A Memory - 50 Word Short Story Challenge

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

A Memory


pablo.png

I am seven years old, sitting in a tractor. The red paint flakes off in my fingers. My bum vibrates from the rattling engine. The noise is deafening. I don’t like loud noises, never have. But in here i’m safe. My grandad hums and sings as he tends his field.

divider-2154993_640-small.png

This is my entry to @jayna’s 50 Word Short Story Challenge.

I couldn't find an image from my childhood, but I have very vivid memories of sitting in a tractor and being thrown about as it bounced across the field. I dedicate this story to my grandad, a man of few words, who I knew very little about as a child.

Find out about the contest here.

Image from Pixabay

Divider.

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I really enjoyed this story, @gaby-crb. I hope it’s okay if I make a small editorial suggestion. Since the story is in present tense, it would be best to make the first line present tense too. And you could make it a complete sentence if you take a few words from elsewhere in the story. (For example, “The noise is deafening” is two fewer words than “The noise it makes is deafening.”) With two more words you could write a stronger opening such as “I am seven years old, sitting in grandpa’s tractor.”

Thank you for participating in #fiftywords!

Of course it is okay for you to make suggestions. I find it so difficult to make self-edits.
Thank you for the advice. I think I did confuse myself a little with the tense. It's easily done.
I will try to spend more time editing in the future. :)

Lovely story. I agree with @jayna's editorial suggestion. I felt sitting in that time-traveling truck anyways (past and present colliding in one memory).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98