The Pumpkin 50-Word Short Story Challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago

My second entry into the #fiftywords challenge by @jayna.
This week the prompt is 'pumpkin'.

You can learn more about the challenge here:
https://steemit.com/challenge/@jayna/fifty-wordstorychallengefunwritingopportunity-8mugjgabaz

Since I spent a lot of time on the pumpkin topic this week, writing a short story for @blockurator's #farmpunk challenge, I would be grateful if you took the time and read my story where you can find more details about both my setting and the initiative:

https://steemit.com/writing/@manoldonchev/the-pumpkin-raiders-and-the-scarecrows-my-entry-for-the-pumpkin-harvest-farmpunk-fiction-contest

Well, I liked the world that came out and I would like to build on it, so my 50-word story will again take us there, I hope... We shall see...

Scarecrow_S3_ph001_BW_Filter.jpg

‘Escape overseas - not allowed’, croaked the scarecrow in a voice reminiscent of metal tearing metal.

‘Please!’, begged Jacob desperately. ‘Spare my family!’

‘Thou shalt not steal…’, the cyber guard began a quote and then added, nothing in its artificial eyes, ‘...pumpkins.’

Claws flashed and slashed. More blood on corporate hands.

.....

Well, now I feel blood is also on my hands. It wasn't exactly my intention when I started my Scarecrow Project. Those pieces of it will show you how I came with the idea of this story's image:

https://steemit.com/scarecrowproject/@manoldonchev/the-scarecrow-project-part-three
https://steemit.com/scarecrowproject/@manoldonchev/the-scarecrow-project-part-two

I expect to make more Halloween related posts very soon.

Stay tuned! And stay inspired!

Yours,

Manol

P.S.

All images I use are my own original work, unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

Great job. Law enforcement feels robotic at times (they just follow orders, procedures), no attention to attenuating circumstances.

Thank you, I agree. That is the base of many distopian scenarios. And this is exactly what the farmpunk in my other article is based on.

I am going to get to your related story, @manoldonchev (I hope), when I'm not juggling monkeys. That's neat that you are writing related pieces. Of course, your 50-word must stand on its own merit! :-)

Nice work. I like the scene you've created.

Thank you! I quite enjoy the 50-word format.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81