A PENNY FOR YOUR THOUGHTS - 50 WORD SHORT STORY CHALLENGE

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/emergehealthier-a-penny-for-your-thoughts--50-word-short-story-challenge2qhv6nfx-1535654796701.png

This is my first time doing the 50 word short story challenge. Thank you, at @Vdux for making me aware of @jayna's 50 word short story challenge

A PENNY FOR YOUR THOUGHTS

Can I have some money, Mom.

Sure, DJ.

Well, I'm waiting.

Oh, you wanted me to give it to you?

Yes.

Okay, here.

You only gave me a penny.

A penny is money. When you can articulate your thoughts better, maybe you'll get more.

Can I have a twenty?

NO!

Image is my own taken with my phone and edited in photoshop.

My son DJ was the inspiration for the story. He has a job and earns good money, but like most young adults he never carries cash. It drives me nuts!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Great story. I will forever remember this especially for when my grandson gets to be a teenager.

Note: I can't seem to access the image. I wonder why. Maybe you can recheck the link?

I'm a talkative and wordy guy. This contest will drive me crazy! Pass : )

It's okay now. I accessed the image. Must be a glitch in my phone or something.

Maybe your phone didn't think it was worth the effort to view a picture of a penny!

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely not. We (that's the phone and me) didn't know it was a picture of a penny. I thinks it is more like he (that's the phone) was still sleepy when I viewed the post early morning lol.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It will be fun to record his reaction to getting a penny.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll definitely write about it 12 years from now. Hopefully still here in Steemit.

I look forward to reading then.

Posted using Partiko Android

When that day comes, you will be the first person I will think of ha ha.

Thanks. You got the haikubot. Congrats.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excuse my asking but what does it mean if you get the haikubot? I'm not familiar with it though I know you're active with haiku contests.

A haiku is a three line poem, with 5 syllables in the first line, 7 in the second, and 5 in the third line. Your a poet and didn't know it!

Posted using Partiko Android

When that day comes, you
Will be the first person I
Will think of ha ha.

                 - gems.and.cookies


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Jeje. That mom is teaching her son well.

Lol, propable not that well, my son has yet to learn the lesson.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a very clever story, @emergehealthier. I really enjoyed it! It reminded me of my own teenage son. :-)

Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm always teling my son to go to the ATM. He says I don't need to,your my personal ATM. Them he tells me Mom, stands fo made of money!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97