo diseñado por @octocel

Y miembro de @talentclub.


Imagen diseñada por @wilins

En @EquipoCardumen te invitamos a seguir de cerca el trabajo de @talentclub, @helpie, @reveur y @bebeth, comunidades que trabajan duro por llevar adelante la plataforma.

Visita @provenezuela y conoce más de su proyecto #ProConocimiento.

Haz click aquí para ingresar al servidor de #SteemitSchool en Discord, donde encontrarás la oportunidad de formarte como usuario exitoso en Steemit y de conocer gente maravillosa e interactuar en inglés, español y otras lenguas.

Sort:  

Beautiful story; poses the most fundamental philosophical and ontological questions. As the story suggests, the answer cannot be articulated in words.

What does your soul look like, @hlezama? XD

Thanks for liking my story ☻

I don't know. I have never thought about it in those terms. If soul is my inner voice, I think it has not changed since I can remember. It is a playfully distracted kid who sings along with a loaned voice, contemplates beauty all around, including that of people, and gets along with everybody because he feels his consciousness is shared by every other human being.

That sounds nice :D

I love the fact that your story started this interesting conversation!

I do, too☻♥

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great read... Leaves one pondering and pondering... A sign of a great read for me..

Thanks, @ablaze ☻ If your soul was a version of yourself, would you tell me what your soul is like? What does it look like?

Hello @marlyncabrera, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for the support, @creativecrypto ☻♥

Intriguing story, @marlyncabrera. I love your explanation!

I almost missed your story, but I discovered it by doing a search on the #fiftywords tag. Be sure to add your link to the prompt post.

Hi, @jayna ☻ Well, this is the second time I forget to add the link. I'll be more careful. Thanks a lot for having me regardless of my forgetfulness. Funny thing the prompt for this week is memory.

My comments are always honest (and often concise, too). So I’m really happy you like it ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67341.94
ETH 3779.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69